1995 Renault Laguna RXE hatchback 2.0 from UK and Ireland


Engine temperature sensor failed leading to gunged-up injectors and plugs.

Boot lock failed to lock.

Rear demister failed twice, second time causing damage to fuse-box that needed replacing.

Drivers arm rest became loose.

Gone through several auxiliary belts and needed a new belt tensioner.

Clutch cable auto-adjuster failed and needed replacing.

Bonnet release cable stretched.

Several hard to reach dashboard light-bulbs failed.

General Comments:

Despite all the problems it's been a lovely car to drive. Not tremendously powerful, but incredibly comfortable and with plenty of toys to play with.

Quite fuel efficient too at about 32-35mpg.

Renault parts and dealer servicing are expensive though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd November, 2002

1995 Renault Laguna RT 1.8 from UK and Ireland


Fair to middling


Rusty coolant water.

Rear brake cylinder replaced.

Heater matrix replaced.

Back offside door leak.. swimming pool effect.

Usual 'Renault service tool' nonsense to deal with when working on the car. This can be a major pain in the ass.

General Comments:

Back off side door leak appears to be related to the inner membrane being ripped by some idiot or another. The rear seat covers are handy to wash in the washing machine if you care to spend a wee bit of time taking them off. Use small cable ties to replace the metal fastening rings if you do.

Quick off the mark seems eager enough.

Could do with a rear internal light.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th July, 2002

7th Jan 2003, 10:54

The rusty coolant water is due to a high zinc content in the radiator and heater matrix metal. This is why the proper Renault coolant is recommended.

I replaced my rusty water with this and it's been fine, though it cost £40. This stuff isn't cheap.

22nd Jan 2009, 06:35

Will the rusty water damage the engine?

1995 Renault Laguna RT 1.8 from UK and Ireland


An excellent motorway machine


Starter motor failed, but only cost £20 from scrap dealer and 30 minutes novice DIY time to fix.

New battery needed, but not too expensive.

General Comments:

The Laguna is the best car I have owned. It is far less expensive to run than expected (200 mile motorway week costs £20). Very comfortable and easy to drive. Excellent extras. Good road holding and nifty engine when needed, but not when abused.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2002

1995 Renault Laguna RT 1.8 from UK and Ireland


A comfortable family car with a bit of street cred


The PAS fluid pipes corroded at 55000 miles. I was told by a Renault dealer that the placing of the pipes meant that they were very susceptible to road salt damage in the winter.

The replacement of these pipes was a major job involving the removal of the steering column, so I did as advised and replaced all pipes at the same time, although not all required doing at that point.

There is a leak somewhere, water gathers under the rear seat. I suspect the rear windscreen seal is the fault, but it is proving difficult to solve.

The bonnet catches snapped last year.

The immobiliser was causing problems in heavy rain, and I found that rain was getting into the roof circuitry via the base of the roof aerial. It was OK once I applied a waterproof gel seal, which I have to re-apply every few months.

General Comments:

The car is no longer new, so I'm not surprised at a few 'aches and pains' with it.

On the whole, it has been a great car, I like having lots of boot space.

Petrol consumption is good. I get around 40 mpg out of town driving.

I am not very tall, but the driver seat is versatile enough to get me into a comfortable position for long distance driving (not all cars suit people only 5 feet tall!)

The only thing that gets me frequently annoyed is the fact that as Renault is a French make, some of the integral parts are for left hand drive, and the windscreen air blower clears the passenger side faster than the driver's side. Zut alors!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2002

12th Jul 2002, 13:52

For the leak problem, check the inner door membrane this could be the answer to your problem. If it;s torn at the bottom or poorly fitting it lets water into the car instead of forcing it to go out the bottom drain hole. Good luck.

9th Dec 2003, 04:45

My laguna is really like a proper laguna, as the meaning of the word - full of water, all the carpets are soddened and I am having real difficulty locating the problem, although I'm pretty sure its coming from the roof somewhere and finding its way through the inside of the door membrane into the carpets.

25th Oct 2010, 07:32

My Laguna is as dry as the desert - With a few mods, it can be used as a submarine really.