1997 Toyota Camry LE 4 cylinder from North America


8 out of 10


Sway bar bushings noisy in winter cold -- replaced once.

Shocks, front & back replaced with Monroe at 120,000 & 140,000 respectively.

Two thermostat changes in an attempt to get more heat --marginally effective even with high temperature version.

General Comments:

Extremely reliable even in extreme cold.

Original clutch, brakes & muffler!

ABS has been trouble free.

Lousy headlights with combined high/low beam.

Paint is much superior to the Dodge Dakota I also run, but not as good as old Volvo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th January, 2005

1997 Toyota Camry LE 2.2 from North America


For the past 93k miles, I have not have any problems with my Camry. The only thing that died was my right headlight and stoplight. That's it for a 93k miles Camry.

General Comments:

The comfort of the ride is very high.

Its behavior on icy, wet, and snowy road is unbeatable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th January, 2005

1997 Toyota Camry CSI 2.2 petrol from Australia and New Zealand


Excellent, Great family car


Nothing major has gone wrong.

Only the CV joints needed replacing.

When we first bought it the paint was peeling, nothing major.

General Comments:

The car has been very reliable and faithful, has never missed a beat.

Only negative things are the interior is slightly boring.

Don't buy this car if you want to drive fast.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2005

1997 Toyota Camry LE from North America


A lemon among a 'recommended car'


At 72,500 miles engine blew. Perfectly maintained car with records.

At 39,000 miles valve seals had to be replaced.

At 68,000 miles valve seals had to be replaced again.

At 73,000 miles the rack and pinion steering mechanism had to be replaced.

At 44,000 miles the Air conditioning compressor, clutch and drier had to be replaced.

At 44,000 miles left front window motor had to be replaced.

General Comments:

A 'top rated' car is a lemon.

Maintenance costs are very high.

Letters and phone calls to manufacturer completely ignored.

Will never buy another Toyota.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd December, 2004

19th Aug 2005, 22:17

Is your camry the v6 version?

24th Jul 2006, 20:26

Owning a 1997 Camry CE, I can say that this is the worst performing, least reliable Camry.

25th Jul 2006, 22:51

I have had Camry's and Toyota's, for years, and we own seven as a family right now. How can any of these many things possibly have all happened to the same car?

I think you have a beef with Toyota, or you work for or are partial to another make.

1997 Toyota Camry LE 4 cylinder from North America


Just OK


Door handle broken at 100000.

Dash lights went at 90000.

Center console broken at 95000.

Transmission clunks when shifting to reverse.

General Comments:

Generally a nice car with an unmatchable smooth ride. Defroster could be better. Styling is basic, but all I needed was a basic car. It is very reliable, never left me stranded.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2004

1997 Toyota Camry 2.2 2.2 from Netherlands


Next car will be a Camry again


The car is driving on bezine and LPG (Gas). The only problem I had was a broken pump in the LPG-tank. Therefore I had to place a new LPG-tank. (has nothing to do with the engine of Toyota) I had to pay €700,00 for letting it build-in

General Comments:

It is the most reliable car I ever owned.

Very quiet and comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th October, 2004

1997 Toyota Camry GX 2.2 petrol from Malaysia


Understated luxury and clockwork reliability


Radiator housing leaked @ 186K km

Front passenger power window malfunction

Rear right door handle broke

Right headlamp fused.

General Comments:

Dull interior, but well built

Very quiet, smooth ride

Performance adequate, transmission butter smooth

Averaged 11litres/100km throughout the years.

Batteries have lasted 3 years on average, Car severely overheated last year @ when radiator housing leaked.Besides replacing the faulty item also changed alternator and reflux bottle which melted, battery and had cylinder head cover re-ground as it was warped.

Other than this, wear n tear maintenance included changing timing belts at 80K km and 160K km.

Changed front disk pads at 100K km and both front and rear again at 200K km.

Rear absorbers and suspension bushes replaced at 180K km.

Front left drive shaft replaced about 120K km, right driveshaft at 200K km.

Oil & filter changed faithfully at 5000km intervals.

"Cobra" alarm switch replaced last week

Seats have held up well with no wear marks despite 4 kids growing up in it. Head-board had to be replaced as fabric was detaching from impact of two regular six footer passengers

At 203K km engine still does not burn oil significantly, starts first time every morning.

Other than these maintenance items and the unfortunate radiator housing failure(which seems to be predictable based on feedback from 2 other family members who own the same model)

Everything else works practically as new, even radio & CD changer and motorised aerial are original.

Had the car since new. It was a company vehicle and took the option to buy over the car, as my family couldn't bear to part with it.

Comfort, quiet refinement, economy and reliability are attributes of this vehicle. Certainly a satisfied owner.Definitely the best all-round car, and the one which I have owned the longest in my 29 years of driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2004