2004 Toyota Camry Reviews - Page 4 of 6

2004 Toyota Camry V6 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired75 kilometres
Most recent distance105000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Can't express my regret with legible language

Faults:

Brake calipers at 18,000 km.

Major problem was the engine needed a replacement, after only 60,000 km due to the common sludge problem toyota has.

New engine starting to tick a little 1,000 km ago.

Transmission was always very touchy from new, lags at freeway speeds toyota says that's normal, problem still exists today.

Car was always maintained on time by Toyota.

General Comments:

Not impressed, I bought into the hype.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th July, 2007

31st Jul 2007, 16:50

Toyota does not have a 'common' sludge problem.

Sludge can occur in ANY engine, and usually does because people use dirt cheap motor oil, let it run low because they rarely or never check or change oil, and what little oil that is in the engine has long ago chemically broken down. When the oil level is low, the little oil that is in there bakes into sludge.

No WAY do I believe that you had Toyota mechanics do regular maintenance, and one Toyota motor went bad in under 100,000, and now you have a SECOND one going bad too. The odds of that are next to nothing.

2004 Toyota Camry Ateva 3.0 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 kilometres
Most recent distance93000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Good reliable car

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car; it runs like a champ.

General Comments:

The car build is excellent. It is able to let me travel each week about 1000km's without missing a beat. The V6 engine has lots of power for overtaking.

Since I do a lot of freeway driving, having the in dash 6 CD player/tape is awesome.

I enjoy the climate control, and the seats are quite comfortable.

Compared to my old Camry, this thing blows it away.

The safety of the car is amazing; it has been involved in 2 accidents since I bought it (both not my fault), and it was able to keep me safe from any harm.

Only thing I hate is the 60/40 fold down seats; it's a small hole, and the seats don't fold down flat :(

But all in all, it's a great car. The chrome finishes looks really cool when all polished up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th June, 2007

23rd Sep 2007, 07:53

Its nice that the owner of the Toyota Ativa bought a gem, In my case I bought a lemon it is a Toyota Camry Sportivo V6, I have a problem with air bags warning light, I've taken it back to Toyota Service for warranty repair four times already and all they could do was clear the error on the computer... mmmmmm... I'm sure if the error has stated there must be some sort of code which tells you which airbags, but no and still now I have to take it back again 5th time. I have a feeling that Toyota does not want to replace the faulty Air bags until my warranty runs out so that I might have to pay for there faulty vehcile... be very careful when buying an Australian made Toyota...

2004 Toyota Camry LE 2.4 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles

Summary:

Camry is a great car. But, I prey that Toyota's reliability remains with their rapid expansion

Faults:

Faulty ground wire in the rear right passenger door at 20,000 miles.

Rattling noise coming from dash board.

General Comments:

I noticed that dome light would not turn on when the rear right passenger door was opened. I took the car to local dealership and told them about the problem.

The dealership fixed the problem at no charge since it was under warranty. I asked what was the issue and I was told that there was a faulty ground wire and wasn't making contact properly. Hmm... this is a minor problem compared to others, but, a company prides itself with high reliability record and often use that in marketing should not have this kind of mistake. Basically, it tells me that Toyota can't install wire correctly. I hope this is just an isolated issue.

I also noticed rattling noise coming from the dash board. But, the dealership won't attempt to fix it because the car was in frontal accident.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2007

27th Nov 2009, 02:52

To the starter of this comment, you should be grateful that car is more reliable than most cars put together. You are not talking about oil leaks or whatever engine problems. Enjoy that car until you go french or german.

27th Nov 2009, 13:51

Since when is a CAMRY "more reliable" than most cars? It is far down the list. Buick and Ford top the list, beating out even Toyota's Lexus (a Toyota with $20,000 tacked on). Do a bit more research before you make such unfounded claims. I might also mention that Toyota now holds the record for the highest number of safety recalls in the history of the automobile. Hardly a mark of quality.

15th Feb 2010, 20:19

I don't really think that recalls, recalls and more recalls are that "quality seal". The other way around, that's a very noticeable highlight for those looking reliability and quality. I would prefer Honda.

Toyota is a very strong brand, but I notice that there have been many reports from 2005 until now, so if I were buying a Toyota, I would do a lot of research before.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 16 reviews