2001 Renault Scenic Reviews - Page 7 of 7

2001 Renault Scenic Authentique 1.4 16v petrol from Malta

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 16v petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance7105 kilometres
Previous carNissan Sunny

Summary:

Very good value for money

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This car has nearly every standard accessory which a lot of cars that are much more expensive do not have.

The only thing I can grumble about is that perhaps the 1400cc engine is a little too slow for a heavy car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th September, 2001

2001 Renault Scenic Authentique 1.4 16v from Malta

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance2200 kilometres

Summary:

Best family car money can buy

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

The car situation is a bit particular in Malta, with extreme taxes levied on new cars (in the range of 60% to 80%). The Scénic was the best value for money, scoring a bit better than the Citroën Xsara Picasso at a slightly lower price.

The Scénic is an extremely versatile car. You can move the back seats about, remove them, or make an even more comfortable four seater out of the car within a minute. The back has three full seats, each with a head rest and three-point seat belt.

Because of the elevated driving position, getting in and out is easy, visibility is very good, and the upright position of the driver and passengers leaves the car remarkably compact and easy to park (which, in Malta, is an asset not to be underestimated).

The long gear stick takes some getting used to. The 1.4 16v engine is on the light side for this relatively heavy car, but still I manage to spin the wheels in second gear, and steep hills are taken in second at 3000 to 4000 RPM. For the short distances on the island it's more than adequate.

The back is a bit noisy; I suspect the removable chairs of rattling around, but it's nothing major.

The comfort level is quite high. The Authentique, the level just above the basic edition, has electric front windows and mirrors, a satellite for the radio, and the air conditioner (a must in Malta) cools three soft drink cans in a special compartment. The car is littered with all kinds of pockets and compartments.

This is my first car. The only reason why I wouldn't buy it again is because I want the Scénic RX4 instead.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2001

26th Sep 2001, 00:43

We are a couple from Malta who have purchased a new Renault Scenic nearly four months ago. This is also the 1.4 16v Authentique version, which in Malta has as standard accessories, air conditioning, 6 airbags and ABS as standard. We decided to purchase this car because we wanted an MPV and this was the best value for money. When the car was only 1 month old, we went with it overland to Italy, France and Germany and the car performed very well for a 1400cc engine.

Regarding the noise that your reader from Malta is getting for the rear of the car, we think that this comes from the seat belts which hang from the roof. Otherwise we are quite content with the Scenic.

2001 Renault Scenic Sport 2.0 from Hong Kong

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired45 kilometres
Most recent distance3520 kilometres
Previous carDaewoo Espero

Summary:

Excellent value for money

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Excellent in every aspect.

Very good visibility.

Excellent safety features with 6 air bags. All 5 seats have head rests and three-point seat belts.

The proactive gear box takes sometime to adjust to and the high driving position also seemed a bit awkward at the beginning. But now, I find that these two features are actually good features of the car.

My wife and kids all love it.

It is a car that you feel confident and safe driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th September, 2001

2001 Renault Scenic Dynamique 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance500 miles
Previous carRenault Scenic

Summary:

Buy a import and get a bargain

Faults:

Fuel gauge is not reading.

Front wing is sitting slightly out from the headlight.

General Comments:

Now into Scenic number two and they just get better. Forget Fiat, Vauxhall etc. just buy a Scenic, and no I don't work for Renault!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th September, 2001

2001 Renault Scenic RXE 1.6 petrol from Malaysia

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 kilometres
Most recent distance5000 kilometres
Previous carToyota 4x4

Summary:

The car is excellent, and I would consider buying another 4WD version if it came with an automatic

Faults:

At the moment nothing except for some minor rattling sound from the front which comes and goes...

General Comments:

The car is comfortable for everyone, except that the steering is a bit awkwardly positioned. Maybe if the future model has adjustment for reach this problem could be solved.

I am considering buying the 4WD version, but waiting for it to be equipped with an Automatic Gearbox.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th July, 2001

2001 Renault Scenic RXES 1.6 16v petrol from Malaysia

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired75 kilometres
Most recent distance1450 kilometres
Previous carCitroen AX

Summary:

Nice, efficient and you cannot ask for more

Faults:

None so far.

General Comments:

This is a nice family car. However the one delivered to me did not come with the alarm system fitted which is quite odd. It does comes with central locking and engine immobilizer as well as other standard items.

Being newly introduced in Malaysia, several accessories such as seat covers (which are unique), window air press and many other accessories I see available in New Zealand are not available locally.

Also all the Internet sites I have been to do not seem to show any repair manual being available for this model other than the Haynes. I need information on where I can get hold of the original repair manual for this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th June, 2001

2001 Renault Scenic RXE 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance1000 miles
Previous carRenault Scenic 1.6 RT

Summary:

Getting better all the time

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

All in all, a great improvement on an already good car.

Comfortable, versatile and now with good performance without any increase in fuel thirst.

We test drove all the rivals and came back to the Scenic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th April, 2001

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 27 reviews