2003 Pontiac Sunfire Reviews - Page 5 of 5

2003 Pontiac Sunfire SLX from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 kilometres
Most recent distance15000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Summary:

Great little car for daily driver

Faults:

NONE.

General Comments:

We like the car. Ours is a 4 door. roomy and comfortable.

This is our second sun fire we had a 1999 2 door before. we sold it with 185,000 KMS. The last one was pretty good too us. We are planning to drive to Florida in 2004.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2003

2003 Pontiac Sunfire from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance17941 miles

Summary:

This car is my life

Faults:

The only things that were wrong with the car were a loose bearing on one of the rear tires, loose exhaust pipe, and occasional flats. Don't worry, it's only because I put my car through a lot. I'm shocked it's still in its good shape.

General Comments:

The car has a fast take-off.

Comfortable reclining seats.

The car cuts off at 107.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd October, 2003

2003 Pontiac Sunfire 2.2L 16v from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2L 16v Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance12900 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Excellence in a small package

Faults:

I have had no problems with this car.

I have had one recall, but the dealer handled that for me.

General Comments:

This car gains speed quickly and handles great!

The interior room is perfect for two people or couples with small children.

Not comfortable for four adults.

I bought this car with the safety of a future family.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th September, 2003

14th Feb 2007, 17:30

We are a family of Three, so my wife and I take the front, and my three year old has the back seat. However I would not want to try and get two car seats in it. Also when my son gets in his seat, he gets his feet all over the back of the seat. Living in Canada, he gets snow all over the seat. I bought seat covers to solve that problem. Cheap fix from wal-mart. Great car other than that. Handles well in the snow.

2003 Pontiac Sunfire SE 2.2L 4 cylinder. from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2L 4 cylinder. Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired210 miles
Most recent distance1820 miles
Previous carFord Crown Victoria

Summary:

This car has a lot of bang for your buck

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

This car is amazingly quick for being an economy car! It handles great, and it's comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2003

2003 Pontiac Sunfire CP 2.2 lit 16v from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 lit 16v Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance7205 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Not worth it

Faults:

In my first six months of ownership, I have had the following problems.

Three burnt out turn signal bulbs.

Exterior molding falling off.

Keyless entry not working.

Clicky/Pingy Engine Noise.

Programmed radio stations switch where programmed by itself. (i.e. 102.1 is program "5" but switches to "6")

Sqeaky Brakes.

Grinding Brakes.

Car pulls right very badly.

General Comments:

This car is more of a hassle than my 1987 Ford Escort that had 118,000 miles on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th March, 2003

27th Jan 2006, 17:07

Sorry to tell you, but most of these problems are your fault, for one you probably drove over a curve or something similar and a) put the vehicle out of alignment or b) bent the frame! Were you in an accident? The radio issue was probably because you are too rough with the radio button and might`ve broken something wiring switch etc...! The key less entry might have a dead battery or it may need to be reprogrammed if it was dropped or left in the cold! Thanks for your time!

2nd Oct 2006, 18:08

First of all its the FIRST YEAR this model was made... its going to have problems and recalls are prone to ANY first model car.

Get an alignment done! it could be simple so simple to you running into a curb which was already mentioned or an accident.

27th Feb 2008, 20:43

Check the lower control arm bushing on the passengers side for the pulling, mine went and I didn't hit anything. as for the engine noise, oil change with some Lucas into it might cure it. signal bulbs, check wiring.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 21 reviews