1997 Toyota Camry LE 4 cylinder from North America


Great Car! I'd like two.


The front end rattle that seems to sound like the wheels, brakes or struts are loose comes from the strut mounts. These swivels are two formed plates with bearings between that help the strut rotate when turning. I thought the struts were the problem and replaced them. One was definitely bad, but that was not the problem. I replaced the strut mounts (they are located on top of the strut prior to placing the strut in position) and the car rides quiet again.

General Comments:

This has been a great car. Routine maintenance, 5000 mile oil changes, 30000 mile transmission fluid changes seemed to be almost the only thing it needs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2005

13th Jan 2007, 20:12

I replaced the Rack and Pinion in my 1997 Camry and it eliminated the front end noise. I was told it was the Strut Mounts, but that was not the problem.

1997 Toyota Camry LE 2.2 gasoline from North America


Very reliable and fun to drive


Cracked head 48,000 - replaced by dealer for free.

General Comments:

The small 4 cylinder has lots of power and great gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 2005

1997 Toyota Camry V6 from North America


A decent car, comfortable, but has issues with oil leaks


Had an oil leak last year at about 41,000 miles.

Leather cracked on the armrest.

Has an issue with the left turn. When turning all the way to the left, the car now makes a heavy rubbing sound. It is as if the tires are rubbing on some internal instruments, because of this, I avoid turning completely left, which solves the issue.

Biggest issue has been that the oil started leaking. Had to replace a part, I think it may be the head gasket, costs $500 in replacement and repair costs. Happened at 56,000 miles.

General Comments:

The Camry is a relatively reliable ride in the beginning of its lifespan, but as you hit 50,000-60,000 miles, issues start to appear. Apparently the head gasket issue is common among 97 Camry owners.

It's got decent power on the road, the gas pedal feels very easy to step on and doesn't accelerate quickly from a light tap on the gas.

The interior has a lot of room and is very comfortable, there is also a lot of trunk space.

The only issue is with the maintenance costs, which tend to be pretty high.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st June, 2005

11th Feb 2007, 10:38

The 97 camry is a great car I have had mine 5+ yrs. it had 72000 miles on it then it now has 125000 miles. on it and has not leaked a bit of oil and doesn't burn oil either...if your having an oil problem must be do to the driving conditions the engine is under (i.e. heavy foot high revving, aggressive driving causes motors to any motor to leak from numerous places) All the camry owners I've talked with have never had that problem..

12th Sep 2007, 06:30

Only 3 out of 5 million Camrys in our market are from Japan... better buy a Honda... more likely to find a JHM honda...

1997 Toyota Camry LE 4 cylinder from North America


Good for gas, but the small things add up in costs


Valve seals had to be replaced right after purchase.

Right front speaker blew around 75,000 miles.

Material falling down from ceiling of car around 77,000 miles.

Outside drivers door handle broke completely off around 85,000 miles.

Inside drivers door handle broke at 93,335.

Material under the hood falling off at 93,400.

Also hood latch is not popping hood up and sometimes cannot be opened at 93,400.

The vehicle does not have any acceleration power on the highway.

General Comments:

Great on gas and mileage.

Lots of space for passengers.

The plastic features break easily and often.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th May, 2005

1997 Toyota Camry LE 2.2 Liter 4 cylinder from North America


Good riding and comfortable car that will not make 100k miles without an engine rebuild


During the entire life of the car, it has had a problem with oil and oil sludging in the engine. It hasn't mattered that I've changed the oil every 3,000 miles, and driven it with care. This has lead to an engine tear-down and rebuild at 94,000 miles. This came to a very expensive $2,600 from the dealership, in which was shady, deceptive dealership.

The interior has some minor quirks, like the door lock on the passenger side front door won't work unless you use the power door lock button.

The steering wheel squeaks when you turn it.

General Comments:

This car was purchased based on Toyota's reputation. This car has NOT lived up to the so-called reliability standards of Toyota.

The Camry is a comfortable car, with a very comfortable ride.

Handling is typical of a mid-size car. Capable, predictable, but I wouldn't take an off-ramp at 80.

Fuel economy is no better - if not worse - than my V6 Malibu. About 25 mpg average.

Interior room is very good, and the same goes for trunk space.

The interior is very boring.

Overall, it's a good car with substandard reliability problems.

If you really like the Camry, insist on an extended warranty and make sure the oil sludge problem is resolved, so you're not stuck with a $2,600 repair bill! Poor quality on Toyota's behalf.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th March, 2005

27th Mar 2005, 17:46

You guys over in North America get it so bad. Down here in Australia, Toyota really does live up to its reputation of superb reliability. I have two Camrys, a 1994 model which has done 116000km/72000miles and a 2002 run-out model with 28500km/17700miles, both CSI models. There have been no major problems so far. The only costs incurred are the usual oil changes plus the cost of replacing parts due to normal wear and tear. Well, our 1994 model had to have the radiator replaced, a premature timing-belt replacement (at 80000km/49700miles) and a new head-gasket due to maintanance neglect, but since then, no problems.

With regard to dealership service, I would say it has been a pretty satisfying experience thus far, at least at the particular dealership where my family gets the 2002 model serviced (although I am quite confident that this kind of service is consistent throughout Toyota Australia). The people there have been friendly and honest. They even steam-clean the engine after the servicing has been done!! I couldn't help, but think "Wow."

What are Subaru and Mazda like over where you are? I know they generally also have a good reliability reputation. I could also mention Honda, but I get the feeling after reading some of the reviews in the Honda section that at least with the Accord, there have been some quality issues over where you are; please correct me if I am mistaken about this.

I don't want to act as though I'm a guru or anything, but this is what I know and believe to be true.