2005 Renault Megane Reviews

2005 Renault Megane Dynamique LX 2.0 Litre from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.0 Litre Semi-Automatic
Distance when acquired112 miles
Previous carPeugeot 405

Summary:

Woeful, and a waste of my hard earned money!

Faults:

Starter motor died two days after the three year warranty finished (89,000km).

Engine mounts required replacing at 70,000km.

Dash has severe rattles, especially around clock/CD/speedo dials.

Exhaust rattles.

Engine rattles.

Headlamps have had to be replaced on three occasions.

Parking lights have had to be replaced.

Airbag and seat belt lamps light up when driver's seat moved.

Brake discs (rotors) needed replacing at 80,000kms.

Brake pads required replacing at 45,000kms.

Engine regularly "hunts" for an idle.

Gearbox change from 1st gear to 2nd gear rough and thumpy.

Rubber covering on interior door handles/power window switching has come off.

Battery needed replacing after 60,000km.

General Comments:

Very disappointed. The Megane is reasonably comfortable but you never know when it is going to let you down.

The semi-automatic is questionably slow, both left in auto or as a manual.

Quite a heavy user in petrol - certainly couldn't call the Megane an economical car.

The rear hatch drips on you when it is or has been raining.

The plastics have worn around the seat belt cover on the turret and seats.

The passenger seat cover comes off when it isn't meant to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th February, 2010

12th May 2013, 04:33

I just drove a NZ new 2005 Megane 2.0 auto. We were looking to purchase it as it seemed good value and had great safety credentials. After the test drive I couldn't escape fast enough. This was hands down the nosiest, harshest post 2000 car I have ever experienced. I couldn't believe the racket it made. It was also sluggish and the interior materials were not wearing well. Some clever touches in the cabin and comfy seats, but seriously... how on earth did they manage to sell any of these new in NZ? Gross car.

2005 Renault Megane Sport Tourer Expression 1.5 DCI turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.5 DCI turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance39000 miles
Previous carCitroen C3

Summary:

One of the better Renaults

Faults:

A faulty auto gearbox sensor (repaired under warranty). Apparently it's a known problem, causing gearbox to jump, or stick in 3rd gear.

Failed drivers electric window regulator (repaired by Renault free of charge, as window motors have an extended 4 year warranty on them)

Another common problem, apparently.

Rear brake light bulb failed (twice).

Brake switch also had to be replaced, as it affected the engine ECU, causing the engine to slow OR speed up when the lights were switched on!

Rear brake discs corroded (according to recent Renault servicing report), but seem to work OK.

I was surprised to hear that they had corroded at all on 4 year old car.

No other major problems so far, but I've had 3 Citroens previously without ANY problems, 1 Xsara Picasso, and 2 C3s, and apart from servicing and tyres, very cheap to run.

General Comments:

The Renault, however, is roomy, economical, and quite nippy, and quite a nice looking car, and although I have had problems, I still quite like it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2009

2005 Renault Megane Dynamique 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Previous carRover - Austin 45

Summary:

A good all round performer let down by dodgy electrics

Faults:

New coil pack and associated parts.

New front suspension arm.

New driver's window motor.

New water pump.

New rear discs.

Push button door locking on driver's and rear passenger door has failed.

General Comments:

All these new parts and problems have occurred within the last 7 months, and I now await the failure of another part.

Problems aside, I do love the car. It is comfortable, responsive and gives reasonable fuel economy. Keyless entry/ignition is wonderful when it works. Would consider another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th August, 2009

2005 Renault Megane Sedan 1.4 16v from Finland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.4 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired69500 kilometres
Most recent distance100200 kilometres
Previous carSkoda Felicia

Summary:

A low budget luxury car

Faults:

Ignition coils replaced at 70000 km. This is typical for Meganes. Really frustrating when driving in a rush hour and your engine starts to jerk and the dashboard lights blink like a wild Christmas tree.

The hood got stuck at 80000 km. No big deal, car service added some grease.

All brake discs + pads replaced at 88000 km. This costs a lot of money...

Changed and pressured the AC fluids at a car service at 99000 km when the car was four and a half years old. Not sure whether this was necessary, since the fluid loss was only 15%.

Airbag + service light appear simultaneously every now and then for no reason whatsoever. Annoys me, but no big deal, since the last time was five months ago.

The CDs get stuck inside the player every now and then, although they will eject eventually, sometimes after months... How about that...

Some weird minor rasping noise behind the wheel when turning, but it doesn't seem to have an effect on anything, and it hasn't gone any worse since it first appeared six months ago, so I guess it's not a major problem.

Summer tyres (from 2005, I think) are soon worn out.

General Comments:

The performance, 98 hp, is excellent for two persons maximum, but not necessarily for a larger family.

Fuel consumption always between 6 and 7.4 litres for 100 km. Very economical.

Very comfy, sporty and spacious car. The backseat legroom is enormous, much bigger than for example in a Citroen C5.

The steering is sometimes a bit too light, but you'll get used to it in time.

Most of the problems I have had so far, appeared pretty soon after I purchased this car, but the last seven months have been just great.

If you buy a Megane II, make sure you get a decent warranty, at least a year, as I did.

You can open the electric windows only when the engine is running. Pretty insane design, huh...

Remember to replace new batteries to the car keys every now and then.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd July, 2009

19th Apr 2010, 07:52

>>You can open the electric windows only when the engine is running. Pretty insane design, huh...

It's me again... This must be a coding error, since the windows open normally in other people's Meganes'.

15th Jul 2010, 01:06

Once again, it's me, the Finnish dude. The last year, from 95 000 km till 125 000 km with my Megane have been just great, no faults whatsoever. Be patient with your Megane; after the typical faults have been repaired, the car works like a dream.

4th Apr 2012, 01:42

Me again, the Finn. It's been nearly two years, and 35 000 km since my last review of this car, which I still own. The car has been a dream, no problems whatsoever from 90 000 to 160 000 km. Just remember to follow the car's maintenance schedule; for example, it might be a good thing to replace the car battery (which I did) when the car reaches the age of 5-7 or so, and visit the air-conditioning service at least once etc...

Hope this is helpful to someone.

9th Apr 2012, 05:47

Very good review, nice follow up and a lot of useful details.

I am also considering buying a Renault, and I think that the French car manufacturer is making quality cars at a very good price.

Most of the other car manufacturers seem to have forgotten about decent priced vehicles (even Kia seems to go up with their price range).

P.S: I think the 1.4 16v Renault engine is really among the best 1.4 engines. I have a co-worker who has a lot of issues with a 1.4 FSI Volkswagen Golf. It consumes a lot of oil, and he has already changed its 3rd exhaust sensor (none of the sensor exchange was covered by warranty). He has also changed the ignition coils once.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 23 reviews