1990 Subaru Legacy LS AWD 2.2 H4 from North America


Decent, reliable car, great in the snow


Catalytic converter broke at 155,000 miles. $150 to replace.

Front left side-marker light fell off while driving at about 160,000 miles. Dealer wanted over $100, I couldn't find any yards with them in stock, so I've just left it with a black eye.

Was stolen and when recovered the clutch was burnt up.

Also after being recovered from being stolen, engine makes more noise and oil smells like gas when I change it.

"defrost" button on climate control never worked, "defrost/heat" turns on A/C.

Check engine comes on and off for no known reason, never able to get to a shop while on, stopped caring.

General Comments:

Car is fairly quick, goes up hills easily, can travel from Seattle to Spokane without downshifting and maintaining over 75mph without re-fueling

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2005

1990 Subaru Legacy LS V4 1.8L from North America


Great Car with Great Mileage even at this age


Rotors and Brake pads were changed in 2002.

Seat-belt light on dashboard came on permanently in June 2005.

Front door lock broke in 2003.

Passenger side front power window control on driver panel stopped working in May 2004.

General Comments:

The car has great pickup. It can go from 0 to 60 in 10 seconds.

Leg room in rear seats is less.

Cloth seats are still comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st August, 2005

1990 Subaru Legacy 2.2L direct port injection from North America


My Subaru is an extremely fun vehicle, it has great performance and wonderful reliability.


After 15 years of heavy use the seats are starting to wear poorly. The side bulsters are losing their strength and the frame is starting to show through the seat.

General Comments:

With my car just turning over 190,000 miles, it runs like it is brand new. My Subaru is extremely reliable and I have no fear driving it over 80 miles per day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th June, 2005

1990 Subaru Legacy L 1.6 from North America


This car is my baby


The original CV boots were replaced after the first New England freeze.

The 5spd transmission needed replaced this summer to a tune of $1200.

The driver side door lock has been difficult to work when its warm outside.

General Comments:

This car is an absolute joy to drive. It handles so wonderfully in all weather conditions.

It might be underpowered, but is not as bad as other cars from the same model year.

The interior is spacious for a mid-size and is roomier than the newer Subaru's.

Above all the vehicle is very reliable even at 15 years of age and 104000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2005

1990 Subaru Legacy L I-4 from North America


Super reliable all wheel drive vehicle thanks Lance



Front drive axles.

Fuel injector.


The usual stuff (brakes)

Pulling hard right (suspect wife hit something)

Front seal leaks a little oil here and there (nothing to worry about)

Air conditioning doesn't work good unless you are cruising down the highway, and even then the water fro it drips in the car.

General Comments:

I bought this car from the Salvation army for $700.00 when I lived in Colorado. I had to put a new battery, front drive axles and a fuel injector in it when I got it. I also changed the plugs and all the fluids. Previous owner had replaced the belts and water pump. Since then we have taken the vehicle off-road on some #4 rated trails in the Colorado mountains and recently drove it to Florida and hit 233,00 miles. The day we rolled into Florida, the alternator died so we replaced it. The all wheel drive system is turned off for the moment, but it works great when we need it to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2004

22nd Jun 2006, 16:26

I bought a 1990 Subaru Legacy L almost exactly 1 year ago. Replaced both boots, clutch and coolant pump. It had 176,000 miles. when purchased. Now has @189,000. I get 33 mpg with mixed city/hwy driving Summer and about 7 mpg less in the winter. I have achieved 44 mpg crossing the Cascade Mountains on Highway 12 (speed limits are 50-60 mph).

Walla Walla, WA USA.

22nd Jun 2006, 21:37

I totally agree, this is a great car. My friend has one, and in spite of having over 300,000 miles on it it barely uses any oil and runs great. Fantastic traction and performance as well.