2002 Saturn L200 Reviews - Page 4 of 7

2002 Saturn L200 LS 2.2 DOHC from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.2 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired2500 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Excellent automobile for the price

Faults:

Just a simple re-call on the upper manifold and the taillights. Easily taken care of by Saturn at no charge to me.

General Comments:

Very reliable, comfortable, get's excellent gas mileage for the performance and handles great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st November, 2007

2002 Saturn L200 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance149600 miles
Previous carGeo Prizm

Summary:

I love my Saturn. My next car is going to be a VUE

Faults:

At about 60,000 miles the catalytic converter needed to be replaced. But it was done under warranty.

In the winter of 06-07, the rear window motor broke and the window would not stay up. But my car had close to 140,000 miles at that time.

General Comments:

This car has been super dependable. With the high miles I drive, I have been more than happy with the reliability of the car. There has not been any serious repair to worry about.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th March, 2007

2002 Saturn L200 SE 2.2 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance96500 miles
Previous carDodge Intrepid

Summary:

This is a beautiful car for any age driver!

Faults:

Paint on the hood has chipped a little bit, but not terribly. It isn't noticeable to most.

General Comments:

This car has been an awesome car for me, all though for most it seems like it hasn't. I haven't had any issues with it at all. It runs great in any weather. Would I buy from Saturn again? Based on my experience...yes! Based on most of these reviews...doubtful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2006

2002 Saturn L200 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Huge disappointment

Faults:

Timing chain broke at 12,000 miles.

General Comments:

When my timing chain broke at 12,000 miles I was stunned. We use the car lightly for errands, change the oil regularly etc. Now that I know how common it is I'm no longer surprised. But today I found out that the struts and tie rods are breaking, and the car is only at 13,500 miles? What's next?! It's like they used inferior metal in the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th July, 2006

26th Jul 2006, 07:29

13,500 miles in a 5-year old car? Maybe the chain broke from boredom.

26th Jul 2006, 14:40

My fiance had a Saturn SL2, and he had nothing but problems with it. The transmission went out on it for no apparent reason at 25,000 miles.

When he asked our mechanic what had caused it, the mechanic replied that a stick or rock may have bumped it. I don't know if our mechanic is an idiot, or if GM makes a transmission that is that touchy.

In my opinion, Saturn's are throw away cars you drive for a little while, then get rid of them as fast as you can.

2002 Saturn L200 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Stick with foreign cars

Faults:

The module that controls my security system failed 2 days after I got the car so I had to have it towed back to the dealership.

The water pump started leaking at 85000 miles. I had to have it towed to the dealership because you need a special tool to get the water pump off.

I went to change my brakes myself, but it takes a hex bolt instead of a socket so I had to buy a certain tool.

The module that controls my security system is not working every time so sometimes I have to wait until my car will let me in.

General Comments:

I will never buy another American made car again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th May, 2006

18th May 2006, 07:39

Good plan.

I've heard all foreign cars are perfect--they never break down, and run for a million miles with no maintenance.

20th May 2006, 14:52

I hope that above comment was a joke because it was really funny. Hate to break it to both of you, but all vehicles have their share of problems. My friend's 2003 Honda Odyssey has had sliding door problems, a new transmission, and rattles a bunch. That foreign car definitely has problems.

22nd May 2006, 10:30

I wrote it, and yes, it was a joke.

30th Aug 2006, 13:14

My 2000 Saturn LW1 2.2 Eco-tech has 171000 miles on it. It has been a great car with no major problems. Starter and Alternator still original. I have used Amsoil 0w30 synthetic oil. 37 miles per gallon on the highway at 65mph.

2002 Saturn L200 2.2 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired41000 miles
Most recent distance48500 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

I'm on the fence with this one

Faults:

At 42,500 the brakes failed

At 45,000 the brakes failed again

At 48,500 the brakes failed again.

Each time the dealer has said the braking system is up to standard.

I tend to disagree.

General Comments:

Except for the fact that you never know if the brakes are going to work, as pretty nice car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th July, 2005

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 25 reviews