2005 Renault Megane Reviews - Page 7 of 7

2005 Renault Megane Dynamique Sport Tourer 1.5 turbo diesel (106PS) from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.5 turbo diesel (106PS) Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance9100 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Far nicer to live with than a mk1 Focus

Faults:

Small scratch on tailgate on delivery (polished out)

General Comments:

Fabulous car overall.

Comfortable, good looking in Sport Tourer guise, refined on the motorway, generous standard kit, solid build quality and astonishingly economical.

The little 1.5 dCi engine is all, but inaudible inside the car under 3,000 RPM, and punches well above its size (offering similar power and torque to VW's current 1.9 litre TDI unit), and gives very lively performance. Although you hear the turbo whistle up under the merest brush of the throttle, response is a little laggy under 2,000 RPM, but the 6 speed gearbox has quite close ratios (for a diesel) which means it's easy to keep it on boost. As a bonus, an 85 mph cruise sees just over 2,600 RPM on the rev counter.

Economy is astonishing. Unless you mercilessly thrash it, it never returns less than 50 mpg with 57-59 more likely on a run. In contrast to my old TDdi Focus which was more like 40 average and 47 on a run, yet was slower and far noisier.

My complaints about the Megane really are limited to two things. One is the handling. Although it's not bad, the power steering lacks feel and the understeer sets in far earlier and more doggedly than it ever did in the Focus.

That said, Renault clearly did their homework because the Megane is a far nicer companion on a long journey. Where the Focus was brilliant in the lanes, it was coarse, noisy, and tiring off them, and had truly appalling seats. Loping along the motorway or a fast A-road in the Megane, the relative lack of dynamics doesn't matter. Instead its superior refinement, more supple ride, vastly better performance and lower noise levels count for far more. Shame about the odd pedal position which can cause cramp in my right ankle on a long motorway run (complaint number 2)

Reliability faultless so far, although the myriad of electronics on the car does allow for plenty to go wrong. The keyless ignition seems gimmicky and the start button clearly has no physical link with the starter. On pressing the button, the car "boots" itself up, cranks the starter and sorts itself out. Clever, but ultimately rather pointless, and if it still works perfectly in 5 years time I will be amazed.

Overall though, the Megane continues to be a superb all rounder. The design has real flair (particularly next to the dull Ford Focus 2 and Golf 5), and I chose the Sport Tourer purely because I think it's far more handsome than the hatch. As a day to day runaround and motorway cruiser, it is as quiet, smooth and refined as any comparable car to come out of Germany. It's safe, cheap to buy, incredibly frugal and, touch wood, very reliable. Perfect family car material in other words. I'm well pleased so far.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th November, 2005

9th Dec 2005, 15:27

I'm unconvinced. Have the same model as you which is now 6 months and 9,000 miles old. Although gorgeous when new, it developed its first dash squeak at 1,000 miles, an engine vibration at 2,000 miles and a gearbox whine at 4,000 miles. At 4,500 miles the clutch switch (for the starter button) failed, and the replacement failed again six weeks after that. The bonnet alignment is appalling (it looks like the car has been crashed and badly repaired), the paint on the fuel cap has faded to a totally different colour to the surrounding bodywork, the plastics around the heating controls are working loose, the passenger electric mirror no longer works properly, and the tyre pressure monitors go berzerk for no reason periodically. Strangely, the one part of the car I thought would go wrong (the "Renault Card") has behaved faultlessly.

Lovely car, but I reckon it will be ready for the scrap yard by the time it's done 50,000 miles. Cheaply built and already unreliable - it doesn't bode well.

12th Mar 2006, 05:57

Renault Megane Sports Tourer is a good car, but comes with a price like all new cars do. We have had 3 Renaults before this car including 2 Clio's and a megane hatchback, but this car has been the worst. We have had it just over a month and the car has been in the garage 5 times. Most of the problems have been sorted out by the dealer which included:

*stiff handbrake

*dodgey boot lock

*intermittent right indicator which sometimes flashes to quick

*a funny sound coming from the engine.

The last problem has still not been sorted out with numerous parts of the car replaced. This included:

*a new auxiliary belt

*a new tension rod

At the moment we battling with the dealer to have these problems sorted out and we are planning on rejecting the car.

31st May 2006, 07:00

You should look at Meganeownersclub.co.uk.

A number of these faults appear to be quite common...

1st Dec 2008, 12:05

I recently part-exed my 3 year old Citroen C3 1.4 HDI SX auto (at 55,000 miles) for a 2005 Renault Megane SportTourer Auto,1.5 Dci Expression, with 28,000 recorded miles.

(This particular model is very rare, it seems)

So far, it seems a well built car, with a lively diesel under the bonnet, with a spacious (compared to the C3),good quality interior, and comfortable seats.

It's almost as economical as the Citroen, but it's better on overtaking, with excellent acceleration.

So far I am well satisfied with the car, and the paintwork in particular seems excellent, a deep red.

If it is as reliable as my last 3 Citroens (a much maligned maker),I will be more than happy!

Comfort, economy, style, AND reliability, that would be a result!!

Can anyone tell me if this particular model is normally fitted with alloy wheels as standard?

2005 Renault Megane Sportway Alize 1.6 16v from Croatia

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired5 kilometres
Most recent distance800 kilometres
Previous carKia Sephia

Summary:

Very good car.

Faults:

Plastic which is covering the front speaker is all the time making some bad noise when listening to music.

General Comments:

This car is very comfortable and quick if you want it to be quick.

It spends 9ltr. per 100 km.

Exterior build quality is excellent.

Interior build quality is very good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th October, 2005

2005 Renault Megane Dinamique 1.9dci from Germany

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.9dci Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance12500 kilometres
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

The best in the class

Faults:

Audio system failed. I replaced it with a Panasonic DVD SYSTEM.

Central door lock.

Battery problems. It was replaced with a new one.

General Comments:

It is a very good car at a very good price. The design is quite strange however it is a beauty. The battery was too dry and the car could not start any time. I love the car and I think I will buy another one When the next generation will appear on market.Solid, reliable, economical, Low costs. Buy one you'll have no regrets.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2005

13th Oct 2005, 23:09

Renault magane 2005 - is it a good car?

21st Sep 2007, 06:33

Sure it is a good car, but for fun look else where.

2005 Renault Megane pack 1.5 dci 100ps from Germany

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.5 dci 100ps Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance15000 kilometres
Previous carford escort

Summary:

The Best Car In the Class

Faults:

Audio system failed just the next day. However I mounted a HARMAN KARDON wich is better.

Central door lock. due to card malfunction.

General Comments:

This car is very good for this money. Better than a golf5 or ford focus.Reliable, economical, cheap, are the arguments that made me buy it. It is true.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th August, 2005

2005 Renault Megane Sport Tourer 1.9 dCI from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.9 dCI Manual
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous carRenault Laguna

Summary:

Great model, but hopeless sunroof

Faults:

Excessive and distressing noise from sun roof at speeds in excess of 40 mph.

General Comments:

Otherwise am very happy with performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd June, 2005

2005 Renault Megane Renault Sport 2.0 turbo from Turkey

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance1000 kilometres
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

Good work from Renault Sport

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

The vehicle is very comfortable.

Above 4000 rpm nice engine sound.

The turbo whistle is very motivating The turbo howling noise inside the cabin is not so good.

The sixth gear is very economic.

The engine torque is usable in every gear.

Sometimes buzzing & rattling noises are coming from the cabin when riding on uneven surfaces.

Handling and steering is very good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2005

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 23 reviews