2003 Saturn ION Reviews

2003 Saturn ION from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance147000 miles

Summary:

My Saturn Ion has truly been a great car, and is still going strong

Faults:

One or two things that were under recall, which were repaired free of charge by the dealer.

Seats are a bit hard to keep clean, as they are light gray.

General Comments:

I have been extremely pleased with my Saturn Ion. I loved the design the minute I saw it, and I still think it looks great 9 years later.

It has been wonderfully reliable, and the original battery lasted a full 8 years. I replaced it with an identical battery, so it can stay reliable for another 8 years or so.

It is not quick or flashy, but it sure is a nice looking little car that I can depend on. I would definitely buy another one if they became available.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th February, 2012

2003 Saturn ION 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance121000 miles

Summary:

It's been reliable for me getting from point A to B

Faults:

Good car, had to change the switch for the AC/heat... Other than that, sometimes it won't start when it's extremely hot, but after 15 minutes it starts up. Speedometer light is half lit, but at 121,000 miles the problems are minor in my book.

General Comments:

I used Seafoam because I was getting hesitation; runs 10 times better after using Seafoam (put it directly into gas tank); better response.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th May, 2011

2003 Saturn ION from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission Automatic
Most recent distance77000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Would like for it to last longer

Faults:

Would not start after being started 3 to 4 times. Cost was $148 to get it fixed - yet it's a standard problem.

Key will not release more and more times. Cheverolet dealer fixed by programing it release in ANY gear - Park, Drive 1, Drive 2, Reverse. Cost for new part was $491 - not including labor.

Those with problems can contact National Highway Traffic Safety Administration Auto Safety Hotline @ 1-888-327-4236. When the car doesn't start, that's a safety issue! So please call in.

General Comments:

Good gas mileage. Saturn has gone out of business.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th January, 2011

2003 Saturn ION from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance78400 miles
Previous carGMC Ford Escort

Summary:

This is basically a good car to drive -- it has met my needs

Faults:

I am having to change my front signal bulbs --- frequently. There was a recall on the front casting for these signal bulbs in 2006. I have since had problems, even though my vehicle is not under warranty. Is anyone else having the same problems with having to replace the bulbs in the front end of the car?

Other than this problem with the signal lights (bulbs), I also have had some problems with squeaky brakes.

No other major problems --- Thank God.

General Comments:

I really like my Saturn! Like I said, I haven't had any major-major problems. However, I wish the dealerships were closer to where I live. I believe that I would buy another Saturn, if I could afford a new one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th December, 2010

2003 Saturn ION from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission  
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carSaturn ION

Summary:

Good car, but I don't know if it's safe

Faults:

My hood released snapped in the winter time.

This is my first car, and now when I am driving the car, the engine accelerates faster and faster without putting on the gas.

When I put it in Park, the engine starts running extremely hard.

The brakes get hard to push also when I do not push on the gas.

I don't know what to do, and I do not have the money to put into, if it's gonna be over 500.

This will sometimes happen; it's not every time I drive it. Is this car safe to be driving right now? I don't know.

And my paint job sucks on my car; it's starting to bubble.

Any feedback, please email me! pitcherbabe906@yahoo.com

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th November, 2010

13th Dec 2012, 02:44

This is exactly the problem I have had for two or more years now, and no one will believe me because whenever I try to show someone, the car of course doesn't do it. It is a horrible situation to deal with in traffic.

2003 Saturn ION from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.0 / 10
Distance when acquired79000 miles
Most recent distance95350 miles

Summary:

Right now, a piece of junk

Faults:

Vehicle was taken to an authorized Saturn dealer. My 2003 Saturn Ion had continuous high engine idle after being driven at highway speeds. If the vehicle was shut off, the power control module (PCM) computer reset itself. The Saturn dealer serviced the vehicle by re-programming the PCM (10/21/10 = $114) as per an issued service bulletin of 4/2004. This did not work.

Then they advised a spring in throttle body (engine) was bad and replaced the spring (10/28/10 = $200). This also did not work, engine still has high idle, and I brought the vehicle back on 11/2/10 to the service dealer. Service dealer then hooked up the car to their computer and had a service tech drive the vehicle for over 25 miles, 2 times, and then found another problem. They indicated that the power control module computer had a short, and caused a burned out component in the PCM computer. Since the Saturn is no longer being produced, the computer that must be replaced is on back order; and it's unknown when part will arrive. The Saturn service dealer advised that the vehicle should not be driven as it was a safety hazard, since the computer controls not only the engine, but the ABS braking system. At this time it's unknown when a part will arrive as it is on back order.

On searching the Internet, I found numerous complaints from persons who also had problems with the power control module computer. I believe that GM/Saturn has had full knowledge of the problem, and should have taken care of this problem prior; and as other owners of Saturns are having this serious problem, then GM should be making replacement parts for this computer more available to Saturn owners. The dealer has advised me that they do not know when the replacement computer will be available, as there is no part available in the entire USA. The part will have to be made by GM, and it's unknown when this will happen. So my 2003 Saturn Ion must be left at the dealer until a replacement computer is sent by GM, so my car can be repaired.

IF ANY ONE HAS A SOLUTION < EMAIL TO > michaelwit29@aol.com

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th November, 2010

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 78 reviews