1995 Renault Laguna Reviews - Page 9 of 10

1995 Renault Laguna RT 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra SRi 1.8

Summary:

An affordable well refined hatch with brilliant handling as well as specification

Faults:

Since I've owned this superb car, I have replaced the middle/rear sections of the exhaust and had the front brake discs and pads replaced. Otherwise the car has been a joy to own and run.

General Comments:

As I bought the car from a trade garage and not a main dealer, there was always the thought 'hope I've not bought a lemon'. But this car has certainly put any doubts I had right out of my mind. The Laguna is probably the most comfortable car I have ever driven and the build quality has impressed me no end. Everything is so quiet, there are no annoying rattles and standing at the traffic lights the engine is barely audible.

Had I have been able to afford the extra insurance premium, I would have opted for the 2.0RTi model as the 1.8 is slightly underpowered as it is only single point injection. But having said that, the superb handling, comfort and wonderful driving enviroment more than make up for lack of raw power and make for a truly outstanding car, which I would recommend to anyone in the market for a large family hatch.

I just hope after all this praise, the car starts first time in the morning.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th December, 2000

15th Jun 2005, 14:08

I truly agree with this comment - this is the most perfect car- I've ever had:)

1995 Renault Laguna RTi Sport 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Metro

Summary:

French masterpiece

Faults:

Service including brake disc's & drums which we knew.

Wiper blades.

General Comments:

Absolutely blinding car, a joy to drive, and a joy to own.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th December, 2000

1995 Renault Laguna RTI 2.0 16V from Greece

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 16V Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance55000 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 405

Summary:

Excellent all round, but you have to pay a lot if have a small accident

Faults:

Paint scratches are easily acquired.

General Comments:

Very spacious, comfortable, chic but has expensive parts, servicing and high depreciation. I believe Renault should look better the marketing part of the game.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th September, 2000

1995 Renault Laguna RT 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier SRi

Summary:

A good family car let down by a lack-lustre engine and high servicing costs

Faults:

Fuel filter assembly corroded at 36,000 miles.

Rear brake wheel cylinder failed at 36,000 miles.

Heater matrix failed at 66,000 miles filling the car with antifreeze.

Rear wheel bearing failed at 67,000 miles.

Uneven rear tyre wear.

General Comments:

2.0 litre engine (8 valve) is sluggish.

Gear shift quality poor.

Ventilation poor but heating good.

Cost of servicing and spares very high.

Fragile paint finish damages easily.

Seats are very comfortable.

Large boot area.

Excellent brakes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th August, 2000

1995 Renault Laguna V6 Baccara 3.0 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205

Summary:

Relaxed, refined mile-muncher

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Extremely refined and well equipped car, offering great motorway comfort with above average handling in the country.

Only handicapped by old design engine which gave average performance for its size, and poor fuel economy if pushed.

Only slight gripe was slightly noisy suspension over poor surfaces at low speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th June, 2000

1995 Renault Laguna V6 3.0 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired64 kilometres
Most recent distance49000 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 306 XR

Faults:

At 25000km, worn lobes on the camshaft meant a replacement under warranty.

At 34000km the auto trans failed - another warranty repair.

At 46000 km a relay in the engine cooling fan gave up.

At 48900km the fan unit in the aircon has given up - a cost of $NZ5000 to repair.

The agents are no longer interested. Court action is proceeding

General Comments:

A gorgeous car to drive, but utterly unreliable. So far repairs have cost in the vicinity of $NZ12000.

The manufacturers should be ashamed of themselves for producing such rubbish.

No way would I recommend a Renault to anyone.

The French invented the word honour. A shame they do not follow their own precepts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th February, 2000

23rd Dec 2000, 08:32

Renault have and do make really good and very reliable cars!!! I've had a few and nothing has ever gone wrong for me, about the worst thing was my alternator went and that was my fault!!!!!

Martyn84@aol.com

30th Jul 2001, 14:43

I've had a Laguna RTI V6 for about 2 years now and it has been totally reliable. The performance is incredible and in the traffic light grand prix it is unbeatable. No other V6 saloon can touch it for acceleration and it eats Golf GTi's for breakfast. It's a pity that the latest Laguna is only available as an automatic in V6 guise in the UK otherwise I would have another one.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 40 reviews