1997 Pontiac Sunfire SE 2.2 from North America


Reliable Car good for students


I have not had any abnormal problems with my Sunfire. I was shocked to read so many bad reviews of the Sunfire. Granted, this is not a speedy car, but it is definately reliable. I have had the car almost 3 years & the only work that has been done on it is general maintenance: oil changes/fuel or air filter/spark plugs.

General Comments:

The interior is very comfortable. However; being that I am 5 foot 3, the extra head room is of no use to me. I guess this would be my only "complaint."

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th March, 2004

1997 Pontiac Sunfire SE 4 Door 2.2 Liter from North America


Good car, Great bargain, Awesome mileage


Replaced air conditioning compressor @ 76,000 miles: Cost 650.00.

Replaced rotors on the car 3 times now. Cost 65.00 each time.

Currently the struts need to be replaced @ 82350 miles. Cost will be around $800.00.

General Comments:

Overall this car has been pretty good.

Most of the costs incurred have been normal routine things. (except the compressor)

The car handles great in the snow, as long as you have good tires on it. The traction control helps a lot.

The car is not very comfortable on trips over 2 hours.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2004

1997 Pontiac Sunfire GT 2.4 from North America


It is a medium car


First thing the ABS worked really bad, so I took it to my mechanic and now I drive without ABS.

I don't have a real power steering, I guess there is a leak somewhere.

AC commpressor needs work and AC not working, have a leak.

The interior is not so great.

General Comments:

A very fast car for a 4 cylinder engine.

It speeds up pretty fast when you push the pedal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th January, 2004

1997 Pontiac Sunfire GT 2.3L from North America


My transmission went at 120,000. Not even a year later the transmission blows again. Last time it cost me $2000.00 parts and labor so this time again it's going to cost me.

General Comments:

Really a nice car, but this is ridiculous having to fix the transmission again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th January, 2004

24th Jun 2006, 22:40

If you have already put $2000.00 in the Sunfire for a new tranmission, and now you have to put another one in, you should get rid of it because who knows, the transmission could blow again on it and cost another $2000.00. You should find a new car. The Sunfire is just turning into a money pit.

1997 Pontiac Sunfire SE Convertible 2.7L from North America


If you want a convertible, spend more and get a Sebring!


On purchase, key-less remote control didn't work.

On purchase, driver-side speaker blown.

On purchase, power windows didn't work consistently.

On purchase, rear-window defroster didn't work.

On purchase, three recalls were unresolved.

Car interior was totally soaked after the first rain. Dealer completely replaced the weatherstripping, and during the next storm, the car was completely soaked again.

We are now in the process of trying to trade out of the car, but the dealer is attempting to lowball the trade-in value after only three months.

General Comments:

My wife was very excited when we first bought the car, as she'd always wanted a convertible. I was suspicious as the car already had 50000 miles on it, but it seemed to run fine.

The 2.7l engine has a lot of pop and the interior is very comfortable.

Problems began to appear immediately and are still unresolved, with the exception of those we paid for out of our own pockets (new remote control was $75)

Leaking is merciless - after a rain the entire carpet and drivers seat are soaked, even after a complete seal replacement.

I can understand why there are so few of these on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd November, 2003

29th Aug 2008, 19:17

I have owned a 1997 Pontiac SE convertible for 4 years and have driven over 100000 miles with it. It doesn't leak, it currently has 164,000 miles and still going strong. It is too bad you had such a hard time with your car, but mine started out as a rental car in California, and eventually came to Missouri. I have had to replace the timing chain, and water pump, have a small leak in the air conditioner that no one can seem to find so once a month I put about an 8 dollar can of freon in it. Otherwise, for an older car, it runs good with the 2.4 motor. Doesn't use oil. Had to have the top fixed a year ago, and found a wire was broken on the rear window defrost but that was easy to fix. I know I will have to replace the motor eventually, but feel that for the economy, and the way it drives, it is a much better value than the Sebring. Maybe if more folks drive Sebrings, my little car will become rare and appreciate more. All things considered, it is fun to drive with the top down, and gets about 30 mpg on the highway. Not too bad for an economy ride.

24th May 2011, 20:49

I have a 2001 Sebring convertible and a 1997 Sunfire convertible, and I cannot tell the difference between them with all the engine troubles. Neither car is worth the trouble. Do not get a dual overhead cam engine after 75,000 miles.