1994 Pontiac Sunbird Reviews

1994 Pontiac Sunbird LE 2.0L 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.0L 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired250000 kilometres
Most recent distance252500 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Elantra

Summary:

Crap

Faults:

Clutch went at 250000kms.

Head gasket blew at 251000kms.

Bent pushrod at 252500kms.

Power locks work a quarter of the time.

Seemed like spark plugs oil fouled every time you turned the key.

General Comments:

The car was fairly comfy for my size and height (5'7" 180lbs).

The car was quick for its Kms and shape.

Would have been a good car if it would actually work. I would expect repairs from a vehicle this old with this high of mileage, but not this many in this short of time, I would not recommend buying one of these for a used car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th October, 2010

1994 Pontiac Sunbird LE 3.1L V6 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.1L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance90500 miles

Summary:

Amazing, best first car ever!

Faults:

The only thing I can say that my amazing 1994 Sunbird has had a problem with is the sway bars. Those things keep breaking and I don't know why. I don't think my driving is crazy enough for them to break... Other than the sway bars I would re-buy this car over and over, it's freaking amazing!!! It can get up and go for sure, I love it!

General Comments:

This car can go VROOM! It gets up and goes when I need it to, and the handling on it is second to none. I love it and never wanna give it up.. though I know I will eventually move up to a nicer BMW!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 2009

4th Dec 2009, 14:03

Yes those 15 year old Sunbird's sure are amazing. :)

Seriously though, I want to thank you for not using that overused word "awesome" and ask you how many sway bars did you break in 2500 miles of driving?

30th Jun 2012, 14:00

I absolutely agree, not my first car, however this is the best little sports car I own, and it rips half the cars on the road.

About to give her a nice high mileage oil change and clean out the fuel injector.. Any ideas on how to make her a better performer?

1994 Pontiac Sunbird 2.0L from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0L Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 miles
Most recent distance230000 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Summary:

Reliable, good, cheap (to own, and fix) car

Faults:

Within the first year I had my clutch, clutch master cylinder, and heater core go.

I did the clutch myself for less than $150, and the other stuff ran about five hundred. Not too bad... til the clutch went again. Probably due to some shoddy work done by myself (first time ever working on transmission myself).

I don't like the way the panels seem to want to just fall apart like a puzzle, like the plastic panels below the steering wheel.

The unlock buttons just failed me, as did the rear window defrosters.

The suspension in front and back is also shot. But the car has 230,000 miles on it, and I don't see it stopping anytime soon with the way I drive and take care of it.

General Comments:

Everyone seems to think that my Sunbird is the most comfortable car to sit in.

I drove this car to and from North Dakota and New York a few times without even once worrying if it would make it. The MPG is awesome.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th February, 2009

1994 Pontiac Sunbird from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance270000 kilometres
Previous carMazda B2000

Summary:

Bulletproof and reliable

Faults:

Almost nothing.

General Comments:

Bought this car new in 1994 and still driving it. While it's in pretty rough shape cosmetically, it's given us 15 years of reliable service with only sporadic problems, all of which fall under general maintenance. It's now very dated, was always too small and lots of other small issues. But we have since purchased a 2001 Pontiac Montana which is a LEMON and we love the Sunbird more every time we take the Montana (almost daily) in for repairs. Won't buy another Pontiac - see Montana comments - but love the Sunbird.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th September, 2008

1994 Pontiac Sunbird LE 3.1L V6 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.1L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance23192 miles

Summary:

1994 Sunbird LE 3.1L V6 22000 miles!! VERY GOOD CAR!!!

Faults:

I have had no problems whatsoever with this vehicle.

General Comments:

I would have to say that this is going to be a great first car. It handles very nicely and has pretty good pickup on it when you mash the gas.

Comfy seats. ICE COLD A/C.

And the best part is it had 22,000 actual miles on the purchase date a little over 2 months ago! A little old lady had it, and drove it to the beauty shop, the grocery store and church, and that's all!!

I paid 2500.00 for the car, and to me it was worth it for the amount of miles. But all I can say is I will keep this car for a long time, and I wouldn't trade it for anything.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd September, 2008

24th Sep 2008, 09:58

Be careful. Sometimes little old ladies do not understand the concept of an oil change. And with short trip mileage like that, the oil never has a chance to properly heat.

I would closely examine the engine for sludge (contributed to by short trip driving). If there is sludge, it will usually accumulate on the underside of the oil cap. After inspecting for sludge (and hopefully not finding any), I would change the oil and take the car for a good long drive and make the next oil change at an earlier interval - say 2000 miles or so - and then continue at normal intervals thereafter. Of course if the oil was changed on a regular basis, none of this is probably an issue. You are more than likely fine, but I would take these measures as a precaution.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 64 reviews