1995 SAAB 900 Reviews - Page 6 of 7

1995 SAAB 900 SE 2.0L V6 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0L V6 turbo Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired61000 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carNissan Stanza

Summary:

Piece of junk

Faults:

The traction control system does not function properly. The estimate to fix it was approximately $500.00. I did not get it fixed.

The transmission malfunctioned. I have no reverse. It is not drivable currently. Cost to fix is $1,700. Cost to replace the transmission is $2,500 with a refurbished transmission. Saab USA, Inc. cannot guarantee that other gears will not malfunction before 2005. This does not give me much confidence in the car.

General Comments:

I would never buy a Saab car. My Saab car is only 6 years old and the transmission malfunctioned. Saab customer service would not assist me in any way. Would you buy a car expecting the transmission to malfunction after only 6 years? No one in their right mind would buy a $45,000 vehicle with those expectations. However, I feel that Saab gave the message that they do not expect their vehicles' transmissions to last longer than 6 years. When I spoke to them, they insisted that the car was 6 years old and things can go wrong with it.

I have owned a Nissan Stanza for 10 years, and I believe the transmission will last at least another 10 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th August, 2001

31st Mar 2004, 01:53

Unlucky with the gearbox.

I've heard that the engine and gearbox are normally said to be good for over 250,000 miles.

Mine has currently done 110,000 and is still as smooth as ever.

Maybe after market parts would be a better option than the dealer - cheaper too.

28th Mar 2008, 00:11

Once again another person getting screwed by GM. I wouldn't purchase a SAAB after 1993 (1994 Convert.) for any amount of $$$$$. There should be a list somewhere of what auto manufacturers that use to producing good products and what years to avoid. Mercedes aren't what they use to be either.

6th Dec 2008, 12:11

I would be very ticked off and disappointed too if my luxury car with only 67k miles started having transmission problems that cost that much to fix. Thank God I've never had transmission problems with any of my cars in the past.

26th May 2009, 21:52

2005 wasn't their best year, you should have gone older or newer. My 1995 has well over 130000 and runs beautifully, never had any transmission problems even after doing 70mph backwards, that was nearly 3 months ago, and it still runs really great.

I previously had a Jimmy, and it was a newer model than my car, but it was the biggest piece of junk I have ever had. So many problems that the dealer wouldn't even fix them. I also had a Chevy Cavalier convertible Z24 1989; Absolutely amazing car till I was rear ended, which in the end bought my Saab. Which I wouldn't change for anything.

1995 SAAB 900 XS 2.0i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

A quality item

Faults:

Interior light comes on when braking hard... sometimes!

General Comments:

This car, for the money, second/third hand, is fantastic, a real luxury motor!

A pleasure to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2001

1995 SAAB 900 SE turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 kilometres
Most recent distance68000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Cabriolet

Summary:

A topless hot rod with European luxury and performance

Faults:

A cooling system hose broke and the cooling system thermostat malfunctioned - these problems may have been related.

General Comments:

I bought this car because it was available when my previous car was totalled. I wanted a front drive convertible and had not seriously considered a SAAB before. I was not prepared for the hot rod like performance of the car or the high level of luxury fittings included but they came with the package.

The car is almost as loose and shaky as the '69 Malibu convertible I had many years ago. It's also almost as fast and much better in the twisties. It creaks and groans over rough surfaces and I'm surprised that parts haven't fallen off. Paradoxically, it's also a very solid feeling car on smooth roads.

Ergonomics - seating and controls - are better than any car I've driven. A long drive through the Rocky mountains with the top down (on a sunny day, of course) is bliss. And it's nice to know you can quickly pass almost anything on the road.

Performance and comfort are the best things about the car. The bad things are the shaky body and wobbly gear shift

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2000

4th Aug 2005, 00:55

I love my 95 convertible Saab se, to only thing that I have a problem with is the top. when I first got the car the top worked fine, but then started to not work. it says "check soft top." does any one know why the back part of the top {the window} is hitting the boot?

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 24 reviews