2003 Pontiac Sunfire Reviews - Page 4 of 5

2003 Pontiac Sunfire from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.0 / 10

Summary:

I would not buy another 2003 Pontiac Sunfire

Faults:

The motor is ticking at 38,000 km.

The fog lights stick on and will not turn off unless the fuse is taken out.

The interior light sticks on.

The radio does not turn off when the car door opens.

It has a poor quality paint job.

General Comments:

This car is uncomfortable.

However it does have a nice interior and a nice shape to the car.

I would not buy another Pontiac Sunfire because of the problems that I have had with this 2003. It seems that I am at the garage every second week with this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th January, 2006

29th May 2006, 08:31

Looks like you got a lemon, because I have not had any of the problems you describe with my sunfire.

22nd Sep 2006, 18:11

I own a 2003 Sunfire and I new had nothing, but trouble. I had it 2 days and the fuel pump went and now when I start it in the mornings its spudders for about 30 seconds. The radio gave out and the motor is ticking at 27000kms.JUNK.

2003 Pontiac Sunfire SL 2.2 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance81300 kilometres
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

Fully satisfied

Faults:

At 50000 Km, the check engine light came on and was fixed by dealer under warranty.

General Comments:

We bought this car new and drove 81000Km in 3 years. I recently traded it for a Malibu because my kids are all adult size now.

I cannot say I love it, but I am 100% satisfy with this car, when factor in the purchase price, maintenance cost (the owner manual even suggest no wheel alignment is needed) and fuel economy.

The engine had more than enough power with reasonable fuel economy. The air conditioning is cool good and the heatin in winter is also quick to pump out warm air.

The only maintenance I did was oil and filter change (by myself). After 81K, the engine still as smooth as new. May be the Japanese cars are a year or two better in quality. However, they cost a lot more and I believe the difference in price is more than the difference in quality.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd January, 2006

2003 Pontiac Sunfire from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired21 kilometres
Most recent distance22000 kilometres

Faults:

There is a horrible , unexplained odor in the car.

General Comments:

The car was fine for 10 months. I am now afraid to drive it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th November, 2004

9th Nov 2004, 11:09

Have you checked the trunk for bodies?

14th Nov 2004, 19:36

The odor remains.

The dealership has tried everything. and found no leaks, nor previous dead bodies. The car has been stripped twice. A new rear seat was installed, plus new underlay. (The smell was worse in the back part of the car.)

The interesting thing is that the service manager showed me a document from GMAC saying that there has been odors in the Sunfire,and two other GMAC cars, and instructions on what to do. Nothing said about "Why',or the source of the problem.

I have just gotten the car back after ten days of driving a rental. The dealership says the new seat etc. has solved the problem. Yeah, right!

The odor remains, and I do not want to drive it. Now what???

18th Nov 2004, 16:34

What about taking the back seat OUT of the car and leaving it out to see whether that is where the smell is coming from?

2003 Pontiac Sunfire 2 Door Coupe 2 L from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2 L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired161 miles
Most recent distance16000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Great first car

Faults:

Recall from manufacture on electrical plug seal.

Right rear tail light socket messing up. Light quits working and I have to pull the bulb out and put it back in to get it to work. I have cleaned it, but keeps messing up. I am taking it to the dealer.

General Comments:

This is a very good car for a young couple or teenager. Nice get up and go. You can get a lot of extras and with the manufacture rebates I got a lot of car for $14,000. Seating is average, not recommended using for going cross country. It will wear you out. I am 45 years old and it just don't have the comfort that a mid or fullsize car would have. But it is half the price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2004

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 21 reviews