1994 Pontiac Sunbird LE 4.0 from North America




My car ran fine when I first bought it.

The dealer whom I personally knew, washed it several times for me and waxed it also.

I had the car one month and the starter went bad.

The dealer replaced it immediately and gave me a loner to drive for two days.

Two months later the starter went bad again. I think it is because the dealer used a re-manufactured part that was no good to begin with.

The car ran perfect until December 2001.

The motor blew on the highway and motor oil and metal parts started flying out from under my car!

My baby has been parked in my yard every since. I am currently looking for a new motor.

The air condition and heat works better in this car than any other car I have ever been in.

General Comments:

I love my car and will continue to drive it as soon as I find another motor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th September, 2002

15th Jan 2005, 06:23

I Purchased a used 1994 Sunbird a few months ago. I am impressed with the car. It is a 5 speed 6 cylinder 3.1L. I paid $500, and got a great deal. It needs TLC, and a little routine maintence work, but run awesome.

I recently had trouble starting it, but that was due to wet weather. A little dry gas and started fluid, and it started right up again good as new.

1994 Pontiac Sunbird LE from North America


Superb handling for price range


I have replaced the spark & ignition wires.

This car still looks, rides, and handles like new.

The exterior design, dash,etc are nearly flawless.

General Comments:

I bought this for use as a local second car to my 1999 Concorde. I enjoy driving this car immensely & use it much more than I had planned to. I also have 1941 Pontiac Streamliner with 35,000 original miles & in the future will always purchase a Pontiac.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th August, 2002

1994 Pontiac Sunbird LE from North America


An A+ car


I had to replace the alternator at 172,000 miles.

The catalytic converter makes a "clunk" noise sometimes, but I had it checked out and there is nothing wrong with it.

General Comments:

I love my car! I get the best gas mileage and these cars still look cute when competing with today's trendy models of cars. My interior is still gorgeous and I just love the dash design and the cool looking parking brake. I would recommend this car to absolutely anyone in the market for a good, reliable car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2002

23rd Mar 2005, 23:51

I agree.

I bought it for $300.00 CDN, replaced the head-gasket and my baby purrrs...

1994 Pontiac Sunbird SLE 2.0 4 cylinder from North America


Should have been painted yellow because they are all lemons.


My head blew at 93,000 miles and again at 142,000 miles.

I have replaced the starter 3 times.

I also had to change the alternator twice.

I had to put in a new wheel barren.

My fuel injection unit leaked.

All the wires in the wire harness had to be changed.

Around the windshield rotted out which caused leakage and water damage to the interior of my car (rugs and floor boards) all had to be replaced.

Radiator cap leaked, replaced it and still doesn't screw on right.

Changed the thermostat numerous times.

The heater core cracked and again I had water leak into my car.

The goose neck on the radiator cracked.

Had to put in a new heating sending unit two times.

Had to replace the vacuum hoses 3 weeks after I bought the car.

I had it painted, the clear coat had chipped and dulled.

General Comments:

After everything that has been replaced and how pampered the car was, it is now in the garage with a blown motor.

The only good things I can say about this car is:

It was pretty quick and had the best handling.

Also it was excellent on gas mileage, if I could get it out of my yard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th August, 2002

18th Aug 2002, 00:37

I drive a 1988 Olds Cutlass Sierra and haven't had to do that much to keep it running, though I am searching for a new car. Several of my friends have Pontiac's and love them as reliable cars. Sorry you had so much trouble with yours, sometimes lemons just happen. Hope you have better luck next time.