2008 Toyota Camry SE 4 cylinder from North America




The stereo ate my CD's. I have the premium stereo with the 6 disk CD player, and it stopped ejecting them. The stereo was replaced under warranty. The stereo is a JBL, so it's hard to say that this was Toyota's fault.

If you get an SE model, be careful with tall curbs! The front spoiler is quite low, and I put a gash in the bottom of mine.

General Comments:

The Camry has been very enjoyable to own and drive. I'm averaging about 29 MPG with an average speed of 50 mph.

My previous car was a 2002 Honda Accord. In my opinion, I actually like driving the Camry better.

The car just works, and works comfortably. Almost nothing has gone wrong with the car, it's been very reliable.

I really like the looks of the SE model. Combine the SE with a 4 cylinder and you get decent performance and gas mileage. The SE model will still look good 10 to 15 years from now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th November, 2012

30th Nov 2012, 07:58

This is why Toyota builds some of the best cars on the planet. Sturdy, reliable well-engineered vehicles. They not be the most exciting cars in the world, but they are about as good as you can get.

30th Nov 2012, 22:49

What planet? Neptune, Mars? Despite a few recalls, my 2009 Camry was low quality inside and out before it was traded in at a stunning 65k.

Problems from pealing clear coat, to worn seat cushions, to valves tapping in the cylinder head, to faulty A/C control panels.

All that was enough for me.

1st Dec 2012, 09:20

We had a 2001 Camry years back, and it developed a tapping noise that got worse and worse.

Then one day the engine seized. I looked at the oil dip stick, and before my very eyes... SLUDGE! $$$!

2nd Dec 2012, 08:05

We had major issues on ours as well. We are on Earth, and they were not reliable whatsoever on our planet.

3rd Dec 2012, 07:27

You Earthlings must be confusing the highly reliable Toyota with some other brand, as they consistently score among the highest automobile makes in quality & reliability surveys. :)

3rd Dec 2012, 10:57

And these quality and reliability surveys mean NOTHING to us "Earthlings" who got stiffed on Toyota's notorious declining quality.

3rd Dec 2012, 13:34

Must have been fooled by the huge Toyota sign and all the new cars inside and outside the dealership. Our bank was also fooled and granted our car loans. What's next with this guy, smoke and mirrors? You have a singular opinion. Don't feel you can speak for us. In a year from now, let's read the final score on this manufacturer and recall level for 2012. Until then, no more new Toyotas.

7th Dec 2012, 22:15

Wow, I'm glad to see people actually read my original post. To those that have experienced poor quality with your Toyota, I can feel your pain having owned various problem vehicles in the past. For future readers of this post, my comments are completely unbiased and based on an honest experience. Use them as you see fit, whatever planet you're on.

2008 Toyota Camry LE 2.4 from North America


Good commuter, good gas mileage


The car has been great, however recently at around 48000 miles, my driver's side sun visor broke. It actually had to be removed, because it was dangling in front of me, blocking my view of the highway.

I am the original owner and the only driver, so I know the way the car is treated. I have a 01 Ford F250 with over a 100K on it, and guess what? No problems, and the sun visor still works. And I have been hard on that vehicle as a work horse. That's OK though, things are poorly designed, however the problem I have is that Toyota will not back up poor workmanship and replace the visor.

So due to poor service, I won't be buying another Toyota. Hyundai offers a 100K mile warranty. I think I'll buy one of those for my next commuter. It's not like I'm asking for a new transmission. They lost a great customer over a sun visor. Poor management.

General Comments:

The car was good. Horrible customer care and service. If they cared, they would stand behind poor workmanship. The sun visor was made out of weak, brittle plastic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th July, 2011

20th Jul 2011, 16:40

I totally agree with the comment/complaint, for I have experienced the same thing (Camry 2008), and I almost got into an accident just trying to fix it. I went to a Toyota and ask them to replace or maybe repair it, but they said it's out of warranty, and yet it's only a month beyond three years, and the mileage is not even 50,000 yet. I have been a loyal Toyota customer, but not anymore; might as well switch to Honda, since their service is a lot better, and more consideration is given to the customer. I know, for I have a Honda also.

30th Nov 2012, 15:33

I had bad luck with Toyota and Honda after 2000. We bought a Mazda 6 and a Mazda 3 Touring. Even the 3 model is loaded with amenities. I recommend the Touring vs the new Sport model. It's amazing for its size.