2001 Saturn SC Reviews - Page 4 of 6

2001 Saturn SC SC2 1.9L from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance18210 miles

Summary:

Affordable performance with style to spare

Faults:

The one and only thing that has gone wrong is it not starting in the dead of winter the morning after a car wash and sitting all night. Throw in a bottle of HEET water remover and that is no longer a problem.

Some may say the suspension is too stiff. Well, this is a sporty car, not a luxury sedan. The suspension is stiff for a reason; cornering and handling. The stiffer the suspension, the less body roll when cornering; i.e. you won't be seeing this coupe on two wheels.

General Comments:

Welcome to the best naturally aspirated 4-cylinder engine of the 90s. Fantastic low end torque gets you quick off the line and really picks up after 4000 rpms. Replaced by the more versatile Ecotec engine in the ION, I'm sorry to see it go.

Inside and out, this car screams style. The sleek, dent resistant body gives an aggressive stance and the engine and powertrain don't disappoint. Nothing beats the satisfying growl of the engine under heavy acceleration, unless the intake is replaced with a short ram configuration. The interior provides comfortable seats and a comprehendable console interface.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th December, 2003

2001 Saturn SC SC1 4 cylinder. from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder. Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance47000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Great service at dealer, not a bad car overall

Faults:

About 20,000 miles, the security system went ballistic-trunk popping open down the road, horn honking by itself, lights flashing, etc. Dealer replaced (under warranty).

Front rotors are in constant need of repair/replace. Have had car in shop 3-4 times to have re-cut/replaced rotors. Unfortunately, this is not under warranty, but should be.

General Comments:

I love my Saturn, but it's definitely not a practical family car.

The seats in front are uncomforatable, but not half as uncomfortable as the back seats which have next to no leg room.

On the brighter side, it has 7 cupholders.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd October, 2003

8th Mar 2005, 16:48

My 2000 SL2 has 217,000 and gets 39 to 40 MPG on the highway! I drove from Michigan to Florida and back and it took 77 gallons to go 3,000 miles round trip (filled up 9 times, several of which at 1/4 tank). That included stop and go driving to and from Daytona Speedway for the Daytona 500 race.

I've easily gotten over 400 highway miles on a tank of gas with my SL2 (same engine as the SC2). I've gotten 425 miles several times before the "low gas" light comes on with 1.5 gallons left. I believe low gas light is designed to come on with 1.5 gallons left, which it does. If I fill up just after the light comes on, I fill up with 10.5 gallons.

I would not recommend making it a habit to run the tank near empty. Crap that collects in the tank and clog the fuel filter. Also, I'm told it's not good for the injectors to run the tank empty. They don't like to suck air. Might wear out the fuel pump too. Overall the best car I've ever had.

I am going to test drive a 2002 SC2 that's loaded with leather and sunroof. I hope I get financing that day and can drive it home the same day.

Saturns rule!

2001 Saturn SC -2 1.9 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carSaturn SC

Summary:

3-Door Coupe

Faults:

Sunroof has locked into place, dealer has no idea why, unlocks after a few hours.

Power window switch will not run the drivers door toll window.

Clutch needs to be replaced, I think that's due to my wife.

Front rotors need to be replaced.

Exhaust muffler has rusted, the pipe looks new, but the muffler looks like it came off a '55 chevy.

The head gasket was replaced at 30000.

Front end is out of balance.

General Comments:

Overall the Saturn team did a good job on this car, I am not pleased about a 4cyl. when a 6cyl was used in another model. They should have put that motor in the "sports model"

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th August, 2003

4th Sep 2004, 20:47

Saturn didn't come out with a V6 till 2002 in th ION models. So do some research and teach your wife to drive a 5 speed right before complaining??

12th Aug 2005, 01:12

Ion's have never came with a V6 EVER.

Maybe the L-Series, but not the Ions!

And it's not their fault their wife might have caused them to get a new clutch; a car usually gets a new clutch once in a life time??

10th Aug 2006, 12:19

One word WOW, Saturn defintly didn't have a V-6 Until the production of the L-Series and the Vue, these are the only two cars that use the V-6 engine. The Ion and the S-Series were compact cars they didn't need a V-6. Infact the L-Series even comes in a 4 cylinder with the V-6 as an option.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 22 reviews