2002 Seat Leon Reviews - Page 3 of 11

2002 Seat Leon S 1.4 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.4 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired49595 miles
Most recent distance63156 miles
Previous carFiat Brava

Summary:

Excellent value for money, and an overall cheap car to run, and impressive performance

Faults:

Leak in passenger foot well.

Horn didn't work.

Engine grinding when started.

Leak in driver's and passenger's foot well again!

General Comments:

Performs extremely well for a 1.4.

Excellent road handling, and very comfortable ride.

One of the most easiest cars I have driven.

Very impressive sound system, and engine noise, when thrashed.

Always very keen to go faster, power always there when needed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2006

2002 Seat Leon T Sport 1.8 turbo from Estonia

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired57000 kilometres
Most recent distance105000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

Happy with my car and I hope my next will be Seat Leon FR

Faults:

One of the ignition coils broke down at 60 000km (37 500 miles) (It was cheap to repair, so no major faults).

The pointer of engine temperature isn't always doing its job, but most of the time it works fine.

And the drivers seat creaks silently sometimes (while accelerating or braking harder). Started to do so at 95 000km (60 000 miles).

And there is always been slight problem with rain sometimes when it rains heavily water might come in through the bottom of the right door (but it really have to rain heavily). Dealer service repaired it, but the fault came back after 15 000 km-s (10 000 miles).

General Comments:

I am really happy with that car, performance is seriously good, it handles great a bit soft on circuit compared to cars like Honda Civic Type-R, but it's much better on roads.

Sound system is pretty good.

TCS (traction control) is a bit too harsh.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th December, 2006

15th Apr 2007, 16:14

Could you really be happy with that many faults? I suppose so mine was far more ureliable.

2002 Seat Leon Cupra R 1.8 petrol turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol turbo Don't Know
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance37000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

The hottest hatchback in Europe

Faults:

Rear brake light failed four times: at 8,000 miles, 15,000 miles, 23,000 miles and finally at 33,000 miles.

Tailgate catch broke at 18,000 miles.

Remote locking function failed at 25,000 miles.

General Comments:

Handling and performance were both great.

Bargain price at £14,500 for the hottest hatchback in Europe.

A handful of electrical faults were the only issue with the car's quality.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2006

5th May 2006, 16:55

Found my leon r to be terribly unreliable like the dealers, the car is fast, but not very exciting to drive.

2002 Seat Leon Cupra T 1.8 turbo 20 V from UK and Ireland

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo 20 V Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 miles
Most recent distance39000 miles
Previous carCitroen Picasso

Summary:

I love this car, it is great fun to drive

Faults:

Front passenger door seal leaks water.

Water pump failed at 37000 miles.

Emission Light occasionally comes on.

General Comments:

I received this car after it had spent 2 years being a pool car within the company I work for and therefore the car had been abused by most that drove it, all 4 tyres were completely worn down to the Carcase, the brakes pads were shot, but the car started straight away and still sounded great.

Since I have been the main driver of this car I have covered approximately 18000 miles and apart from the couple problems the car has been faultless.

The car has bags of power and pulls really hard in all of the 6 gears with only the slightest amount of turbo lag.

I found the handling is good for general fast road use and doesn't roll too much and it has a very planted feel, however the steering can get a little vague at high speed.

The brakes are powerful and require a light touch when in traffic to ensure smooth stops.

The interior is nicely laid out and makes the car feel more spacious than it is.

The stereo is good quality, but I find the speed sensing automatic volume control increases at a too low road speed.

Would I buy one of these cars? : Definitely yes, even with the little niggles this is one, well made fun car!!.

Turn the traction control off and have a laugh.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2005

4th Oct 2005, 17:02

Just laugh at the cowboy dealers.

2002 Seat Leon S 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance38000 miles
Previous carFiat Bravo

Summary:

Very good value for money

Faults:

Nothing, significant, no water leaks of any kind. Seat belt on passenger side sticks sometimes which means it does not retract when the passenger un-clips it. I expect dealer to sort at next service.

General Comments:

I am very please with this car, drives and handles very well. For a 1.6 it's lively enough. Good room in back for passengers and also good for picking stuff up from the local DIY as seats fold down well for a good loading space. No major squeaks or rattles, build quality seems solid enough for the price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2005

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 38 reviews