25th May 2006, 21:48

I have a 2000 Saturn LS V6. 52,000 miles on it and have put more than $1,000 in engine repairs. It regularly will not start on a warm day after a short trip - must let it cool down for 15 minutes. VERY disappointed in this car and company in general. Have always bought American cars to this point, but doubtful from here on out.

9th Jun 2006, 12:40

I purchased a 2001 Saturn L-200 over a year ago with 28,000 miles and had warranty until 36,000 miles. Car has 56,000 miles now and timing chain broke. Will cost about $3000 to fix. I see that the NHTSA investigated this issue and closed the case. They only had 10 complaints on this issue. Looking at some of the other forums I see that there are quite a bit more than only 10 people with this issue. If everyone would file a complaint then they would have to re visit this issue. Even if you already had your car fixed you would be due a refund from Saturn for the repair costs. I am confident that this is an issue that can be resolved by the NHTSA. If anyone needs to know were to file the complaint, e-mail me at bklos3116@sbcglobal.net.

15th Jul 2006, 08:24

Put me on the list. 2001 4 cyl driving up the highway from Toledo to Detroit and it died, left lane 70mph. Had to drift 3 lanes, up a ramp, and around a corner to get out of the way. Got lucky, no one was hurt. Just got the call from the repair shop. The timing chain has gone of course, got the line that I would be looking at 2-3K dollars because of potential damage to valves. Anyone interested in a class action stick me on the list.

18th Jul 2006, 17:39

Oh how I wish I had found this site before I bought my Saturn. Yesterday, while driving on a busy toll road through the Chicago-land area, my car ceased running. Fortunately, I was in the right lane traveling about 55-60 miles per hour, so I had plenty of coasting speed to get to a safe location on the side of the road. The crazy thing is that there was no warning whatsoever that anything was wrong with my engine.

Not being from Illinois, I was at the mercy of the yellow pages and a very nice tow truck driver and was able to get my car to a Firestone dealer in the southwest suburbs.

Now, I'm not sure if it was the 95 degree heat or the mechanics diagnosis that nearly gave me a stroke. But like most of the prior postings here I too, have fatal engine damage. The replacement of the engine is more than I can afford, and will have to beg - borrow - and steal to get the money to fix it, but I gave the approval to the Firestone manager especially after I got the word from Saturn that they would do the work for twice the price.

Something has got to be done about this problem, no doubt Saturn has known about it for quite some time and yet has done nothing. I shutter at the thought that 5 minutes earlier my situation could have been deadly going through Chicago-land Construction Zones. Why haven't they recalled this car... Why hasn't a class action lawsuit been filed yet... Why do we have to wait for someone to die (if they haven't already) before Saturn will take action? Simple questions, where are the answers?

19th Jul 2006, 16:19

I also am in the same situation as all of you. I called the NHTSA today and there is a current investigation going on. EVERYONE needs to call and make a complaint!

21st Jul 2006, 12:45

Well, there is no point in going into details about what happened. It is the same story. Saturn 2001 L200. I am pricing a new engine at this point.

"Bad Saturn---Bad!!!"

23rd Jul 2006, 14:33

Well, I would like to introduce myself! I am a new member of the Saturn Community of Timing Chain Failure survivors as well.

My timing chain went out on a 2002 L200 on July 1, 2006, 20 miles from any civilization in 104 degree temperatures while driving 65 MPH on the freeway through the Oregon desert. (Now, that was fun!!) When I contacted the Saturn Corporation, they denied knowing about the NHTSA's investigation and gave the standard reply, "poor maintenance". The dealership also denied knowing of the NHTSA's investigation, but when I handed the service manager a copy his response was "well, 412,000 failures aren't very many compared to the total production of cars." I guess he forgot to do his research since the top production of Saturn's was 300,000 per year in their peak.

I contacted the NHTSA, FTC, Attorney General, news organizations, and Consumer Reports. I also am passing out flyers to the public warning them of the dangers. I have also contacted a Consumer Protection Attorney in my city.

Like the service manager commented "Saturn isn't going to do anything about this unless there's a recall."

Everyone pass the word STOP SATURN! (I too was in the Saturn "cult" of believers. No longer.) I got rid of my Satan and bought a 2006 Honda Accord. Got a great deal if anyone is considering a change!)

23rd Jul 2006, 16:20

Most of the posting have been about the timing belt. I have been very fortunate in this regard so far.

I have a an '01 L200 and Lw200. The Lw200 has a problem starting and then dying though. I believe the Security light, Air Bag light, and Service light all coming on at different times may be involved with this problem as well. Has anyone had any similar problems such as this?

I am hesitant to go to the dealer because of the problems I have had in the past with the service department. Twice they actually blamed problems on rats eating parts of my car. Yes, they actually told me that rats were eating parts of my car. Unbelievable.


25th Jul 2006, 12:39

No. This issue is with broken timing CHAINS, Brad, not belts. The timing belt on the V6 model is not affected.

Strange as it sounds, rodents are occassionally responsible for damaging parts in cars. It's hard to separate them from the rats at the dealer, though.

25th Jul 2006, 12:40

I should have also mentioned: the BCM is likely responsible for the problems you are experiencing. Check this forum for others that have had this problem. It will run about ~$400 installed.

28th Jul 2006, 14:24

**I should have also mentioned: the BCM is likely responsible for the problems you are experiencing.

I am experiencing the same indicator lights issue on my 1998 Saturn LS. What is the BCM?

21st Aug 2006, 12:19

2001 L-200 (L stands for loser)

BCM and timing chain, waiting on diagnosis for head and valves. I see where Saturn is maintaining their cash flow and not addressing the problem.

Bottom line, they can get my repair $$$'s (shame on them) but they can't have my next car $$$'s (shame on me if I try Saturn again...)

22nd Aug 2006, 07:48

BCM is the body control module. It's basically the computer that controls many of the electronic functions on the car. When it goes, lots of crazy things can happen, from erratic horn honking to erronious odometer readings to possessed door lock actuators. It's behind the pass. side dashboard and relatively easy to replace, but it must be flashed (software installed) by the dealer.