Toyota Altezza Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2001 Toyota Altezza RS200Z 2.0 I4 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.0 I4 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.7 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 kilometres
Most recent distance68000 kilometres
Previous carAudi A3

Summary:

Great car and good quality. It's not a rocket ship (stock), but it's well worth the bucks!

Faults:

One sparky, and that's it.

General Comments:

All round good runner. I had this car after my Audi A3, which was too small for me, and the car before was an Accord euro.

Although the car is 5 years older than the first Accord Euros, I think it holds itself really good compared to the Euro. It's not as fuel efficient as the Accord Euro, not as smooth or comfy, but something with its handling and RWD just makes me wanting to have this car more and more.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2010

1999 Toyota Altezza RS200 2.0 4 cylinder petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 4 cylinder petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired102000 kilometres
Most recent distance152000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Integra

Summary:

Reliable real wheel drive fun

Faults:

Diff seal started leaking, minor fix at the dealer.

CD stacker jammed - very common fault with these cars.

General Comments:

Great car, extremely reliable and great on fuel for the performance offered.

Probably a nicer car to drive as an automatic, but over to personal choice.

Big boot, looks great even as a 12 year old shape, and now great value for money.

Don't buy a Camry or even a Corolla sedan, get one of these.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2010

6th Mar 2010, 01:05

Agree with the fact that they look great for a 10 year old car. That's about it. We had an AS200 auto. The performance was poor, the auto was hopeless... It really did look good though. Oh we had the CD problem too and a rear suspension bush failure. 1800 dollars to fix that... not the cheap and reliable Toyota of old that's for sure.

17th Apr 2011, 10:38

I hear the RS200 is slow, but is 0-100kph in 7.5sec slow? I reckon it ain't too bad.

Another thing is the fuel consumption, I hear it's horrible, how many km's do you get per litre when driving normally? Can this car be used on a day to day basis?

5th Jul 2012, 23:10

It is fine if you take traction control off, hold the revs up, let out the clutch, and kane it to near the red line. But it's when you drive it more normally that you see how the performance in these is lacking.

5th Jul 2012, 23:16

Oh, and the fuel economy of my 6 speed RS200 was 11-11.5L per 100km city driving (mainly to and from work), so not good at all really.

16th Jul 2012, 21:58

I have a manual 2000 Altezza. Full tank is 60L. Fuel warning light comes on at 50L @ 500km. This is mixed driving. Highway driving without speeding will give you 550km - 600km on 50L.

Only problem I've encountered so far is the stuck CD changer, and the throttle body needs to be cleaned every 10k km. Otherwise, it's a solidly built car. 12 years old, no sound coming from the outside. Only a small cricket living in the air conditioning. But at this age, what is there to complain about?

2000 Toyota Altezza RS200 2.0 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Caldina

Summary:

Toyota's BMW. Next time I'll get a BMW

Faults:

Ball joints worn at 90k.

A/C failed at 110k.

Rear shocks failed at 114k.

Rear suspension bushes failed at 114k, requiring whole lower suspension A arms to be replaced.

Moisture in both headlights at 120k.

Fuel gauge only ever worked intermittently.

Gloss black paintwork started to self destruct at 110k; oxidation and flaking.

General Comments:

Brought the car for two reasons. It looked fantastic in gloss black with 18inch telephone dial alloys, great japanese interpretation of a 3 series BMW. The second reason was that it was by Toyota, so I expected reliability and reasonable running costs.

Good bits:

It looked great, and was admired by many out and about.

Front seats were comfortable and supportive, steering had a nice meaty sports feel and it handled well.

Great factory sound system too, with sat nav capability.

It was a good size too, not massive and bloated like many modern cars, so parking was easy.

Bad bits:

Performance from the Yamaha Beams engine was peaky, so the car was lethargic under the variable valve timing threshold. To make matters worse, the 5 speed tiptronic gearbox was total garbage. In auto it constantly shuffled around gears, and if it needed to downshift a couple of ratios, it would take an age to do so, leaving a few seconds of no acceleration at the most inconvenient times. Overtaking required shifting manually, and the spacing of the gear ratios meant having to upshift in the middle of an overtaking maneuver. If there were four people aboard, you just wouldn't bother as the car was just too heavy. The engine ran on premium fuel, and was extremely uneconomical for a 2.0L 4cyl car.

The cost of the suspension parts were eye watering.

Servicing itself was affordable, but if anything other than belts, plugs or filters was needed, it was expensive.

Fit and finish of the dashboard was not good enough for a premium car of the post 2000 era, and when we sold it at 120k the paint was deteriorating, there were trim rattles, and the seat fabric was wearing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2008

19th Oct 2008, 01:17

Sounds like this person brought a LEMON! I have sold 100's of these things, and never had one back with a problem! Sell BMW's as well and many come back with issues.

15th Jun 2009, 02:12

Hi!

I live in Japan and have owned my 1999 model Altezza RS200 Z for nearly 4 years and have not had a problem with it. I absolutely love my car. Looks great and has reasonable performance.

However the car has currently done less than 60,000km, so perhaps some of the problems you mentioned could occur later...

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 7 reviews