1997 Toyota Camry XE V6 from North America


What a joke!


I have always owned Toyota's in fact my Camry is my forth Toyota, but let me tell you it has been a very costly ownership! My car has had an impeccable service record and had had an average of 10000 miles per year. Just over a week ago shortly after it had its 60000 miles service, it start having valves issues. I took my Camry to a dealer to be serviced so there should have been no issues regarding poor service. The moral to the story is that I had to pay 3000.00 in repairs for a car that I hardly even drive! I was over a 1000 miles on my warranty and I contacted Toyota Corp with a complaint and all I got was a letter of apology! Think twice before you buy a Camry!

General Comments:

Camry is not as reliable as you think it is! I have spent over four thousand dollars in repairs averaging only 10000 a year! My Camry is only six years old and well taking care of.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th April, 2003

30th Mar 2004, 23:12

I've noticed that for some unlucky car owners, the number of repair problems they experience is directly proportional to the number of times they take their car to their mechanic. I have an '87 Camry, 300,000 km+ and do most of the maintenance myself (excellent car). I got help once with the timing belt. I'm not sure if it was just a coincidence or if I was being setup, but some odd problems were soon to follow. You may want to change repair shops and/or look over any work done (hint: if the work was done under the hood, check something unrelated like rear brake adjustment). If you find your otherwise dependable car suddenly has a rash of problems, don't always assume it's the car's fault.

15th Oct 2007, 12:53

Instead of dishing out $4000, you should have just bought a JDM motor that has super low miles on it. If you're selling it then email me ghandthoji@hotmail.com.

15th Oct 2007, 19:21

I have heard it all. Your Toyota breaks down and of course the car is "superior" so it either has to be your fault for poorly maintaining it or your mechanic must have sabotaged the car. People need to wake up and realize that Toyotas break just like any other car. In fact, more so than many.

15th Oct 2007, 20:43

19:21, No, not more so than many. Actually, the correct answer is 'less than anything else'. Except maybe Honda.

1997 Toyota Camry LE 4-cylinder from North America


A lemon


My engine froze.

General Comments:

The Toyota Oil Gel Campaign covering oil sludge damages does not cover incidental expenses related to engine damage as their PR releases state they do.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st March, 2003

1997 Toyota Camry csi 2.2 petrol from Australia and New Zealand


Needs improvement


The lock up converter has failed in the transmission.

General Comments:

The car is very heavy on fuel, it's probably because of the small engine and heavy weight of the chassis.

The transmission is weak link in the design in my experience.

The car is very roomy and comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th December, 2002

1997 Toyota Camry LE 4 cylinder. from North America


A comfortable lemon


At 40,000 miles the lever to open the gas compartment broke.

At 60,000 the starter had to be replaced,the celoinid was almost burned in to.

At 28,000 the dealer had to add spacers to the struts, the car made a thumping noise.

At 69,700 miles the engine threw a number one rod and it went thru the block.

General Comments:

Toyota stated that unless I had gel or sludge in the engine they would not replace it. I change my oil every 3,000 miles and the engine was clean.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th July, 2002

1997 Toyota Camry CE V6 3.0L from North America


Toyota Camry is nothing special


This was my first new car, and I hoped that the Camry would be exceptionally reliable. I have been disappointed.

The V6 - 5 speed combination is very good, but it was available only with the CE trim level - this is the most uncomfortable car I've owned since my 1968 VW bug.

The cheap interior trim began breaking immediately. The flimsy plastic rear cup-holder - located at perfect kicking height - broke when the car was a year old. I passed on the replacement - $68.

I thought I'd let the dealer do the work, but abandoned that strategy when they pumped all four tires to 39psi following an oil change (max pressure for the tires was 32psi).

At 30,000 miles the front brake rotors had to be turned. The dealer wanted $300 but a local shop did it for $65.

The cheap Dunlops that Toyota provides wore out at 33,000 miles, and I replaced them with Michelins which are now only half worn.

At 60,000 miles the power steering developed a slow leak - I'm afraid to analyze it, but I have already learned that Toyota parts aren't cheaper than any other make (in spite of Toyota's high volume production).

At 62,000 miles the cheap plastic and aluminum radiator failed - the parts were $300 and I paid a mechanic another $200 to do the job. The replacement is as fragile as the original. What happened to brass radiators?

Anyway, my new Camry has cost as much in maintenance as my previous ancient Peugeot. So much for reputations.

General Comments:

The Toyota V6 engine is a wonderful powerplant, but the rest of this car has been very disappointing.

Toyota appears to have cut corners to save money, and they appear as maintenance problems later in this car's life.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th April, 2002

7th Sep 2002, 21:47

Good engine okay handling, but ugly interior.