2001 Renault Scenic Reviews - Page 3 of 7

2001 Renault Scenic Expression Plus 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance30505 miles
Previous carRenault Scenic

Summary:

An excellent all rounder

Faults:

Had to replace all 6 electronic coils to cure poor performance and clear "Engine Management" fault light.

General Comments:

Excellent family car.

Very versatile, 2 adults, 3 kids, one Golden Retriever and luggage - no problem. With seats out it is as good as a small van.

Handling is excellent at lower speeds, but requires constant minor corrections at higher motorway speeds.

Rotated tyres from new and replaced 4 at 30 K. Excellent for a PAS MPV.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th May, 2004

2001 Renault Scenic Monaco 1.9dci from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9dci Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carRenault Safrane

Summary:

Avoid the diesel version at all costs!

Faults:

Oil Leak at 30000 miles (August 2002) involved removal of engine, faulty part not available, 6 weeks before vehicle was ready: only for the dealer to discover another problem - the dealer took it back immediately - altogether 9 weeks off the road! Dealer kept me mobile with courtesy cars during this period.

Engine failed at 50000 miles, (March 2003). New engine fitted under warranty.

New Engine blew up (April 2004) with 30,000 miles done (90,000 on clock). Renault tell me outside of warranty period, due to mileage exceeding their 60,000. Total cost of repair and fitting new engine £5,500. Car is now (deemed to have 90,000 miles on clock, has value of £5,500 and £4,500!) We are awaiting Renault to come back with further offer.

In addition to the above - the alarm has had to be replaced twice!

We have had so many Temporary Cover Notes written that the Insurance Company does not permit the broker to write further cover without their permission.

General Comments:

As a customer of Renault for 18 years, I cannot believe their stance on the issue.

Unless they come up with an exceptionally good offer, we will not be inclined to deal with them again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th April, 2004

2001 Renault Scenic RX4 2.0 16v from South Africa

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired1000 kilometres
Most recent distance51000 kilometres
Previous carIsuzu KB Series

Summary:

A good all round car

Faults:

Irritating knocking noise to front suspension since new.

Left shock absorber mounting failed at 49 000 km

Stitching to driver's seat tearing.

High incidents of minor dents on all doors

Interior light cover broke

Damage to driver's sun visor support resulting in rattle.

General Comments:

The knocking noise in the front suspension has been contentious since the car was new and the problem is not yet solved. It feels as if something is loose in front when driving over an uneven surface and every road undulation is felt in the steering wheel. The Renault dealer replaced the front shock absorbers three times, installed a new steering rack and most recently installed two new shock absorber upper mountings. The problem still persists and now the dealer proposes to replace the suspension ball joints. Can anyone help?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th April, 2004

3rd Feb 2006, 13:34

We have same problem, ball joints replaced and still not mended.

15th Sep 2006, 05:58

Help!! Did anyone get their Renault knocking noise fixed?? I am at the end of my tether and getting low on funds trying to find out what is wrong with my car.

22nd Feb 2007, 07:39

I own a 2001 Scenic 1.6 Petrol.

Car was fantastic as a start, but as the mileage starts to build up (now at 96k km), the knocking sound from the front, steering lost its insulation and I can feel the road completely, lots of vibration coming through the floor, all these symptoms are coming up.

Renault can't seem to tell what's the problem at all. The problem was remedied once by accident when someone adjusted the steering U-beam support on the steering rack. However, within a month, the problems were back. Suspect its something to do with a few things, rubber mountings on the steering U-Beam as well as engine/gearbox mounting.

Haven't got round to fixing it just yet. Long service queue at my local Renault dealer in Malaysia.

2001 Renault Scenic Privilege 2 litre 16v from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2 litre 16v Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired52 kilometres
Most recent distance52000 kilometres
Previous carFord Falcon

Summary:

A classy people mover which has redefined this range

Faults:

The ignition system was playing up when we first took delivery of the car. The dealer discovered the factory had set the wrong computer program for electronic ignition. This was easily corrected.

The dealer caused several scratches to the paintwork during services.

The cheap factory supplied battery failed exactly after 12 months (12 days after warranty).

Otherwise I can't fault the car. It seems like it would glide through another 250,000 kilometers without major repairs.

General Comments:

My wife loves this car. She can't speak highly enough about it, and I have trouble getting the keys from her. She despises the dealer and resents taking it to them (only 2 dealers in a city on 1 million).

Resale value seems to plummeting because Renault do not yet have the same profile in Australia as Japanese and other car makers.

I prefer a saloon seating position, but my wife loves the seating arrangement.

We bought the car when Renault had just made their re-entry into the Australian market. The Scenic shone brightly above our two other options (Mazda Premacy and Daewoo Tacuma - both copies of the Scenic).

It has been a fantastic value car - best around.

The motor purrs in all traffic and the car loves being driven hard - city or highway. It is a joy to drive. It is fully optioned with leather seats, stick control stereo etc. etc.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st February, 2004

22nd Nov 2005, 03:02

I agree there should be more Renault dealers in Australia if they are serious about the brand in Australia.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 27 reviews