2002 Seat Leon S 1.4 from UK and Ireland


A superb buy, which catches the eye


Only minor things have gone wrong. Clutch pedal a little squeaky. Following stormy conditions, the engine must have had some ingress of moisture and was very noisy for 20 minutes. The fault rectified itself and no further issues have been encountered.

General Comments:

The workmanship of the car is very good, solidly built and you feel very secure inside the cabin.

The 1.4 version which I have is a little sluggish, but still a good ride.

It handles well and very easy to control.

However, the gears feel a little notchy at times, but nothing too worrying.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 2002

2002 Seat Leon Cupra 1.8 20V turbo from UK and Ireland


Lots of car for your money, but don't expect an Audi


Upon delivery, two of the interior panels were damaged. They took 4-5 months to replace them.

The CD auto-changer rattles. The dealer has attempted to correct this, but failed. It is very annoying.

The clutch assembly was loose.

I have found numerous nuts in the car that I cannot atrtribute to anything.

General Comments:

The motorway performance is superb. Generally it a BMW beater.

Handling is average and not quite as good as a Golf, but will leave similar priced cars standing at the lights.

It appears to be generating more rattles on daily basis. I find this particularly annoying as I had my Mazda for 4 years and it never rattled once.

The standard equipment is good for the price, but the CD in the glove box is going to find its way smashed to pieces if I hear it rattle any more.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th October, 2002

14th Oct 2002, 07:55

I find putting CDs in the changer helps...

2002 Seat Leon Cupra 1.8 20VT from UK and Ireland


A high performance well kitted bargain


The horn needed replacing after 7k miles.

General Comments:

For: The Leon is basically a VW Golf/Audi A3, but it is cheaper, quicker and has more standard kit than the equivalent Golf 1.8T (I had one for a year before).

Against: The rear legroom could be slightly better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th October, 2002

2002 Seat Leon Cupra R 1.8 20 Valve turbo from UK and Ireland


0 to 60 in 6.5 seconds - say no more


Minor paint damage on delivery - corrected by the dealer.

Minor scuffs on the alloys on delivery - being replaced by the dealer.

General Comments:

Gobbles up other cars on the road. The Cupra R's performance and handling are awesome.

Amazing road presence. Prepare to get snotty looks from jealous Golf and Audi drivers. This car is a monster.

Standard seats are excellent. Don't waste your money on the Recaro option.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th October, 2002

9th Oct 2002, 11:12

What modifications have you done to it?? Because the standard Cupra R takes 7.1 to get to 60.

2nd Nov 2002, 08:25

Although the official figures are 0-60 in 7.1, a Cupra R was recently tested by "Top Gear" magazine in the UK and they recorded a time of 6.9, the same as a Civic Type R, so 6.5 isn't an outrageous claim. I want one!

2002 Seat Leon 20VT Cupra 1.8 turbo from UK and Ireland


Swift, Solid, Superb


A small piece of trim fell off. Easily fixed.

General Comments:

This is a fantastic car. The performance is amazing, it just keeps going. Not sure it needs 6 speeds though, 3/4/5 are very similar. The traction control is a little harsh.

Reliability has been excellent. I'm surprised to hear about the quality problems some others have reported, I have no such problems so far.

There are some things that annoy slightly, such as the permanently lit instrument panel (makes me think the lights are on) and the climate control (bit fiddly). The car does tend to mist up for no apparent reason too, but this can be quickly cleared by using a button on the console.

My major concern is the height of the brake pedal relative to the throttle. It is just too much of an effort to transfer from one to the other. This can make long journeys tiring, but it doesn't spoil the car too much.

Overall it gives the impression of a very solid car. Underneath it is 99% Audi. Close your eyes and you're in an A3 T Sport, but faster.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th October, 2002

12th Oct 2002, 09:05

"The car does tend to mist up for no apparent reason too"

This is the first indicator that your doors are leaking, check your carpet!

5th Nov 2002, 17:11

No sign of water ingress around the doors (or anywhere else for that matter). I just think it's a car which mists up for no good reason. A mate who had a Toledo with climate control said the same thing. I will keep an eye out, however, any sign of moisture and it's straight back to the dealer...

2nd Mar 2003, 16:54

Update - had the coil problem occur a few miles ago, but fixed promptly by the dealer. Otherwise no problems. No water, no squeaks, no hesitation, no cold starting problems, in fact just a reliable quick car.

5th Dec 2004, 14:22

Watch out for the instrument panel on the drivers door panel collapsing for no apparent reason!!!