1995 Saturn SL 1.9 Liter from North America


My Saturn has the best value, reliability, and customer service on the road.


The battery fails (and needs replacing) about once every 2 years.

At 115,000 miles, the alternator went out. Cost about $250 to replace.

The brakes needed replacing at 150,000.

The alternator locked up around 200,000 miles which caused the belt to be replaced as well.

At 205,000 miles, the starter went out.

At 212,000 miles, the radiator and water pump both developed significant leaks.

At 215,000 miles, 2 valve seals needed to be replaced, and the catalytic converter broke down.

Within 3 weeks of replacing the valve seals, one of the valve rocker arm shafts broke in two places.

General Comments:

This car was bought over 8 years ago and, after more than 215,000 miles, I have had only a few problems.

It is amazing that only recently has it become unreliable when I am such a poor caretaker of general maintenance such as oil changes and other servicing.

The car originally got about 38 mpg and, after recent work, it still gets up to 35 mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2003

26th Jan 2004, 13:56

I agree. My Saturn has been unbelievably cost effective and reliable well into the 100,000 mile range. Obviously, a car with over 200,000 miles is going to require maintenance.

4th Aug 2006, 18:20

It is a nice car. The gas mileage is great: 30 to 35 mpg. It burns up oil at a fast rate. The interior parts and the console will usually start to rattle. Nice interoir. Great color selection and variety.

1995 Saturn SL SL2 from North America


Excellent vehicle all around



General Comments:

Excellent vehicle. Very reliable. A little small for me, but I'm huge. Great mileage. Good performance, great transmission. Good looking car. Interior fully functional, very durable.

No maintenance for year we owned it. Worry-free transportation.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st January, 2003

1995 Saturn SL SL2 Coupe 1.9L from North America


A great first car


My Saturn SL2 coupe was a great car, but some things troubled me at times. The sunroof started to leak as soon as I purchased the car. My front defrosters did not work very well. Having a standard, the R.P.M.'s began to idle below 1 thousand which led me to purchasing a new alternator. As soon as I got it I had to replace the clutch.

General Comments:

I would definitely recommend this car to anyone interested. It has good gas mileage and handles very well. It is easy on bumps and does not handle roughly, being a standard. The seats are very comfortable, but the people who sat in the back complained that it was very small. For a backseat, it has very little legroom. the trunk was really big and spacious. I love this car and I think everyone should experience driving one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2002

2nd Mar 2009, 22:15

Well for one, the car should idle around 800 rpms.

Other than that, great review on your Saturn. I love mine too, but have never had a lot of the problems other people have; just the oil consumption.

Happy driving, and remember it's different in a Saturn.

1995 Saturn SL SL2 2 Liter DOHC from North America


Excellent choice for American made vehicle compared against corolla and civic


Windshield has become very pitted.

Started out burning a quart every 3000 miles and now burns a quart every 300.

Driver door seal leaks a little water.

Roof is rusting around windshield.

Radio buzzes during wet weather, is a design flaw, but addressed using special plugs? Except after you have the plugs changed or change them yourself. Salesman claimed radio design flaw, but later (year later), Saturn change the plugs or wires.

Belt squeals. Dealer claims to have addressed, after a few thousand miles its squealing again.

General Comments:

For 14,000, I purchased a reliable and cheap to own vehicle. Options? Aluminum wheels, AC and premium stereo.


Much more road noise than civic and corolla.

Seats are a notch below competition, and not really great for long trips.

Engine is very noisy when accelerating.

Burns tons of oil which is common for Saturns. Apparently Saturn has a service note out that claims 1 quart per 2000 miles is normal. My guess is that this means 1 quart per 1000 miles is in the range of normal given that they are probably trying to damage control the oil burning saga. I am seeing 1 quart every 300 and wisps of smoke now at almost 160000 miles.


For the money, the car has been awesome. $14000 for 160000 miles and the Saturn has never stranded me! Too bad the engine is going, I doubt its going to be worth the money to put in a new one or rebuild it.

I have put very little money into the car, it still has original struts, the original exhaust. The only dealer services I performed were at 30K and 120K.

Gas mileage is over 33 although I drive mostly highway.

The stereo system is great.

Handling is very decent, (low body roll) and acceleration is very nice for an inexpensive car (this is the SL2).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th September, 2002