11th Oct 2005, 03:01

October 8, 2005

Do not by any used Saturn's with-out a warranty. "All" maintenance must be done at a Saturn Dealer to follow the warranty's rules. The oil changes are $30, is that so bad? Compared to paying for a new engine (2000.00) or more?

11th Oct 2005, 03:10

October 8, 2005.

Common sense:

#1. Never assume a used car is in good shape.

#2. Never purchase a used car, with-out a warranty.

#3. Have all maintenance done at Dealership, when on warranty.

#4. There is no such thing as the perfect car or car company.

#5. Not all people have it.

19th Oct 2005, 09:34

Something must be pointed out to L-series owners (and potential buyers) : ALL of these instances of timing chain breakage have occurred to the 4-cylinder models of the L-series. This includes these models:

2000 LS, LS1

2001-2002 L100, L200

2003 L200

2004 L300.1.

This car was also available with a 3.0L V6, which has a timing belt (not a chain). This engine has NO history of trouble with the timing belt, although it must be replaced (maintenance) every 100,000 miles for a cost of about $600. The models with the V6 are:

2000 LS2

2001-2003 L300

2004 L300.2, L300.3

2005 L300

I believe the V6 engine will prove to be more reliable over time, and does not carry the worry of timing chain breakage that the 4-cyl engine does. If you own (or are considering purchasing) an L-series, be aware that the V6 model does not have this problem.

24th Oct 2005, 12:16

I'd be interested to know if anyone has been successful in having Saturn cover the cost of their broken timing chain, and if so, what process they went through. I'm having my 2001 L200 taken in this afternoon for just such a problem. When I talked to the guy at their service center, I mentioned the bulletin that had been put out on timing chains, but he seemed pretty dismissive of the idea that that would indicate that Saturn would be responsible for anything. Has anyone had met with any satisfaction from Saturn on this issue?


23rd Jan 2006, 15:16

I have the same problem with our 2002 L200. Our timing chain broke in November and for us to pay $2200 - $2600 is not in our budget to get fixed. We bought a beater car to get us through so we could save the money to fix it and that broke down! Now we're paying a monthly car payment which we can't even drive the Saturn nor the other car, a baby's on the way in less than a month, and the trade-in value for our car is practically nil. Thanks a lot Saturn for putting us into debt and whose to say the rebuilt engine we put into our car isn't going to have the same problem? Everyone should avoid your dealership altogether.

9th Feb 2006, 21:21

I own a 2000 L200. This car has been nothing, but a headache. First, my tale lights went out ($250) Saturn later recalled. Second, my light behind my radio burned out. Third, when I touch my dimmer switch all my dash board lights look like a strobe light. Also when I turn my turn signal on my bright lights come on and I can't get them to go off. Something must be wrong with the electrical. Just recently my check engine light came on at 61k. First we had the O2 sensors replaced ($310). Once they were installed the light was still on. Now we are told it is the computer. We have no idea how much that will cost, maybe in the thousands. My boyfriend (now husband) told me not to buy the car. I wish I had listened.

We will never buy a Saturn again.

27th Feb 2006, 13:49

My 2002 L200 just lost the timing chain which damaged the top of the engine--almost $3,000 to repair. I just had it in last week for 60,000 maintenance and was told the chain wasn't scheduled to be replaced until 100,000 miles. Now I see where the NHTSA has launched a preliminary investigation due to the number of complaints and prompting by the North Carolina Consumers Council. In the meantime, what do I do? My other car is a Saturn and we were thinking about trading it for a Saturn SUV. Not anymore!

16th Mar 2006, 19:50

I like most everyone else posting, purchased a Saturn in good faith, believing that they were indeed a different kind of car company.However; I was in for a rude awakening when my timing chain broke. It has become abundantly clear that GM has created a product with a major defect and horrible track record. They have made no effort to rectify the situation and are trying to pass the cost of repairs on to their consumers. Although the NHTSA has launched an investigation as well as the N.C.C.C. all Saturn owners who have been forced to unfairly pay should contact their Attorney General and file a complaint with the NHTSA. I can't imagine how many other people paid to fix their cars and aren't aware of how widespread this problem really is.

17th Mar 2006, 07:41

Just to let you know, GM built your car. GMAC is a financial company that deals in mortgages.

16th May 2006, 12:48

I thought when I bought a Saturn (2000 L- Series) that I was purchasing a quality vehicle with a known safety and maintenance track record for good performance. After reading all the comments above I am not of the same opinion. I too just had the same experience with my timing chain breaking. At present, the estimate is $3,200. I too have made sure that my oil was changed at regular intervals, i.e., every 3000 miles. I called Saturn Customer Service in Tenn. to complain and point out that there are open cases on this issue that are still pending with the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) (PE06-006 and DP05-008). They gave me the company line and offered to give me $1500 toward the purchase of a new Saturn. I am sure this is after I pay the repair bill and I am sure that my trade-in would not be worth much. I would recommend that EVERYONE on this site who has had this problem take the time to register their information with NHTSA. To say this is not a safety issue is NOT accurate. I was traveling in the middle lane of a VERY busy highway when this occurred. I was extremely fortunate to get to the side of the road before being rear-ended or run over by the Semis that were on the road at that time.

21st May 2006, 11:51

My Saturn Ls1 just broke down on me leaving me on the side of the road as well. To my dismay about 30 seconds before the service engine soon light came on. Then no power in the middle lane of 1-15. This resulted in a car accident. Being my fault the police said to be driving a faulty vehicle. Thanks Saturn now I am left without a car and so is the other driver that hit me @ 70 mph. When my car was taken to the dealer for inspection it was found that my timing chain had broken causing my engine to seize. I bought my car used and have only had my car a year and it has 83000 miles on it. To my dismay I am now stuck with a car payment and 20 miles from my job and no car.