1990 Subaru Legacy LS Sedan 2.2L H4 from North America


A good car from a good company


Nothing major has gone wrong with the car.

The clutch was replaced when I bought the car.

Most routine maintenance has been performed.

General Comments:

Most repairs were due to the previous owner's lack of car for the vehicle.

When I bought the car, the interior was covered in black tar from cigarettes.

The acceleration is pretty quick for a mid-size sedan.

The rngine configuration is very easy to work on. All belts and pulleys are in the front with ample space to move around.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th October, 2001

1990 Subaru Legacy RS 2.0L turbo from Australia and New Zealand


Quick bang for your buck but quicker with a few extra modifications


Surprisingly not as much as I was told about this mechanic's dream!

Fuel ignition relay problems. Wouldn't start sometimes. Was re-set for only $NZ300!! Due to the cost of using the electrical equipment to find the fault.

Wind noise through passenger window can be very annoying but can't seem to be stopped.

Fuel pump is playing up (pinking as it's known to the mechanics), due to over-boosting, need to be replaced else pistons may detonate! (mech's exact words!)

Over-boosting can be very dangerous and boost levels need to be checked after any modification.

Cam belt, spark plugs replaced. (Normal wear and tear every 100,000kms)

General Comments:

Potentially a very quick car, but requires regular attention with service and oil change to keep it running at a 100%.

Don't expect to take on VR-4's with standard modifications.

Like Cold-air duct, Group A front pipe, Exhaust, blow-off, K & N Filter etc.

But these mods are definitely recommended as the car "breathes" a lot better and you can feel the improvement in performance.

It's a good start and easy on the pocket compared to mods to many other Japanese cars.

Don't seem to be able to launch it as hard as other similar turbo cars as the gear box doesn't seem to handle it well.

It's obvious reading the other reviews' that the fuel pump needs attention.

My advise is to replace it with a after market fuel pump like a Bosch motor-sport model with a high flow filter.

Don't expect fuel consumption to come down but do expect a power increase and smoother acceleration.

Legacy RS models are renowned to be known as "thrashed" to potential buyer's and buyer beware this car is like a drug, its addictive no matter what the costs are to keep running it.

Do give the car a good working over with your current mechanic or one specialising in Subaru models before buying one, otherwise you may end up with a lemon.

Great car to modify and keep modifying till you run 0-100 in under 5 seconds.

There a few "big-time" mods which are more expensive to achieve this.

This is where the real fun begins, let's face it, you get used to the quickness of your car pretty soon and need to new buzz, to reach a new high!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th June, 2001

12th Oct 2001, 20:23

Hey there

I own the same model and was wondering what some of the 'big time' mods are that I can do to get a better performance etc. If you could please email these to me that would be great.




15th Dec 2001, 02:53

Gday mate, I just read your comments regarding your Legacy and I had a few questions. I have a 89 RS Legacy, and just today I put a 2 and a half inch Mandrel bent exhaust off the turbo, that's my first mod, and I was wondering if I was in danger of over boosting? How do you know when you are, it boosts up to 0.8 bar (12psi) then stops, I think it's hitting the boost defender, then the turbo makes a fluttering noise? What can I do to ensure nothing bad happens? And also what other mods can I do to get more performance? What should I do about the air induction? Thanx for your help.


Auckland NZ.


1990 Subaru Legacy GT S/W 2.0 turbo from Australia and New Zealand


Excellent performance and quality for the price


Clutch slip, dealer replaced at purchase.

Cam belt replaced at 65000km.

Coolant header tank replaced at 130000km, leaked.

Suspect noisy bearings in the fuel pump right now.

General Comments:

Mine was Japanese import so the initial km may be suspect, however, the car has run very well.

Fuel consumption proportional to the use of your right foot, I get 9.5l/100km with careful driving, around 12l/100km with enjoyable driving.

Car lends itself well to performance mods at a reasonable cost.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th February, 2001

1990 Subaru Legacy 2.2 from North America


Terrific car from a terrific company


Clutch has needed replacing since I bought the car nearly 2 years ago. That is the good part. In my Honda, the clutch lasted 1 week after it began to break down.

General Comments:

I am lucky to have a Subaru dealer right in town if I ever have a severe breakdown.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th December, 2000

1990 Subaru Legacy ? from North America


I love this car!


Alternator -- replaced.

Water pump leakage -- still must be replaced so I always have to keep an eye on the engine temp.

I can't honk the horn because I'll blow a fuse!

The door locks automatically lock when a person tries to open the door!

General Comments:

Although there have been quite a few things that have recently gone wrong with this car, I still love it because it is very reliable in below zero weather and also has very good all wheel drive in ice and snow.

Overall it has been a very cheap car to maintain and has withstood two collisions.

It has quick pick-up and has wonderful handling. I love this car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th August, 2000

1990 Subaru Legacy 2.2 petrol from Poland


Once you have one you'll want another, no matter what the costs are


Radiator - replaced.

Auto gearbox - replaced.

Front suspention - replaced.

Alternator - replaced.

Brakes - replaced.

And the list goes on...

General Comments:

Very good handling, sturdy automobile, servicing in Poland - complete chaos.

Extremely high prices with virtually no knowledge of the make.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th July, 2000