1987 Toyota Camry LE 2.0 16v from North America


You get what you pay for when you only pay $400


Lots of suspension, tire, and brake problems.

Water pump.


Freeze plug.


General Comments:

I bought the thing for $400 after my Escort of 8 years threw a rod. The car runs and drives good, despite the issues with the suspension, going through tires, and the brake problems. It costs way more than the car is worth to fix, so I'm just going to let it drive until it gives out.

It eats a little oil between long trips (example: from Los Angeles to Las Vegas).

I have had to put a lot of tires on it.

Oh, and pretty much the whole cooling system has been repaired by yours truly.

The one good thing I can say about the car is it has always started no matter what. Something my Ford prior to this car could not accomplish.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th September, 2013

20th Sep 2013, 07:11

Less than 14K miles and you "have had to put a lot of tires on it"?

Do you use "preowned" tires also?

20th Sep 2013, 09:16

Maybe 4 is "a lot?"

20th Sep 2013, 13:00

Sounds like the car is badly out of alignment. If you haven't had an alignment, it might be worth taking it in and having someone take a look.

13th Jun 2015, 01:58

You can not expect a motor vehicle of 26 years old to drive you about like a new vehicle; you have to spend money on it, like replace parts that the previous owners never did.

Mine has costs me 2,800 so far, and that is not allowing for new tires - four Bridgestones, $225 on a buy four and pay for three.

I wish I'd never started spending any money on it, as my Daewoo Espero 1996 is far bigger to sit in and drives better. Less trouble. Also the Daewoo is an auto, so no clutch problems.

Maintain your vehicle and it will do you well. I bought this Camry as parts should be cheaper; not in Victoria Australia, where every man and his dog is robbing the next person who needs help.


13th Jun 2015, 21:17

I put new tires on my vehicles by age, not by miles. I just put a new set of Michelins on my truck that had only 8000 miles on them in 6 years. Dry rot was evident. That's dangerous.

1987 Toyota Camry Station Wagon 2.0 liter 4 from North America


Useful and quite reliable


I replaced the timing belt, front axles and bearings. Radiator, front brakes.

I should have replaced the struts, shocks, muffler and oil pan. It needs all these and a clutch. I am done with it.

General Comments:

Reliable, efficient, comfortable for me, but not my wife. I bought the car for $700, put almost 60,000 miles on it, probably put $250 worth of parts into it, and 12 hours of labor. It was everything I hoped it would be.

It will be recycled next week for $180 of metal.

Averaged 29 MPG.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2012

28th Apr 2012, 13:43

You should get well over $400 for the Camry, given today's prices.

Consider offering it for $500 on Craigslist. I'm sure someone in that line of trade will pick it up. Oh, and feel free to visit The Truth About Cars whenever you like. I'm Steven Lang (Google my name and cars).

All the best!

1987 Toyota Camry CS 2.0 litre from Australia and New Zealand


Very basic, but great on fuel, and a reliable car


CV joints had to be done at 240,000 ks.

Clutch went at 280,000 ks.

Have had water pump replaced and timing belt done last week.

A few small oil leaks got fixed.

Cold start switch is waiting to be replaced.

General Comments:

A great old car. Never stops; seems to want to go forever.

It's no racing car, is strong, very basic, great on fuel.

Has no rattles, paint is poor, good shape inside. Just a great car; says a lot for the Toyota product in that day.

Keep oil, belts, and heater and radiator hoses in good shape. Look after the old thing, and it will look after you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd August, 2010