2004 Saturn ION from North America


A horrible investment. total disappointment


The car is a lemon! I hate it. It has no value to get rid of it.

The air does not recycle, so all pollution from outside gets in.

It's a noisy drive because the thing does not have insulation.

It's heavy and is a turtle and loud when you accelerate.

Should have bought a Hyundai. A complete disappointment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd May, 2006

24th May 2006, 15:18

Cars are not investments.

24th May 2006, 17:00

You might want to actually look at and drive your car before you buy it next time.

24th May 2006, 20:23

Actually... cars are an investment. just not in the normal ways. and also that's why you shouldn't buy a car that's 80% plastic.

2004 Saturn ION from North America


No good, do not buy!!


I believe my car is a lemon. My car has gone to the dealership four times within the past 3 months for the same problem. First, while driving 30mph my car suddenly shakes and then "dies." Dealership blames it on a bad sensor and then three times later while on the freeway I will be driving 70mph then my car suddenly slows to 30 then 20mph. The car will not accelerate any higher. The first two times the dealership had no explanation, then they replaced coil and ignition modulator sensors. As far as I'm concerned this car is horrible and I advise to not buy!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th January, 2006

2004 Saturn ION Quad Coupe 3 from North America


I love my car and want it to be perfect!


Car wouldn't start the other morning.

Twice now the radio won't work.

Terrible knocking sound every once in awhile when I hit bumps.

General Comments:

I immensely enjoy my Saturn. This is my first "new" car and I've had my Ion since July 04.

Earlier this week I went out to start it to let it warm up. It wouldn't start. It wouldn't even turn over. But all the lights, windows and even the radio worked. I have no idea what was going on. I thought it might've been the clutch, so I pumped it a couple times and once it almost started, but didn't quite catch. I waited a few minutes, then it started right up. I was NOT happy about this.

This morning the radio wouldn't work. The CD player worked just fine, but no sound was coming through the speakers when I switched it to the radio. I could change stations and SEE the station I was on, but no sound. This has happened one other time, too.

At least two times a week I'll hear a terrible knocking sound from under the front end when I am driving on an uneven road. That does not sound like that can be good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th November, 2005

2004 Saturn ION 2 Standard from North America


Not a wise purchase


It handles horribly in the snow and rain.

Poor radio reception.

Popping sound somewhere in drive train.

RPM's hover between 500 and 1000 at idle; sometimes the car hesitates as if it is going to stall.

Rattle behind dash and the dealer doesn't want to take apart the dash and find it.

Hum sound when accelerating sometimes. This is especially evident when I am using my car charger or have my iPod charging.

General Comments:

I have hydroplaned numerous times. The tires look good and the pressure is right. Any advice on this would be appreciated.

My lights behind the radio flickered, but the dealer replaced it and the lights no longer are an issue.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th October, 2005

11th Oct 2005, 08:42

There's no reason for this behavior in the rain. The tires may look OK, but it's worth replacing them with a better quality tire. Maybe you should slow down, too.

23rd Oct 2005, 21:40

I have a 2004 ion. I've had it since it had 19000 miles on it and now it has nearly 40000 on it and it has been a great car. I think some people want a lexus or a jaguar out of a car that costs 1/3 of the cost. it isn't going to happen. take care of the car and if it gets you where you want to go then stop complaining. thanks...