1995 SAAB 900 Reviews - Page 3 of 7

1995 SAAB 900 SE Turbo from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance111111 miles

Summary:

I LOVE MY GIRL INGRID.

Faults:

The problem is that the radio does not work. The computer display works fine. It tells me outside temperature, distance to empty, etc, etc, but when I turn on the radio, nothing happens. The antenna threatens to move, but does not. I have a cd changer in the back that is definitely getting power because I hear it looking for the CD, but nothing happens.

I have been looking at after market radios, but I'd really prefer to keep this one. ANY SUGGESTIONS OUT THERE?

General Comments:

Ingrid is my Saab's name and I plan to keep her til the end. The car still handles perfectly. I did notice that sometimes the clutch seems stiff but that's really about it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th January, 2007

25th Jan 2007, 05:50

Eeeewwwww!!! After reading this, I'm tempted to sell mine & never admit that I owned one.

8th May 2007, 07:50

Is this a Blaupunkt radio? (Typical on SAABs and some Mercedes). If so, it probably requires the use of security codes (I kid you not) to unlock its operation. The theory is that a radio thief has no incentive to steal something that won't work. The reality is that in the USA, most radios are stolen by smash-and-grab dopeheads looking for their next fix who have no idea what they're getting anyway.

I looked at a used SAAB that I didn't buy (for other reasons) and neither of the last two owners ever got the codes either.

I'd replace the thing, with a Pioneer or JVC, or maybe Dual. But that's me.

15th Jul 2007, 23:59

I think I'll sell mine to buy drugs.

30th Sep 2011, 18:44

First remove the fuse for the radio, then the radio diagnostics. Then place them back in their correct place, power on the radio, and it will ask for the code; enter it and you're set...

3rd Oct 2011, 08:50

Yep - After reading this - I'm actually glad I sold mine - not because it wasn't a great car it was - a car *named* "Ingrid" really creeps me out. No more Saabs for me!

1995 SAAB 900 s convertable 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

Nice looks and build quality, but performance lets it down

Faults:

The part of the exhaust that was attached to the manifold went.

The middle brake light went.

The rear brake pads and disks had to be replaced as they had seized up and stopped working.

General Comments:

This car is a nice looking quality car.

But the performance really lets it down, as it is awful! I even had to buy a set of new low profile wheels to make the handling less dangerous.

The car gathers attention when the rook is off, as it has beautiful grey leather interior.

The roof folds down very neat and tidily into the boot, and still leaves quite a lot of space in the boot.

The car is very sluggish off the line, but great at high speeds on the motorway. I have to keep constantly changing down gear to make the car move out of corners. At low revs this car is atrocious.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th May, 2006

1995 SAAB 900 SE convertible V6 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Its like cheesecake, which I also love

Faults:

The other day my car told me a light was out. Someone got on the car for needing lights changed frequently; let me just say that any car with day-time running lights needs frequent headlight changes.

So far nothing but high gas prices to deal with. It gets about 27 miles per gallon with me. I've had it for a year.

General Comments:

The front seats are very comfy except if you are trying to fall asleep. Which I guess is good if you're the driver. One night I was trying to fall asleep, but couldn't because my neck was strained when I wasn't sitting normally.

I rely a lot on the car's brakes, which work quickly and firmly.

Handles turns nicely, though I do not endorse testing it to its limits.

As in all convertibles, you can't see much in the rear view. It is something you get used to and I've only had one close call in a parking lot.

The interior is cozy with its tinted windows, leather seats, and black soft top which I love on rainy days driving to work, and on nice days I make sure there isn't any loose paper lying around and I put the top down.

I really love the little quirks that make the Saab 900 SE an individual. With the analog clock on the dashboard it takes me a bit of extra concentration to figure the time, and I have to admit there were a few times at first when I would get in the car and move to put the key in on the steering column.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2006

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 24 reviews