2005 Saturn VUE Reviews - Page 3 of 6

2005 Saturn VUE Red Line AWD Hond V6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Hond V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired15 kilometres
Most recent distance21876 kilometres
Previous carFord Windstar

Summary:

An attractive oddball that's faster than it looks

Faults:

Ignition cylinder replaced twice. Receiver in sliding roof window mechanism replaced. Both under warranty. Rear wheel alignment is out and can only be fixed with after-market part.

General Comments:

Strong handling, Honda engine and distinct styling make this an attractive package that stands out from the crowd.

However, road noise is high and the quirky controls--designed evidently to be different rather than useful--take quite a while to learn. The on-demand AWD isn't much use in everyday driving; the lag leaves the slightly aggressive driver chirping the 18-inch low profile tires on starts and corners. But, at least, you'll be doing it from some of the more comfortable seats around.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th November, 2007

16th Sep 2011, 13:54

Updating my review at 90,000 kilometres.

The reliability issues have appeared in spades just after the warranty expired. In the past year, the rear driveline has been replaced -- a common failure of the centre bearing; main seal replaced; and now there has appeared the dreaded front-end clunk, whose source my experienced technicians can't pinpoint. Rather than start changing parts willy nilly, they advised we drive it till it gets worse. Instead, my wife is sticking to her Cayenne S and me to my Hemi Ram. It sure looks good. Hoping to trade it to a dealer who doesn't take a test drive.

9th Jul 2014, 18:19

Updating again, at 145,121 KM.

Suspension showing its age, helped along by our notoriously pot-holed roads and liberal applications of salt five months a year.

Replacements include: right front wheel bearing hub assembly, left front wheel bearing, left front drive shaft, sway bar link kit (right side). Struts and shocks are overdue for replacement.

Honda engine is running smoothly after replacing a faulty ignition coil. Not a tuneup yet, but mileage deteriorated to 16.2 litres per 100KM city driving.

When you average the ownership experience over more than nine years, not bad at all (and it still runs rings around our newest vehicle -- a 2014 Focus SE manual).

10th Jul 2014, 13:56

Apparently the reviewer found out that the trade-in value is, well, not much?

14th Jul 2014, 00:44

Test drove a Red Line a few years ago, but passed it up due to the unreliable Honda drive train. Might have bought it if it had had a more reliable American GM engine.

2005 Saturn VUE AWD V6 3.5L 250hp V6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.5L 250hp V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance18500 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

Great value, comfortable, reliable and responsive

Faults:

Within the first month, the washer fluid reservoir began leaking. It was immediately and easily replaced at the dealer.

No other problems.

General Comments:

The car is roomy, comfortable, responsive and reliable. I have the leather seats and love them.

Although my overall mileage is relatively low, I drive this car on 4 hour trips several times a year and find it very comfortable. The step in height is also low, which is a plus to me. Although I'm relatively tall for a woman, SUV's with high step in heights are a hassle in a skirt and heels.

I drove my last Saturn for 10 years and expect to do the same with this one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 2007

2005 Saturn VUE from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired250 kilometres
Most recent distance35000 kilometres

Summary:

Biggest headache I have ever had

Faults:

Engine control unit went at 10,000 kms.

Catalytic converter went at 28,000 kms.

Front strut and strut mounts went at 34,000kms.

General Comments:

Aside from the number of squeaks and weird noises - which I can live with, we have had serious issues with this vehicle. A vehicle, I point out, that has only 37,000 kilometres.

This first issue that came up was that of the engine control unit. One cold winter day, I had to have my car towed to the dealership after I tried starting it and it began spewing dark black exhaust. The vehicle was "fixed", but I was told to bring it back if it's not all better. Well, the next day it wasn't "all better", so I took it in and they replaced the engine control unit. If they knew, it wasn't really fixed, why did they send me away?

Next is the catalytic converter issue. Which, I didn't think I had to worry about until oh, I don't know, let's say 100,000 kms. Wow, was I ever wrong. At 28,000 kms, I had to have this replaced.

Finally, I say this as an ending to my story to this point, and not as a naive hope that nothing else will go wrong with this useless vehicle, we had to have the front strut and strut mounts replaced at 34,000 kms.

I cannot believe I have had this many things go wrong in the short period of time we have owned the vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th August, 2007

8th Aug 2007, 16:21

Were all those maintenance items covered by the warranty?

24th Mar 2008, 20:40

I would be interested in hearing if you had any other issues please.

I have an 05 Vue AWD V6. I had the front sway bar links and driver side upper strut replaced December 24, 2007. (61,500kms).

Now 3 months later I'm getting the same creaking sound on the passenger side and taking the truck in tomorrow night (Wed Mar 26 service).

I had to fight to get things covered as these parts are only covered to 60,000kms. I asked what the heack did I buy a bumper to bumper premium warranty for $1600 for? They covered it under their goodwill warranty..

And if they don't do that again this time, it's my last GM.

I'd like to know what you experienced with your catalytic converter too, any weird sounds or anything I could expect? I'm good on most components to 100,000k, and will sell before then if I see any signs of anything else..

Thanks!

Bill.

Cnd_polarbear@yahoo.com

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 21 reviews