2000 Toyota 4Runner Reviews

2000 Toyota 4Runner Limited V6 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance165000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

This is a very dependable vehicle if maintained properly

Faults:

I had to replace the O2 sensor once, but no problems other than that. This is a very dependable vehicle. The only thing that I can't stand is the small gas tank (because I drive between 400 & 500 miles per week) and have to stop so frequently.

General Comments:

It gets 18 mpg even with over-sized tires (22mpg with standard size tires) and a safari-style roof rack that is not very aero-dynamic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2008

2000 Toyota 4Runner SR5 V6 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired39000 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

Good MPG, but not reliable for my family

Faults:

2 starters.

Wheel bearing.

Inner fender falling out.

Moonroof leaking.

Transmission quit shifting.

Ignition key quit engaging.

Radio started turning on full volume on its own to static.

General Comments:

This is one of the worst vehicles I have ever owned. I have a Dodge Durango that I have had for nearly 7 years, and it is by far superior to the 4runner.

The engine is weak, it cannot tow, it is uncomfortable and is extremely unreliable. Toyota has marketed their image of reliability, not earned it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th February, 2008

23rd Nov 2009, 15:26

Sorry to hear that your 4Runner did not stand up to its expectations. I noticed that you purchased the vehicle used, perhaps some more investigation about it would have helped or professional inspection help before buying it. How much did you pay for the "lemon"?

I purchased my 2K 4Runner Limited also in 2005. It had its fair list of details, but $500.00 fixed them all, including oil change.

You should always set aside a fair amount of money when buying used. I paid $9K for mine and added another $500.00. Well, actually $700.00 if I include the radio (I wanted MP3 and the factory radio did not have it). Ever since then mine runs like a Swiss clock, just regular maintenance. I'd buy another one without thinking twice!

2000 Toyota 4Runner SR5 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired117 miles
Most recent distance120 miles
Previous carFord Ford Explorer Sport

Summary:

Great

Faults:

Noticed extreme vibrations and a slight grinding noise, after reading many reviews this seems to be due to the rotors needing turned and possibly tires balanced. Over torque lug nuts seem to be the cause of a sporadic popping noise when making turns and the vibrations as well.

Second owner, purchased from a dealership, supposedly a bank-repo. Afraid it might have front end damage though?

General Comments:

Love this vehicle, handles well, looks chic, gets noticed everywhere.

Just concerned about this front end noise!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 2007

31st Jul 2008, 17:54

I have the same random popping noise, I'll check the lug nuts. Thanks for posting!

16th Sep 2008, 00:24

I'm getting the vibrations under my feet sometimes while I'm driving. My mechanic can't find anything out of place underneath the vehicle. Do you think it's the rotors?

31st Aug 2011, 11:03

I was at a mechanic one time, and he showed me a late model Toyota Landcruiser where the front passenger wheel fell off unexpectedly.. can't remember the details though :\ I wonder whether they use the same parts on the 4 runner wheels?

16th Dec 2012, 07:11

Extreme vibration can possibly be addressed by having the u-joints checked out at the front and back locations of the drive train. Have the tie rod ends inspected on the front end suspension for the cause of the vibration/noise.

16th Dec 2012, 20:21

I disagree with both of you. Sounds like applying the brakes, you are hearing a grinding noise, which indicates the brakes are totally worn down. Also, the rotors could be warped by over zealous tightening with an air impact. It's possible the rotors will need to be turned if the brakes were worn all the way down as well. I own domestics, but it's my opinion that it's warped rotors and worn out brakes... Check it out.

2000 Toyota 4Runner SR5 3.4L from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.4L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired13600 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

The 2000 Toyota 4Runner is a reliable, dependable, and fun vehicle to own and drive

Faults:

Warped front brake rotors (replaced by dealer under warranty @ 20,000 miles)

Fuel gauge sending unit (replaced by dealer under warranty @ 30,000 miles)

General Comments:

As with every Toyota I've owned (4 others), I expect to still be driving it beyond 200,000 with having to perform nothing more than preventive maintenance. The vehicle rides and is as reliable at 100,000 miles as it was when new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2006

26th Oct 2006, 14:38

Does anyone know what causes warped rotors? I just bought a 2000 SR5 and saw this issue in the service records from about 4 years ago. Thanks.

27th Oct 2006, 15:33

I've been told that if you've been on the brakes hard, or often, and then you hit a puddle big enough to wet the rotors, that the cold water hitting hot rotors will warp them. I try to avoid doing this, and I almost never have to change rotors.

4th Jun 2007, 07:11

It seems to be a common problem with Toyotas from 1999-2000. I have a corolla which ate rotors at 25K miles! Repalced them with BREMBO rototrs and never felt better. Crappy material used by Toyotas supplier... I guess...

31st Aug 2011, 11:07

When I drove taxis I was told not to hold the brakes on after braking hard - I guess the pads interfere with the heat-sink effect on one side of the rotor when stationary and engaged?

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 7 reviews