1990 Pontiac Sunbird Reviews - Page 8 of 9

1990 Pontiac Sunbird GT 2.0 OHC turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 OHC turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired174000 kilometres
Most recent distance190010 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Summary:

Hot little sleeper!

Faults:

One can expect a car with this many Km's on it to have some problems, but so far the only major thing is my transmission.

Either it is my synchro-gear, or the aluminum teeth on the gears.

I've replaced the alternator, and front rotors.

General Comments:

This has been a great little car.

One of the best points, is it has great looks, it's hard to believe the car is 11 years old.

Performance is pretty good, I have to do a few minor adjustments to my turbo.

Inside the car is will put-together, and comfortable.

The fold down rear seats are perfect for my subs.

A lot of people have offered me good money for my car, but I will not sell it.

When all is said and done, when you nail on the gas, and gear down, you get going mighty quick!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2001

23rd Jan 2002, 21:58

Hey, I have a 90 Sunbird GT Turbo and man I have the same problem with the transmission, my synchros are gone on third gear, and that's probably the same problem in your car. But I must quote that the car really does move in 2nd gear. Hehehe.

23rd Jun 2003, 21:17

I'm a 20 year old female and just got a 1990 Pontiac Sunbird GT Turbo, automatic and it needs a lot of work done to it. I need a little help with this one; I know a little bit about cars, but I could use some help. If anyone one has any information it would be greatly helpful. I can be reach by E-mail at

Smidget_82@Hotmail.com. Although I did fall in love with this car even though right now it needs a lot of work, it will be all worth it in the end. I don't think I would ever sell my car either they are a great car. I don't know about the speed, but I'm not a speed person with good reason.

Thanks Very Much

Tiffany.

1990 Pontiac Sunbird SE 2.0 liter gasoline, non-turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 liter gasoline, non-turbo Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired127000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles

Summary:

Good car!!!

Faults:

The starter finally went out, very frustrating. The engine leaks a little bit of oil, nothing bad though. No internal engine damage, yet. Second gear slips for some reason.

General Comments:

I think this is a very good car for me, it's a pretty quick car to be a 4 banger but the throttle body bogs down a little bit when I put it to the floor. Handling is great but could be better. The car is comfortable. It had a good stereo, but now it has a better one. Sony made that happen! The handling could be better if I put smaller tires on it, the ones on it now are a little big, they scrub.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2001

1990 Pontiac Sunbird GT 2.0 litre OHC turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 litre OHC turbo Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired146000 kilometres
Most recent distance161000 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Pony

Summary:

Overall, I'm very pleased with it

Faults:

The air conditioning didn't work when I bought the car. It was repaired in April 2001. The compressor was replaced and the system was converted to R134a.

The starter was replaced a few weeks later - a very labour intensive job.

The water pump pulley came off at 158000km. This was also very labour intensive because of difficult access.

The timing belt was replaced at the same time - a related item.

General Comments:

There is some minor oil leakage, but this is apparently typical for this engine, and it is not causing any problems.

The car handles great, and the seats are comfortable.

The radio is excellent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th July, 2001

1990 Pontiac Sunbird SE 2.0 FI gas from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 FI gas Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

The prettiest pile of junk I've ever seen

Faults:

The head gasket blew at 60,000 miles and a new motor was over 2,000 dollars. So I had a new gasket replaced at the Pontiac dealership. I felt it was General Motors fault for not recalling a lot of improper gaskets that were installed in their Brazil-Canada built 2.0 liter over head cam motors built around 1990.

The cam shaft, timing belt had to be replaced along with a few rocker arms at about 70,000 miles.

The connecting rod and piston in the number two cylinder had to be replaced at about 80,000 miles. At this time the oil pump and water pump was replaced.

Among many normal wear and tear replacements, the front brake calipers, hoses and rotors were replaced because of premature wearing. Also I have noticed a lot of little things had mainly just came loose over time and fallen off the vehicle.

General Comments:

I have worked on cars for almost 20 years and I have never seen anything, under the best care I could give, just self destruct before my eyes. The only good thing about this car was it had a great paint job and a clear coat that stills shines brightly today in the junk yard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th June, 2001

12th May 2002, 01:59

I agree that these cars are a mechanic's dream - they certainly keep them employed! Example: I had a 1985 Sunbird 4 door with the OHV 2-litre w/automatic; as of 164000 KM, it was on it's FOURTH timing chain, and yes it was maintained. As Neil Young would say: It's a PIECE OF CRAP!

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 28 reviews