Toyota Altezza Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1999 Toyota Altezza RS200 2.0 N/A from Thailand

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 N/A Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 kilometres
Most recent distance36000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Appearance is very appealing and proud to be its owner!

Faults:

None at all. Car is well built and all intact despite its age.

General Comments:

Very appealing outside appearance. Fully-equipped with TCS, sunroof, gear-shifter on the steering wheel, std 17" rims, rear-tinted glass... performance is OKay, not as expected from its spec of 200hp due to its semi-auto transimission. Would have been a better match had it been matched with a manual shifter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2005

29th Feb 2008, 15:34

We have one of these too, and totally agree with the reliability and the looks. Also agree with the performance deficit. We have the 200bhp model with tiptronic transmission and the trans is a dog that completely ruins the engines performance. It causes dangerous hesitations in power delivery and hunts around for gears constantly. Totally useless. Avoid the auto like the plague and get a 6 speed manual.

28th Nov 2008, 01:07

I have the 5 speed auto too, and was initially disappointed with the performance, but if you select manual mode with TCS off and use the 5000-7000rpm power band this car is a delight. I bought mine last year with a 5 year, unlimited mileage warranty and it hasn't missed a beat. if you know how to drive it, it's a real wolf in sheep's clothing!

22nd Sep 2009, 16:37

I have owned several other cars and enjoy my RS200, I share the pain of those with an automatic but have a 6 forward manual, the car is a pleasure to drive and is more economical than my SUV equipped with a QR20 engine.

Acceleration leaves a little to be desired but once the TRC is off and you run up the RPM the launch is exciting, the car is to factory specs and with the speed cut limiter I have gotten speeds in excess of 220km.

I will not sell unless I can find something similar, the body shape and interior is in great condition this car has 120k on it and gets more looks than the BMW.

18th Jul 2010, 08:44

How do you turn off TRC on an Altezza?

31st Aug 2010, 06:45

Mine came on when I reversed backward quite a long way. I drove it for a few days and clicked the TRC button a few times. I think I was reversing again and it came off instantly. Hasn't come back on since... It's been a few months now, so I'm guessing it was nothing major. Hope your one works.

1999 Toyota Altezza RS200Z 2.0 Litre N/A from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Litre N/A Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 kilometres
Most recent distance72000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Legend

Summary:

A real stylish Toy

Faults:

Factory wheel camber needs adjusting (wheel alingment) in order to reduce excessive tyre wear.

General Comments:

The VVT-i from Toyota gives you the needed boost at high end, much like a VTEC Honda. Quick and luxurious, great 4 door car with space and style.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th February, 2004

3rd Dec 2005, 20:42

Just bought an Altezza last week. A 2000, 6 speed manual with beams engine. Very impressed with the whole package of the car, handling and brakes keep up with what the engine is capable of. Was wondering if any after market turbo or supercharger kits are available for this vehicle in NZ.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 7 reviews