1990 Subaru Legacy RS 2.0 turbo from Australia and New Zealand


A High Performance Vehicle needing High Performance maintenance


All four front CV Joints replaced.

Lifters shifted causing a bent Valve and the Head required Bolting to fix.

Rear Suspension replaced.

Thermostat Froze and needed replacing.

A tooth in the Gearbox broke, replaced entire Gearbox.

General Comments:

This car is a great car for handling and speed.

Needs constant maintenance and tuning.

Replacement parts have to be genuine and are expensive.

The cabin itself is large for the size of the car, and well set out.

Quick off the mark and doesn't seem to die going up hills like other Japanese cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st April, 2004

18th Jun 2006, 09:23

Why do parts have to be genuine?

28th Mar 2007, 21:33

Dude it's a 10 year old awd turbo vehicle, replacing CVs is normal.

Breaking a tooth is usually caused by fatigue and in the Liberty turbo most likely caused by flat changes, replacing the gear can be done cheaper than replacing the whole gearbox.

Frozen thermostat, 10 year old car, my 16 year old civic had one replaced 2 years ago.

Rear suspension, once again original suspension is usually shot by 10 years.

I don't think its fair to bag a 10 year old turbo sedan for normal wear and tear.

Lifters shifted? More like the timing belt slipped a tooth, caused by worn out tensioners or belt not at right tension.

29th Jun 2010, 18:29

If you have normal springs etc it's time for an aftermarket set hahaha. Who wants a high car anyway?

1990 Subaru Legacy L 2.2 H 4 from North America


Great for snow!


When I first got the car it had been sitting for six months or more. So I had the timing belt and water pump replaced. Also the right C.V. joint was clicking so I head that fixed too.

General Comments:

The car is all wheel drive so it handles very well. The inside of the car is like new, with a very good, quite ride. As far as speed, this car is "way fast"!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th September, 2003

1990 Subaru Legacy Basic 2.2L from North America


The best car for your money


Struts replaced.

New Radiator installed.

Speedometer broke a little after 302,000.

Paint on trim above doors usually wears on these cars to reveal some of the chrome.

General Comments:

Great car! Motor is still running strong. Yes it is still on its original motor.

Fun to drive accelerates as well as your average new car. This car is geared pretty high. When they tested the stock legacy in 1990 they drove it 19 days straight at an average speed of 138.8 mph for more than 62,000 miles. (Validated by the Federation Internationale De L'Automobile.)

Great on gas. I have been known to get 32 miles per gallon on the freeway.

Comfortable ride. Most of my passengers fall asleep when traveling distances over 30 miles.

Air conditioning is ice cold. Even in heat over 100 degrees F, I stay cool in my car.

If you are looking for a dependable older car with minimal maintenance, I would recommend a basic model Legacy manufactured between 1990 and 1994.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2003

7th Mar 2008, 03:42

Wow...I just bought a base-model 1990 Legacy with 120k miles. Looks like I'll be keeping it for a very long time. :)

1990 Subaru Legacy LS 2.2 from North America


This is one of the best cars ever


This was a car that my parents when it was brand new, so I have almost grown up in this car.

At 50,000 miles the CV joint broke and had to be replaced, but I understand that this is common.

The clutch went last year and was replaced, as did the sunroof.

The bushings on the shifter wore out at about 140,000 miles.

Finally, just recently the Muffler began to rust off, so as the typical American Teenager, I put a Cherry Bomb on instead of the regular muffler. Is sounds great, almost like it was an old muscle car.

General Comments:

I love this car, although it is only a 2.2 liter engine it is a peppy car. On the local highway I have had it up-wards of 90 miles an hour, with no trouble at all. I felt like I could have gone a million miles an hour.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2002