1995 Saturn SL 2 1.9 dual cam from North America

Summary:

Hard to get parts for

Faults:

I've had to put a ton of money into this car and parts are tough to find.

Both control arms with ball joints.

Outer tie rods.

Both CV axles.

Front pads and rotors.

Crankcase breather hose.

Rear wheel bearing.

Headliner was redone by me.

Serpentine belt.

Radio and speakers. It's a 95 so not a shock.

Transmission lines, which then broke off into the radiator. So radiator was also replaced.

Brake lines.

Muffler and rear muffler clamp hanger.

Interior light replaced; old one had tabs snapped off.

Previous owner did k frame rear drums with shoes and hardware, master cylinder and flex pipe. He says he did front press in bearings - who knows.

I still need struts all the way around and valve cover leaks.

The car leaks when it rains. Window has to be "helped" when cranking down, with a crank handle.

Trunk latch broke. I replaced it and it will not stay shut no matter what I do. It is ratchet strapped from the inside now.

The car gets very hot when idling. The fan doesn't turn on until it's about to overheat. This is a typical Saturn SL2 thing.

General Comments:

This car has had a ton of work. I wish it would stop breaking. I have done more than 98% of the population would to keep this car going.

Most of these cars are gone so there's really no salvaging parts from a yard. Part stores have nothing in stock for this car. You even need to order an oil filter.

Body looks nice even for New York because they're plastic. My under body is probably the cleanest one around here which is why I bought it.

Good on gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th January, 2020

14th Jan 2020, 03:20

Did you try RockAuto.com? "All the parts your car will ever need".

15th Jan 2020, 00:22

I cut my ties to a 96 Saturn SL1 with 144k. It would make noise every time the A/C was on and in drive. I bought a brand new Mazda 6 Sport. You have to eventually bite the bullet.

I plan on driving this car til I die. The car was made in Japan; that is the gold standard.

15th Jan 2020, 22:37

Japan is the gold standard if you like rust. At least mine did anyway, at only 6 years old it started. I wouldn't bet on any Mazda lasting a lifetime.

Anyway as for the the original reviewer, any car over 20 years old is a little harder to get parts for, but as others have said, you should find online communities to help you out.

16th Jan 2020, 07:22

I would not have spent such huge money on a non classic car that is worthless. You would have been better off spending a couple of thousand bucks more for a newer car. It is also the time involved. Personally I do not like buying cheap parts and spending half my leisure time repairing old junk.

16th Jan 2020, 23:54

My other car is a 1994 Acura Integra made in Japan. 184k miles. No rust.

17th Jan 2020, 05:18

I have an old one too! 99 S Series with 218k. Amazon has parts, as well as Rock Auto. I haven't had issues finding most things close to me, and there's even some floating around in the junkyards.

17th Jan 2020, 20:42

Acura/Honda hold up a bit better :) But google Mazda rust. Seem to be a real problem for them.

1995 Saturn SL 1 1.9 SOHC from North America

Summary:

Very efficient, and even though things broke, it lasted a very long time

Faults:

Cooling sensor, water pump, thermostat, and radiator cap after 80k. Slow oil usage started also.

Starter and ignition switch after 144k.

EGR valve after 150k.

Alternator after 187k.

Clutch after 195k.

Radiator after 226k.

Oil in water at 242,888 miles.

General Comments:

Most definitely a very good economy car. There is a lot more power than my 3 speed automatic 86 Sunbird previous to this car.

This car always started right up and used a little oil, which I guess is common in Saturns. I am surprised it lasted this long, especially with all the times it overheated when it needed cooling system work after 5 years of ownership.

I was told the oil in the water issue is common also in this engine; something in the head.

I'd only recommend buying this car if you know how to check fluids and do basic maintenance by yourself; the car is pretty easy to work on with some parts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2016