1998 Toyota Camry Reviews - Page 6 of 20

1998 Toyota Camry CSI 4 Cylinder from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4 Cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired113876 kilometres
Most recent distance116000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Astra

Summary:

Underrated

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This is one of the milestone Camry models Toyota has produced. Excellent ride and build quality, handling and reliability. Though if you're looking for a stylish or sporty car, this probably isn't where to look.

Earlier this year, my previous car was a 2000 Holden Astra. It had all the features you'd want with European styling, yet being previously associated with the Toyota badge, it was all to no avail. It was perhaps my grandparents who influenced my Toyota passion. They had owned numerous Toyota's throughout their lives, and had proven that a Toyota will last the distance, and even beyond.

Their most recent car was the 1999 Toyota Camry Conquest. Its features included front power windows, cruise control, front SRS air bags, ABS breaks and a nice 3.0L V6 engine. As well as the standard fitments such as remote central locking and power door mirrors.

It was in this very car that I learnt how to drive, and that's when I truly started to appreciate what a good car it was. Although it spoilt me. I'd get into other cars expecting them to drive the same only to be disappointed. And that is perhaps why I chose to trade-in for a Camry.

The Camry I got is a 1998 2.2L 4 cylinder CSI, the same body shape, and overall the same car except less features. On the test drive I could have sworn I was driving a V6, but to my surprise, it was a humble 4 cylinder. The 'styling' was typical of all Camry's, but I wasn't really looking for a car that demanded attention, I was more interested in something that drove well. And that's basically what the Camry is, a practical, good quality and very reliable car.

So basically, I'm happy! Anyone who says this car is rubbish or not very good, has either not driven one or has had a particularly bad day! :-)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2007

10th Aug 2007, 12:47

A Camry Crime Scene Investigation? Any good? Wheelies?

1998 Toyota Camry CE petrol from Nigeria

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission petrol Manual
Distance when acquired182000 kilometres
Most recent distance182000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Nice One!!

Faults:

The Check light is on and would not go off.

I also do not have an owner's manual for my Toyota Camry CE 1999 model and would be very grateful if anyone can let me in on a site where I can get a download.

General Comments:

The car works fine and only the check light gives me concern.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd July, 2007

1998 Toyota Camry LE 1MZ-FE 3.0L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1MZ-FE 3.0L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired48792 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles

Summary:

A great car for anyone who wants to get from point A to point B with the least amount of hassle

Faults:

Nothing major.

General Comments:

Good performance, great brakes, but it gets a bit floaty in the corners.

Starts up on cold Wisconsin winter mornings (-10F) every time.

Good styling, handsome, but unassuming, and blends into traffic.

Fantastic resale.

The interior is simple, but laid out well and holds up well to abuse.

Engine is somewhat easy to work on, but dead reliable so you won't be spending much time under the hood anyhow.

The seats are great for short trips, but kill your back after 4+ hours on the road.

Mileage in the V6 isn't great (averaging 25mpg over the course of about 15,000 miles) but not bad, either.

It doesn't look, feel, or drive like a car that's nearly 10 years old.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2007

1998 Toyota Camry LE 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Great reliable family car

Faults:

Driver side power window motor/regulator went bad at around 77,000 miles, but extended warranty picked up most of the $465.00 repair cost. I paid a $50.00 deductible.

Driver side power mirror will not move down or in and was probably damaged from all of the winter ice we had this year. probably not going to repair it since I rarely need to adjust my mirrors plus I can do it by hand if necessary.

General Comments:

The most impressive features of this car are the quiet, silky smooth and powerful 3.0 liter V6 engine and the 4-wheel anti-lock disc brakes. I had a 1997 4 cylinder Camry prior to this one for about two months, but it was totaled in an accident. The difference in engines plus the front disc/rear drum to all disc brakes is like night and day. The brakes are extremely effective and powerful plus no rear wheel moan as is typical with rear drum Camry/Sienna brakes. Often times after I start the engine when it is warm I have to look at the tach on the dash to see if its running it is so smooth and quiet.

Merging onto the highway has never been a problem with this car. Stomp on the throttle and it moves. Power is a tad weak for a V6 from a start to about 25 mph, but comes on nicely after that. This is typical of modern higher reving gas engines where torque peaks at higher rpms than older cars with larger engine. Mileage isn't bad since I average about 24-25 in mostly rush hour stop and go driving. I have yet to measure gas mileage on an all out highway trip, but I'm sure I could approach 29 or 30 mpg. I do miss the 35-40 mpg of our previous 4 cylinder 5-speed Civic, but the Camry is much nicer to drive.

The transmission is smooth as well, but when coasting it is sensitive to lockup even if a bit of throttle is given. Not a big deal just a quirk.

The suspension is overly soft and driving on uneven pavement gives a wallowy ride reminiscent of my dad's mid-70's Lincolns and Cadillacs. Toyota could have firmed up the suspension more and not sacrificed ride quality too much. The car did have a front strut problem, so common to late 90's Camry's when we bought it, but I made the dealer repair it as a condition of our purchase and they did.

I have owned and driven several Toyota's including trucks, Camrys, Sienna's and Corollas and their seats need improvement. One should not have to opt for a top line model to get good seats. Interior room overall is good and the trunk room is fantastic for a mid-size car. I have packed an amazing amount of stuff in that trunk numerous times. Air-conditioning, heater and rear defrost work excellent and the A/C is powerful. My judge of a good A/C is if it causes pain it is effective.

Overall I have had good luck with this Camry as was expected considering my past experience with Toyota's. Some improvements could have been made, but I buy cars for reliable transportation. When I'm sitting in traffic as are most of my driving conditions I don't car how exciting the car is while going 40 mph with hundreds of other cars and trucks. I want reliability and good road manners.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2007

27th May 2007, 19:45

As a fellow '98 LE V6 owner, your review is spot on. I never really thought I could grow attached to a Camry, but I have. I'm not sure I ever want to sell it!

5th Jun 2008, 19:12

I've owned six Celica's (73, 78, 79, 80, 81, 85) and three Camry's; '90, '99 and this 1998 6cyl LE. Bought the 1998 at 80k miles and have 110k miles on it 2 years later.

The worst Toyotas I've owned are the '98 and '99 Camry's, the 6 cylinder being the worst of all. The 99 is mainly my wife's car and doesn't get much mileage put on it, so it's holding up better, plus the 4 cyl is much better on gas, maintenance AND performance than the 6cyl. I've liked all the rest just fine, especially the 85 Celica and 90 Camry (the best).

The problems I've had with this Camry are numerous and also costly (I know I'll miss some) ; driver-side window motor (a common problem with late model Toys), O2 sensor, strut mounts, bushings, transmission slippage (not enough to repair but wasteful on gas), shift cable, and injector problems (also common to late model 6cyl Toys). What gives, are these things made in America now? Not to mention (but I will) the interior and seats seem like cheap imitations of a lower-priced GM car, same on the 99.

I sold the '90 Camry to my neighbor 2 years ago, and I have to look at it everyday in their driveway, still running like a tank; plush interior, O2 sensor, strut mounts, shift cable, injectors and window motors intact, with no other misc. electrical problems either. I'm gonna look for another early '90-92, or take the advice of my mechanics and check out a Honda.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 71 reviews