2000 Renault Scenic Reviews - Page 7 of 7

2000 Renault Scenic RXE 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired11500 miles
Most recent distance19500 miles
Previous carRenault 5

Summary:

It is fast, comfortable, reliable and very roomy

Faults:

Nothing at all - 8000 miles in 4 months with no problems at all.

General Comments:

We have three children and the triple back seat is a boon - lots of room and fewer fights.

Performance is good as long as you keep the revs up, but we are disappointed with the fuel consumption. We cannot get better than 32mpg.

We use the car for long motorway journeys, with five passengers and a full load of luggage - so far it has performed perfectly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2001

2000 Renault Scenic RXE 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance9800 miles
Previous carToyota Carina

Summary:

Like our house on wheels

Faults:

Some condensation developed in the rear offside light cluster.

Rear tailgate is not completely flush with the bodywork.

General Comments:

An excellent family car, with good visibility and a high driving position that makes you feel good on the road.

Long distance journeys have become enjoyable again, and there is plenty of space to store drinks, food, umbrellas etc.

Was prepared to import this vehicle, however my local dealer matched the price I was quoted for an import on-line, I was amazed! (And they delivered in four weeks rather than 12 weeks for an import)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2001

2000 Renault Scenic RXE 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance8500 miles
Previous carPeugeot 106

Summary:

Love it to death

Faults:

Required a replacement rear seat belt after it jammed. Renault wouldn't replace it as the car was 1 month out of warranty, they sent me vouchers instead, strange move!

General Comments:

Would buy another tomorrow, my friends are now buying them in droves, of course we are all buying imports! At £3000 cheaper.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2001

16th Jun 2001, 13:33

Update 15/6/2001 Scenic still the best, no hassles, dead reliable, does 42mpg with the air-con on, and the neighbours now have one as well! Nice one Renault.

6th Sep 2001, 12:35

Update to the above, just bought a new 1.6 Dynamique.

The fuel gauge is faulty and it has the old Scenic problem of the front wing sitting out from the headlight. I am awaiting for my local dealer to fix them both, three weeks so far. Apart from that, we still reckon that the car is the bee's knees!!

2000 Renault Scenic Monaco 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Summary:

The most versatile car you can buy and is reliable too!

Faults:

N/S fog light had water inside thus blowing the bulb, dealer replaced at no charge.

Leaky expansion bottle cap, noticed by me because of a lack of coolant, dealer replaced and filled the coolant bottle in 5 mins for a 5 pound charge.

General Comments:

This car is very fast, having only a 2 liter engine, is very responsive and smooth, the gearbox works great too, thanks to the new fuzzy logic software.

It gives near 29 mpg which is not great but is OK.

More stable than I thought.

Very solid construction.

Flexible seating options.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2001

2000 Renault Scenic RXE 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance31700 miles
Previous carHonda Civic VTi

Summary:

I'm happy to be a Scenic owner

Faults:

Automatic transmission computer failed, replaced by the dealer in half a day! They even gave me a free oil change so I'm very happy they are trying to do things right.

General Comments:

Good dealer service from a few months ago, maybe new Renault dealer plans or something. I'm so happy I owne this car and not a Citroen that I'm going to buy a Clio for my daughter.

This car is comfy, powerful, not as fuel wise as I expected to, but it drinks less than the competition.

A/C system is marvelous, heats up very fast even on 25ºF mornings.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2001

2000 Renault Scenic RXE 2.0 litres from Venezuela

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 litres Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance18540 kilometres
Previous carMitsubshi Lancer GLXi

Summary:

If you got a family, this is the one

Faults:

Nothing, zero, nada, 0.

General Comments:

Great van, very big inside, great looks, everybody ask me what car is that and when I say a "Renault", nobody believes the quality and concept of this car-van.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2001

2000 Renault Scenic Alize 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance12300 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

A perfect match for our lifestyle

Faults:

I bought the car when it was 10 months old. Needed a new ignition coil and spark plugs within the first week of purchase.

General Comments:

Ideal family car. Bags of room.

Windscreen wipers could be better designed i.e. water somehow splashes all over the screen after using the screenwash and the wipers have stopped.

The sun visors are cheap and nasty, keep flopping down.

These are only very minor points in a car which is ideal for our circumstances i.e. a young family.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2001

13th Oct 2003, 06:06

What went wrong indeed?!

My Renault Scenic is now two and a half years old and as of yesterday (10/10/03) needs it's 3rd ignition coil.

And because I have bought my car via one of the large car importers, every time this needs doing, arranging this is a nightmare.

Contact with dealers is fine, but contact with Renault UK for warranty aspects is near impossible.

So be warned if you have a Y reg Scenic.

One comfort apparently the same for Y reg Volkswagen Passat as 2 of my collegues shared 4 ignition coils between them.

2000 Renault Scenic RTE 1.4 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 16v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance1100 miles
Previous carCitroen ZX

Summary:

Excellent adaptable family transport

Faults:

Absolutely nothing.

General Comments:

Solidly built and the new range of petrol engines seem to offer superb fuel economy.

This is the first car I've had from new which has proved totally niggle-free.

Saved £4000 by buying through an import agent - a bargain!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th November, 2000

2000 Renault Scenic 1.6 from Trinidad and Tobago

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance7000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

A rip off

Faults:

Air conditioning compressor had to be changed within three months.

Yesterday, to my surprise the car is out of oil. Dealer says there is no oil leak and I have to bring it in on Tuesday for an engine diagnosis. The car is only 7 months old!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th September, 2000

28th Jun 2001, 18:02

My 1999 2.0 Scenic developed oil leaks on both the front and rear crankcase seals after just 30 000 km. (Just after the one year guarantee period) I was totally satisfied with the car until this lot happened. I am convinced it is either a manufacturer error or just simply an inferior product!! Fighting with the local dealer is ongoing...

2000 Renault Scenic RXE 1.6 16v from South Africa

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance15000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Astra Estate

Summary:

A great and safe family car

Faults:

Radio bad reception.

Exhaust heat box rattle.

General Comments:

Excellent family car! (My 10 year old daughter says "It's Cool!").

Recirculation button unfortunately omitted from the previous range. Now need to bend down & flip the switch several positions.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2000

18th Apr 2001, 10:20

Hi.

I am having the same problem with the radio on my Scenic (bad reception), did you sort out the problem?

Love my car.

Also from South Africa.

29th Dec 2002, 16:40

I found the vehicle to have excellent road manners, with just the right balance of handling and on road comfort. Possibly one of the most useful cars I've ever had.

General rating 8.5/10

Excellent Fuel consumption also.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 30 reviews