1995 SAAB 900 Reviews - Page 5 of 7

1995 SAAB 900 i s coupe 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance88000 miles
Previous carRenault 19

Summary:

A car that's smart and stylish for its age, but parts can be expensive

Faults:

The brake switch failed at 85,000 miles.

The Radiator expired at 79,000.

Whole exhaust system went at the same time.

Sump plug was threaded during service and is "very" expensive to repair.

General Comments:

Generally quite a nice car, quick enough and very sturdy.

Massive boot space.

Just expensive to repair!

Quiet thirsty is slow moving traffic.

Car is let down by a pathetic space saving spare wheel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd October, 2003

1995 SAAB 900 SE 2.5 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance126000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Too expensive for the trouble

Faults:

Timing belt slipped at 94000 - should have been changed by used car dealer.

Was not covered by dealer cost over $3500 to repair. Saab USA did partial reimbursement.

Runs good for 2 to 3 months then has another costly problem.

In last Yr needed new coil $ 125+ - New Ignition wires $ 200+ - New Oxygen Sensors $ 150+ - Needs fuel filter.

A/C holds charge for avg. 2 months.

General Comments:

Body is very sturdy - handles exceptionally well for FWD.

Except for seemingly constant engine trouble I would call it an very well made car. Mechanic was not Saab dealer so I cannot say it was Saabs fault. Did a very poor job on top end rebuild.

Interior and all small parts of dash and knobs show very little wear.

Handles better than SUV's in wet, icy, snowy weather.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th June, 2003

26th May 2009, 22:01

It is very true that Saab handles very well in the snow. I live in Maine on a very steep hill. I put a pair of snow tires on it, and I never once was stuck walking up that hill. I have a 95 900s and it made it up even when my neighbors truck wouldn't.

I haven't had my timing belt changed ever, and it has over 130000 miles on it.

Fuel filters are a normal maintenance thing; just replaced mine, but didn't get it from the dealer, try finding it elsewhere, it's a lot cheaper.

27th May 2009, 18:04

You are pushing your luck by not having your timing belt changed and 130,000 miles on the car.

22nd Dec 2009, 15:54

I believe your 95 900s has the 2.3L engine, which should have a timing chain and not a belt on it, making belt changes unnecessary. The 2.5 V6 engine is a problem engine because it has a timing belt and has a known history of failing before the recommended time, because of the cheap plastic pieces used in the tensioner system.

1995 SAAB 900 SE 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance154000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Worth a Look

Faults:

The headlamp wipers are fragile and break easily.

The strut mounts in this year are weak and wore out entirely before 75,000 miles.

General Comments:

This is a much faster car than is generally known, and very comfortable.

Dealer repair costs are very high, but many maintenance parts are inexpensive from the aftermarket and the car is easy to work on for the do-it-yourselfer.

Handling is very good, but the stiff suspension might turn off people with bad roads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd April, 2003

1995 SAAB 900 S 2.3L from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance185000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

The Saab is truly, a luxury, sporty, car with the safety to boot

Faults:

Nothing. I keep her full of gas and make oil changes. She does the rest!

General Comments:

I love the heated seats.

It drives like a BMW.

The 18 gallon tank allows me to get about 500 to 600 miles.

I live in upper Michigan and this car is great in the many feet of snow.

The cabin is quirky, but very refined for a 1995.

Sound system leaves something to be desired, but upgrades are simple.

I am not really smart about cars, but the display on the dashboard has informed me of a burnt out tail light, and low coolant already. This car is very smart.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th December, 2002

15th Dec 2008, 15:20

I have a 1995 900s in Canada and I have trouble with my manual transmission. It shifts poorly and jumps out of reverse, this makes it difficult to park and dangerous. Now I can't even get it into reverse. In the US you have a recall on the linkage that causes this problem, but here in Canada nothing yet. My car, with very low miles I might add, no recall, same problem, same results. I quess our lives are worth less.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 24 reviews