1994 Subaru Legacy Reviews - Page 4 of 6

1994 Subaru Legacy GT turbo from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission turbo Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 kilometres
Most recent distance138000 kilometres
Previous carFord Falcon

Summary:

Dream to drive recommend to any one any day

Faults:

After 2 weeks of having this car, I had to get the engine rebuilt due to me not warming it up long enough and several different reasons.

Transmission blew and was rebuilt 3 weeks later.

2 weeks after that a faulty torque converter was found.

1 week after that the front strut fell out due to having installed adjustable suspension which hadn't been put in correctly by mechanic.

General Comments:

The car seems to fly and handles like a dream. seems to have a lot of power under the bonnet. beats some Rex's that have been modified. The only modifications I have done to my Subaru is of course the big bore goes first you just have to love that rumble of a Subaru, and a pod filter. car seems to be running high boost at 19 or 20 psi. I am unsure y, but am loving it. very spacious and is a dream to drive. only downfall of having the Subaru is to much under the hood best let the professionals deal with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2006

1994 Subaru Legacy GT turbo petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission turbo petrol Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres
Previous carMazda Lantis

Summary:

Below average

Faults:

Radiator blew.

Fuel pump stopped working.

Still leaking anti-freeze.

Chews through the petrol.

General Comments:

This car has been serviced every six months, to keep the mechanical warranty valid.

I am so disappointed in this car. However it is very comfortable and it suits my family, with all the space.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd September, 2005

1994 Subaru Legacy GT 2.0 Twin turbo from Japan

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Twin turbo Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired59000 kilometres
Most recent distance80000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Mark II

Summary:

Beautiful cruising car

Faults:

Front brake pads had to be changed. Extensive oil leaks in the engine had to be fixed which cost a lot of money.

Drivers door skin loose and rattled a lot.

Air flow sensor-VERY expensive.

General Comments:

An absolutely great car to drive! It really was nice and a great cruiser. Performance was OK, but these are not light cars so there was some sluggishness. Great for over-taking and highway driving, but not so great for heavy city driving. The biggest thing for me was the fuel consumption- terrible. It was hard to enjoy the car when you are constantly checking the fuel level. Also the fuel tank was too small for long trips, max distance was only 300km. Maintenance was very expensive as subaru's are hard to work on. I loved driving my car, but would not get another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th July, 2005

1994 Subaru Legacy GT 2.0 Twin turbo from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Twin turbo Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 kilometres
Most recent distance99000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Impreza

Summary:

2 fast 2 sexy and very aggressive

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this except for the after market add-ons, part of my body kit broke when I didn't negotiate a road hump.

General Comments:

This car looks good and kicks serious ass with its take off. Subaru's are great cars they have great handling and loads of power on demand. The driving experience is awesome anyone would want to take the long route home to spent more time in the car, or take the car for a cruise through a crowded city area just to show off.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2005

1994 Subaru Legacy GT 2.2 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 kilometres
Most recent distance165000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Good.Fast.Reliable

Faults:

My Alternator broke at 120000km.

Oil leak at front.

Gas leak from the injection pipe.

General Comments:

Does not look as fast as it is. Great look.Very fast acceleration.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2005

21st May 2009, 14:20

I have owned over 20 Subarus to date, and the 91-94 first generation turbo legacys are my favorite. I have owned two 94 Touring wagons both white, and a 93 SS in silver. They are sneaky fast and a joy to drive. As with anything, keep your oil changed and use Synthetic with a turbo and this car will last a lifetime. The engine will, the body usually succumbs to rust especially in the colder climates.

1994 Subaru Legacy RS 2.0 lt twin turbo boxer from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 lt twin turbo boxer Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired103000 kilometres
Most recent distance106000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Mirage

Summary:

A few mods and she'll be threatening

Faults:

Both rocker covers leaking.

L/h steering rack boot split.

2nd stage turbo needs replacement.

General Comments:

Very powerful car that packs a lot of punch right from the word go. Even though the second turbo is suffering from wear and tear do not under estimate its will for leaving you breathless.

Handles like a dream around corners and even more breath taking at higher speeds. Has been lowered for more extra grip.

With a 2.5 exhaust as suggested from a previous review, she will have you panting for more as she roars better then she bites.

Looking very forward to replacing 2nd turbo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2004

31st Jul 2004, 04:33

I can only sit and nod in agreement - I drive one myself and just you wait until you've got the second turbo in... panting is not the issue - the problem is getting your breath back at all and stopping your whole body from trembling - not only the sound, but the sheer feel of the car is absolutely brilliant... I couldn't have asked for a better car.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 27 reviews