2008 Toyota Camry Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2008 Toyota Camry V6 from North America

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance37000 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

Overrated TRASH

Faults:

Power windows quit working except the passenger rear.

Transmission has been slipping since 15k miles (Toyota seems to think slipping transmissions are normal).

Leather seats are cracked.

Dash is cracking.

Stereo isn't "stereo" any more.

Exhaust hangs low.

Trunk leaked water badly, fixed under warranty.

Bad gas mileage since new. dealer said it normal to get 25mpg on the highway.

Drivers door hits the roof when closing, causing rust.

Check engine light comes on when it wants, never has any codes. dealer doesn't see a problem.

All 02 sensors replaced at 10k miles.

Eats brakes like no tomorrow.

Timing belt broke, taking the head and the motor with it at 37k miles. out of warranty and $6k later.

General Comments:

I loved this car at first. All of my friends told me to buy a Toyota because they last forever.

My Buick had 200k miles and had no problems, and it got 35mpg. This Toyota has been nothing but a headache. The dealer has never been helpful, they have always had a waiting list to work on the car, and then a waiting list to get parts. I will never buy another Toyota again. My next car will be another Buick.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th June, 2009

18th Jun 2009, 09:49

Yeah, you are way better off with your Buick. I'm sorry the hype got you, it got me too :( Good news is that my Camry is out the door tomorrow!

18th Jun 2009, 13:02

"Yeah, you are way better off with your Buick. I'm sorry the hype got you, it got me too : (Good news is that my Camry is out the door tomorrow!"

People are FINALLY waking up. Buick has J.D. Powers number one slot for highest buyer satisfaction (beating out Lexus) and Ford's Fusion is the highest rated car in reliability in Consumer Reports ratings (beating out Camry and Accord).

I've been amazed at the HUGE number of new Ford Fusions in our area. Not a single day goes by that I don't see yet ANOTHER one with a new drive-out tag just in my neighborhood. The used car lot at our local Ford dealers is overflowing with Camrys, Accords and other traded-in imports. I'm very happy to see that not everyone regards patriotism as a laughing matter any more. Maybe buying ALL our products from U.S. companies will return our country to prosperity once more, and the pride of supporting our own businesses will result in a better life for all of us.

2008 Toyota Camry XLE 3.5 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

This is a well rounded car, as long as you get a good one

Faults:

I really love my Camry, but it has not been trouble free. On cold starts the engines knocks. It happens intermittently. My dealership is currently investigating the problem.

Updated 28th September 2009:

The paint on the front bumper is pitted, I think it's pretty bad considering the age of the car.

General Comments:

The car is the most comfortable, quiet and powerful vehicle I have ever rode in.

Styling is a little bland but I like it, I really don't try to stand out from the crowd too much.

The sound system is awesome.

I could drive this car all day and have no back pain, this is a first for me.

My previous car was a complete disappointment (02 VW Jetta), I love this car, but with the engine knocking I am worried that Toyotas aren't built as well as they once were. I had a 97 Camry that was bullet-proof, but this one has me worried!

Updated 28th September 2009:

I have had the car for another year now and put 24,000 miles on it since I bought it. It still knocks on cold starts, but when it is warmed up it is quiet. Dealer can't find anything wrong with it. I have done a little research and found that this knocking is normal for a high compression engine? Anyway it continues to run perfect besides that. I get over 30 MPG on the highway.

I read reviews on this site that scared me right after I purchased my car, and that is probably why I was so paranoid about the sound on cold starts.

I would recommend this car to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2008

3rd Jan 2009, 00:14

I like the review title, but it begs the question, just WHERE do get a GOOD Camry??

8th Jan 2009, 23:44

To answer your question:

At the "GOOD CAMRY STORE" of course!

10th Jan 2009, 13:10

The Camry sucks. The brakes don't do much, then suddenly after you hit a certain level they get grabby.

The car is hard to park and I still can't get a sense of its size.

The steering is loose on center and has 0 road feel, way less than modern American cars.

The entire car is dull, dull, dull. More dull than an 80's Buick. Interior plastics are about the worst in class. I prefer the Malibu, Fusion interior.

The only bright spot is the V6 engine, which makes excellent power and sounds like a turbine. Though the Camry platform kills the sportiness of the engine.

I hate this car though; it's a promise unfulfilled. I just can't get my head around how irritatingly bland this car is.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 7 reviews