2001 Renault Laguna Dynamique from UK and Ireland - Comments

25th Feb 2008, 13:19

Great - a chance to moan. I found this site whilst Googling my car's latest problems.

I bought a 2001 Laguna 1.8 3 and a half years ago. It had done 17k miles and was three years old.

My first warning sign was the odometer resetting itself on the way home.

First was an air bag warning light - faulty wiring in the steering loom: approx £150.

Next I scraped the bottom of the car on a rock. Unbeknownst to me this moved the undertray, breaking the power steering pipe, causing the steering to fail completely (not just get heavy) a few miles further down a mountain road. Very lucky not to have a serious accident. Approx £400 inc. tow.

Two consecutive years I needed front and rear suspension replacement to get the car through its MOT. Average MOT bill for three years was £275.

Handbrake caliper has seized twice - £150 per go to fix.

Brake caliper failed destroying the disks. Note that a brake disk is normally approx £20. Laguna are approx £70 as they include the wheel bearing and ABS ring. Why? To save time on the production line.

Currently have a problem with the throttle not doing anything and the engine revving at 3000rpm. It will be fixed tomorrow, and no doubt will bankrupt me again.

Average repair (and I mean repair - not maintenance) has been nearly £800 per year. This car is a total and complete unmitigated daisaster. Please do not even think of buying one. I keep thinking "well that must be it now - I've replaced everything" but quelle surprise. Looking for a Mondeo now.

Tyre pressure warning lights come on at least once every trip. Windows work only in cold weather. Car sometimes won't start for no apparent reason, but usually will eventually. Door closing sensors don't work so no warning when lights are left on. Key card can be removed from slot with engine running (if you time it right) so the car will run with no key!

Its only saving graces are that it is reasonably economical, big, comfortable and the engine is powerful and smooth. But don't let that fool you.

It gets 5 stars for safety, but I wouldn't trust the airbags to go off in the same week as me having an accident.

25th Mar 2008, 15:00

I bought an 2.0 IDE intiale on a '02 reg 4 months ago, and I have to say it is a fantastic car. Apart from a misfire on idle, it's fine when the revs are raised above 1500rpm, but at idle the car seems to rock. Do you have any ideas?

14th May 2008, 16:01

I have a Renault Expression 1.6 Petrol on a 51 Plate same rough idle problem. Renault Main Dealer reprogrammed the ECU with the latest software, cleaned the throttle body and replaced plugs + original Denso coils with the new Brown Top Valeo ones. All fine now apart from a £450 bill.

Clutch is a bit juddery after just 38K miles though - anyone any ideas on that one, which does not involve buying a new clutch?!!!

7th Jun 2008, 05:57

Just bought an 01 18 Dynamic estate.

Only the drivers door opens on the key card, the boot will only open when the key card is in the ignition.

Anybody got any ideas as to why? Or how this can be rectified.

Cheers John.

16th Aug 2008, 14:59

Renault key card - to open all doors you must 'double click' the button. It is a safety feature for dark nights so that you are only opening your door and not all of them when you are on your own.

Incidentally, Renault Laguna 2 IDE 2.0L engine keeps cutting out - engine management light, loss of power. but then seems to be OK after leaving for 45mins or so. Car will only do about 20 minutes of driving before it happens again!

Help...

27th Mar 2009, 05:31

Can anyone help? First my electric windows aren't working, and now the sunroof is stuck open...

29th Mar 2009, 05:52

I brought my Renault Laguna 2 1.8 Dynamique two weeks ago. Since then the air bag and service light keeps coming on. Also the tyre puncture lights keep coming on, the rear fog lights won't work, and all the garage where I brought it from says is I will phone you when the parts come in. Still waiting and running out of patience.

30th May 2009, 15:04

Hi guys.

I've just been to a car dealer to buy a Renault Laguna 52 reg 1.8 Auto. The car looks nice and engine sounds great while test driving. However, just into 5mins of the test drive, the engine management light came on saying 'STOP' in red. When I informed the dealer, he said he is confident that it is due to the battery being flat for a while and he would get it cleared. I suggested all other things which could cause it; however he dismissed them. Please can someone advice me if this could really be a fault from the long term flat battery?

Ade.

22nd Jun 2009, 14:38

I have the same problem as the rest of you. My Laguna cuts out when braking (intermittent) and the electrical light pops up when it wants, and the car will rev at 2000 revs. To stop this I was having to turn the car off, remove the key, double lock the car, and then only clicking the key once to open the drivers door, then reinserting the key. Most of the time this would work. I have now found out that the only way to repair it is to have the ECU reprogrammed to the specific car, not an upgrade.

2nd Jul 2009, 09:40

I have recently bought a 2002 Renault Laguna 1.8 Privilege automatic estate, it's a lovely car to drive, it's comfortable, very smooth and quiet and reasonably economical.

However, and being a French car there is always going to be a 'but', it does have one very frustrating problem. When the engine is cold everything is fine, when starting at operating temperature it goes straight in to limp home mode, rev's at around 2250rpm with no throttle response. Leave it to cool a little, say 15-20 minutes and off we go again no problem. At operating temperature and whilst experiencing the problem, disconnecting the temperature sender fixes the problem. It's been back to the non-franchised dealer (I bought it from) and they are baffled, the car is now in the hands of an auto-electronics specialist who has also yet to pinpoint the problem.

On the recommendation of the local Renault dealer (after a session on their diagnostic machine) they have fitted a new throttle body and temp sender, but the problem persists, now the fault has become intermittent which makes it harder to find! Any ideas on how to fix it other than a gallon (oops, I mean 4.55 litres of course) of unleaded and a Swan Vestas?

3rd Jul 2009, 02:25

Return the car to the dealer you bought it from and demand your money back. The car is not fit for purpose.

3rd Jul 2009, 07:33

I have a Laguna Dynamic Estate 51 plate, no problems for the first 2 years, but this year has been a nightmare. The engine kept going into the 'limp home' mode, windows would only work intermittently, after extensive investigation the main Renault dealer said it required new throttle sensors and replacement window regulators (you can only buy the complete unit with the motors), so I contacted a local garage who suggested (after 5 minutes of checking the electrics) a new battery (cost £40, not the £600 Renault wanted!!). After replacing the battery and clearing all the problems on the ECU, I have had no problems whatsoever (apart from the cables snapping on the window regulator).

Anyone who has problems with anything electrical, I would advise to check the battery; any faulty cells cause intermittent signals to the sensors which then flag up problems. The Renault dealers don't seem to check the source of any electrical fault which would start with the battery. After confronting the dealer, they suggested I needed to update the ECU as this would then have found the cause of the fault (likely story)