1998 Toyota Camry Reviews - Page 10 of 20

1998 Toyota Camry LE 2.2 liter from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2 liter Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance350000 miles

Summary:

Phenomenal reliability!!!

Faults:

So far I have only replaced little things that have to get replaced when they wear out. Nothing major Yet. 350,000 AND STILL GOING STRONG!!!

General Comments:

I love my Camry. It is my first car that I have owned. I bought it bran new in 1998 with only 13 miles on it. Now it has 350,000! I do a lot of traveling by car as you can see. This car has awesome performance for a four banger. And after 350,000 miles nothing mjor has gone wrong (e.g engine,trans). Even if something like that goes wrong I could never part with this car. I hope to drive another 350,000 more!!! Like I said 350,000 AND STILL GOING STRONG!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 2005

21st Feb 2006, 17:56

What maintenance have you done to your car to get upto 350,000 miles?

20th Mar 2006, 12:54

I just followed what the factory said to do I did everything on time sometimes alittle before it was time.

20th Mar 2006, 19:34

The only problems with these cars is the blandness. There is nothing there that attracts the eye or excites the speed demon inside you. That's why I won't be buying one of these cars unless I want a second vehicle.

26th Apr 2006, 21:05

What kind of repairs have you done to the car? So far I have had the Charcoal Canister, Catalytic Converter, and EGR valve replaced on the car.

The dealer maintenance and the factory maintenance differs. I guess that you asked the dealer to do what the factory manual says?

1998 Toyota Camry LE from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired99382 miles
Most recent distance100050 miles

Summary:

Cheap car to run

Faults:

The foam around the switches in the front came unglued, but I fixed it real easy with super glue.

The paint scratches easy.

General Comments:

Great Gas mileage. (25 mpg city)

Runs quiet/ smooth.

Easy to Drive.

It would be nice if the seats were powered as everything else is.

Other than that it is a great car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st July, 2005

1998 Toyota Camry LE 2.0 i4 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 i4 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles

Summary:

Smooth Running, Reliable Car

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car so far.

There is a little bit of a rattle from the front end when going over bumps.

There is also a rattle under the hood when the car is cold. I think a belt needs to be replaced.

General Comments:

Overall, this has been a great car. I would buy another one in a heartbeat!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th April, 2005

1998 Toyota Camry Vienta Grande 3.0 V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired14000 kilometres
Most recent distance82000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Calais

Summary:

A really excellent car, overall; my best friend, apart from my dog

Faults:

Both rear power windows failed just outside warranty, about 2 months apart. Quite expensive to replace.

General Comments:

In general, a great car. Utterly reliable, whisper quiet in cruise and surprisingly economical on fuel. Great engine; turbine smooth and revs beautifully. Extremely well put together; still not a solitary rattle 7 years after assembly.

Not the quickest off the mark, but can get up and scamper if really wound up. Handles well overall, very safe, albeit maybe a bit stodgy and not very exciting or nimble on winding/hilly roads.

Internally, the front seats are the car's worst feature by far; the only really bad feature at all, in fact. Although leather and quite robust, they are very poorly shaped in the seat pan, being almost flat and quite hard. Really quite uncomfortable on even medium drives, with no lateral support at all. Very poor indeed for an upmarket model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2005

1st May 2010, 09:19

I have a white 1999 Vienta VXI, my third Camry and second Vienta. I purchased the vehicle from a dealer in Queensland with 15256 k's from new. Yes I thought it was a misprint too, but it was genuine, so I purchased the car and had it trucked to Melbourne at a cost of $800. To re-register in Victoria cost me $1100, and the Vienta cost me $11,200; new they were over $40,000 drive away, and it was like new.

The Vienta is so quiet and smooth, and with the quad cam V6 has plenty of performance. The transmission and engine are superb, build quality excellent, this car was exported to something like 27 markets overseas.

I have fitted lambs wool seat covers and that has made a difference to the comfort of the front seats. My partner has a 2002 Camry Advantage 2.2 four cylinder with 65,000ks from new.

I am looking a buying a Vienta Grande as well. The reason you see so many of these Camry's on the road is because they are a well built reliable vehicle, highly recommended.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 71 reviews