2004 Saturn ION 2 from North America


I love my Saturn and will buy from them forever!


The tiny toggle switch on the driver's door which selects the side mirror you wish to adjust has popped out and I have yet to be able to stick it back in correctly.

General Comments:

The car handles very smoothly and is "whisper" quiet. If it wasn't for indicator lights on the dash, I would believe the car was not running when stopped.

The seats are comfortable and can fit even my 6'5" fiance, who can barely fit his long legs in my Jeep Cherokee.

Saturn's innovative dash design places the speedometer, odometer and other such dials in the center of the dash facing the driver, eliminating the problem of seeing your speed through or around the steering wheel. It is a bit unsettling at first, but very practical.

The car gets great gas mileage! My Jeep costs me $40 dollars to fill up at $2.50 a gallon, but the Saturn costs about $28 and lasts just as long. (We fill up once a week.)

There is not a lot of leg room in the back seat--something I failed to look into when I bought it. Excellent for the couple who wants more than a coupe, but probably not suitable for the family of 4-5, especially if they are tall!

The horn is rather squeaky and diminutive. I am considering installing a "deeper" sounding horn.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2005

2004 Saturn ION 2 2.2 from North America


Great gas mileage


When I purchased the car the power-door lock on the passenger side did not work. Took it to the dealership and they said the wiring was lose and the fixed it, plus the said my handle on the driver's door was sticking and they fixed it too. I never notice that the handle stuck. The battery went dead for some unknown reason. No lights were on and it went dead fast. The clock said 11:45 when I got out and when I got it started it said 11:50. I have no idea what would make a car go dead that fast! Plus I could not get the key out of the ignition after it wouldn't start. Other than that no problems.

General Comments:

Gets really great gas mileage. I drive 75 miles a day to work and back and can usually make the whole week on a tank of gas. Plus I can fill up on $20. It's not as peppy as my zx2 that I had, but only had it for a month before I got rear-ended. The seats do stain easily.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th March, 2005

28th Jan 2006, 14:51

My Saturn SL2 has refused to turn over for me twice with power obviously still going to the rest of the vehicle. The problem turned out to be the anti-theft system disabling the engine for some odd reason. I simply got the clicker out, enabled and disabled the system and it started.

2004 Saturn ION QUAD COUPE 2.2 4 cylinder from North America


It's a lemon


Cruise control not working at 600 miles.

4 months after we picked up the vehicle the miles per hour started to drop. It is currently 5 miles per hour under the advertised range.

Lights behind the radio flicker.

There is a hesitation when accelerating.

There is power loss when downshifting to go around a corner.

General Comments:

The car handles really well in the snow and is very comfortable.

They just can't seem to fix what's wrong with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th March, 2005

5th Mar 2005, 08:20

Miles per hour?? You mean miles per GALLON? gas wise?...

8th Dec 2005, 04:25

Have the same problem with the accelerator. Like it's missing (a cylinder) sometimes. Can't stand it.

2004 Saturn ION 2 4 cylinder from North America


A lot of bang for your buck!


Nothing has gone wrong on this car other than me hitting a snow bank after spinning in some ice.

General Comments:

I love this car. I got the Ion2 with the Sports package that makes for a great deal. With that you get upgraded 6 CD changer, a power moon roof, 16" alloy tires, a spoiler and pinstripes. I also had my windows tinted so the car looks very nice!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2005

21st Feb 2005, 17:18

Get some miles on that Saturn, then we'll see. You'll want a civic or corolla after a while.

27th Feb 2005, 14:14

If the previous reviewer who is partial to the Honda's or Toyota's was referring to a Saturn SL1 or SL2 with the atrocious 1.9L oil guzzling disaster of a motor (which I owned in my '93 SL2), I would have to agree. However, the new ECOTEC 4 cylinder motors GM is installing now are absolutely fantastic. I had been a long time GM loyalist, but swore off their cars for many years after my experience with the Saturn SL2. I went over to the dark side for a few years, and bought a Nissan Stanza, which I will give credit where Credit is due, was an excellent car. But I finally decided to give GM another chance. I now have an '03 Cavalier with the ECOTEC motor, which I am racking up the miles on, and cannot be more pleased with it. If anything ever happened to that car, I would not even look at a car with any other motor. I am pretty sure I would probably be considering an ION at that point. The plastic body panels are probably a love or hate thing, but I happen to like them a lot.