2009 Toyota Camry XLE VVTi-4 from North America


Falling apart very fast


The sunroof has always leaked even after multiple dealer repairs.

The seat belt release button is all broken.

The paint on the deck spoiler is peeling.

The driver's seat cushion is worn out (I only weigh about 187).

A/C control module was repaired, and a tapping noise is starting on the top end of the engine.

Also this car cannot hold an alignment for more than 8-9 months (never in accident).

General Comments:

Seemed sweet at first, but not in the past year. Once the warranty is up, I may have to extend it or trade it in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd March, 2012

3rd Mar 2012, 20:25

You owned a Grand Marquis previously? Trade in your Camry for another one of those.

10th Mar 2012, 17:49

Yes, tell me about it, the Grand Marquis was the best car I ever had, with 140,000 trouble free miles with very minor issues.

11th Mar 2012, 18:01

Is this even a real review?

12th Mar 2012, 21:06

Why would it be fake? Toyotas have problems too, it's all part of the experience of owning a car.

2009 Toyota Camry LE 2.4L DOHC VVT-i Inline 4-cylinder from North America


Ask me, I drive one!


Driver's door weatherstripping came loose. Dealer fixed it without question.

General Comments:

I purchased this Camry to replace my tired '07 Hyundai Elantra. I have a 130 mile daily commute, so I put miles on my cars very quickly.

My Elantra had a 5-speed manual, which I enjoyed, but it quickly got tiring on my long commute, so I got an automatic this time around. My Camry is so much more comfortable on the highway. The ride is smooth and quiet. No rattles, and the interior fit and finish is top notch (plastics are a little cheap, but everything fits correctly and works as it should.) This is the first car I've had with power seats though! And they are very comfortable. I feel as though I could take a very long trip in this car and not get uncomfortable. The backseat is nice and roomy (for my dog, all 95 pounds of her!) Legroom is awesome for people too.

The roads in my small hometown are very poorly paved, and so far this Camry has proven itself as being more than capable of handling them. As for handling, it'll go around just about any corner you want, but the wheel gives little feedback (typical Toyota.) Like almost all front-wheel drive vehicles, diving heavily into a corner will induce understeer.

The 2.4L engine, which produces 158 HP and 161 ft. lbs. of torque, has plenty of power to get this car moving on the highway. Cruises quietly at all speeds, and actually has a respectable growl at high RPMs. Runs so quietly at idle you can barely hear it. The 5-speed automatic shifts silky smooth, but can get a little confused on very steep hills. This is easily remedied by pushing the gear lever over to 4th. Have not yet assessed gas mileage.

Overall, I'm very happy with my purchase. I'm impressed with Toyota's resilience from their recent troubles, and I have complete confidence in my Camry to perform its job safely. My son's '96 Corolla is still humming along with 194,000 miles on it, so I expect nothing less from this Camry. I will report back with updates as often as possible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2011

17th Jul 2011, 17:31

Original Reviewer.

I've driven a little over a thousand miles now, so I figured I'd report on gas mileage. I have filled up 3 times, and have averaged 34 MPG so far. Not bad; this is only 2 MPG less than my Elantra averaged.

29th Jul 2011, 19:18

Original Reviewer again.

Well I have a little over 36,000 miles now. Since my last update, my MPG has increased to 35-36 MPG.

I'm just now getting used to the overall size of this car. My Hyundai and the car before it (a Ford Focus) were smaller than this Camry. It has more blindspots than my Hyundai did, and judging your distance from an object is made more difficult by the long hood. However, I've found that despite its size, it's very maneuverable. I can make a U-turn on some of the narrowest roads in my small hometown (not all of them though, on some of them the road is barely wide enough to fit width-wise).

I used to hate the Xenon-high intensity headlights on cars today. They were always blinding me at night. But now that I see what they're like from the other side, I love them. Night time visibility is excellent.

I will be taking the family on vacation next week. Heading up to a concert in New Hampshire! 450 mile drive one way. I will report on how it performed on a long haul after I get back.