1995 SAAB 900 Reviews - Page 4 of 7

1995 SAAB 900 SE V6 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.2 / 10
Distance when acquired26 miles
Most recent distance151000 miles
Previous carSAAB 96

Summary:

My hobby is to get anyone possibly interested in a SAAB to buy something else; revenge is sweet

Faults:

Everything; meaning, the car was unreliable, with a series of small and big problems cascading into each other over time.

I do not have the time or energy to list everything that went wrong with this excuse for a car. Suffice it to say that every time I drive by the SAAB dealership in my Acura, I (literally) breathe a sigh of relief.

GM should be ashamed of itself.

General Comments:

Unprintable; worse with regard to SAAB dealers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd March, 2006

8th Apr 2006, 12:49

Isn't that the truth. Someone finally realizes how crappy GM is. When they bought Saab, that was the death of the company. You should try finding an older model Saab. They are great cars. Acura.. great choice. I'm with you on that.

16th Dec 2007, 11:09

My Saab 900 SE V6 1994 was my first non Japanese car in 25 years of almost trouble motoring. I have owned this car for seven years and it has only covered 71000 miles.

Yes, it is a very nice looking car; yes, it is very fast and a comfortable drive especially over long distances. Unfortunately it is an expensive beast to maintain, and the last two years have been particularly aggravating due to the failure (three times) of the oil cooler, which is situated between the V of the engine. This has resulted in the car being off the road for long periods, and has proved very expensive.

The only final solution to this problem was to put an exterior oil cooler, which is now placed just behind the grille. Would I buy another Saab? No - I could not afford the upkeep of it as I am now retired. I now keep the car as a second car and use it as a workhorse! And something to tinker with at weekends.

1995 SAAB 900 S 2.3 DOHC from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.3 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles
Previous carKia Sportage

Summary:

European luxury and ride with super looks

Faults:

Heater hoses needed to be replaced soon after purchase.

One driving light has burned out, replacement is a long and complicated procedure.

General Comments:

What a great car, handles like a dream, plus still gets over 25 mpg. Very well built, feels solid, super amenities throughout the car, heated seats, super air conditioning system, comfortable interior.

Huge amount of cargo room. Quirky placement of key, just takes a while to get used to. Super list of standard equipment..ABS, power everything including moon roof.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2004

1995 SAAB 900 900S 2.3L I4 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.3L I4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired112000 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

High-performance European luxury

Faults:

Clutch went out at 113,000 miles and caused severe transmission damage, cost $1,000 to repair.

Rear calipers completely rusted and cost $600 to repair.

General Comments:

Very nice car inside and out.

I have upgraded the muffler with a Tenzo Racing Sports exhaust adding some power and a very nice sound.

Fairly good acceleration when paired with the 5-speed

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th August, 2004

1995 SAAB 900 SE 2.5L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Vanagon

Summary:

The V-6: a model to avoid

Faults:

3 separate incidents of timing belt failure causing serious engine damage.

General Comments:

The car is comfortable and well appointed.

Unfortunately, the 2.5L V-6 timing belt/tensioner design has been a problem. (I think Saab discontinued this engine's use after 1998). I followed all recommended Saab maintenance (timing belt/tensioner changes every 30,000 miles) and still had failures at 15,000, 10,000 and 7,000 miles after service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd May, 2004

5th Sep 2004, 22:42

We have also had a premature timing belt failure. Plus lots of other odd problems that a specialist mechanic shop couldn't ever stamp out. We are getting rid of this car, unfortunately. We have loved it - but the chronic problems are KILLING us. Thanks, GM, thanks for nothing.

13th Jul 2005, 18:13

We have had no problems with the V6 engine on the 900SE. The timer-belt problem did not arise until about 60,000 miles. Not having experienced the kind of problems reported by a few drivers and being a long-distance driver, I cannot fault the car along the lines suggested by some reviewers.

1995 SAAB 900 Convertible 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carSAAB 900

Summary:

Needs Lots of $$$ Repairs

Faults:

Water Pump and Drive Belt Went at 59000 Miles. Cost $5K to repair because Drive Belt damaged entire engine.

New Muffler at 50000 Miles.

Headlight bulbs changed constantly.

Power Window and Power Antennae replaced at 50000 miles.

Power Roof Sensor had to be replaced at 70000 miles.

General Comments:

The car is built tough and I feel safe driving it.

It is not a comfortable ride, but I chose safety over comfort with this car.

This is my second and last Saab 900.

The first was a 1989 that I put 217,000 miles on with NO PROBLEMS at all.

I swore I would drive a SAAB for the rest of my life.

My second Saab is a lemon. I hate owning it because I have a constant fear of it breaking down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th December, 2003

30th Oct 2004, 20:35

From your list of engine repairs, I suspect your car was fitted with the infamous GM 2.5 liter 6. That is your problem. I find the NG 900 (in four cylinder form) to be an excellent car in itself, and although less distinctive than the original design, an excellent Saab. Go for the 2.3, or any of the turbo's next time. They don't use timing belts, and hold up fine, as you experianced with your previous car.

19th Feb 2005, 16:15

Ummm... I thought drive belts where to be replaced at 50000 miles. mabye there was a reason it sliped at 59000... I don't know MABYE.

5th Dec 2005, 18:34

I had a 95 convertible with the "dreaded" 2.5 V6 and it was great it lasted 194,000 miles and the only thing that was out of the ordinary that I had to replace was the front axle. and that was was only about $1000 at a Saab mechanic. The only reason I got rid of it is because the top wore out and I didn't want to have to drop $1500 for a new one.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 24 reviews