2000 Toyota Celica Reviews - Page 7 of 13

2000 Toyota Celica GT-S from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Fun, Sporty, Trouble-Free

Faults:

Absolutely nothing. I bought this car new 6 years ago. Is still drives like the day I bought it. Besides some chipped paint, it can pass for brand new.

General Comments:

This is a great car. I could not have been more pleased. I have a manual transmission so I cannot comment as to the problems with the automatic transmission. At 6 years and 130,000 miles, I have only replaced tires and changed the oil. That's it. I am about to have the belts and hoses replaced just as a precaution. It is a sporty. practial everyday car. It is not the fastest thing on the road, but you know that going in. I am about to get a new car just for a change, but I feel like my celica can last until 200,000 miles easy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th December, 2005

7th Dec 2005, 10:40

There's no point getting belts and hoses changed if youre swapping your car!

2000 Toyota Celica VVTL-i 1.8 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 kilometres
Most recent distance54000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Faults:

Drivers seat showing wear on bolster. Likewise some parts of the carpet also showing fast wear given modest mileage.

Despite the above, nothing has actually gone wrong with it - runs like clock work.

General Comments:

This is the first sports coupe I have owned and have to say am really enjoying it.

The driving position is great - you feel as if you are part of the car and the seating is very comfortable.

Have to say I'm very impressed with the engine. Despite some people saying it lacks low down torque I don't agree. Remember it's only a (short stroked) 1.8 so its never going to have stump pulling low down grunt. Compared with a non VVT engine the flat torque curve is very noticeable.

Top end power once its in 'high lift' can only be described in one word - violent!. Having said that, addictive also comes to mind. Sound above 6,000 rpm is also fantastic, especially when you run it to the 8,350rpm limiter and snatch the next gear.

While the engine is great the handling is even better. I've shod mine with 205/50 R16 Goodyear Eagle F1s. They wear very well with amazing grip. I've been caught out a few times on some tightening blind bends and I'm sure they have saved my bacon.

I have driven SS Commodores and a Impreza WRX STi. The STi is very quick, the Celica just quick, but I think actually more fun to drive - there is something about the responsiveness of a normally aspirated engine screaming its lungs out that is very satisfying.

Overall it's a great car and I'm very pleased with it. I'm curious though to see how it compares to an Interga Type R. May need to take one for a test drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th March, 2005

8th Apr 2008, 10:23

After driving both, VTEC kicks harder than the vvti and the teg handles better.

2000 Toyota Celica GTS 1.8 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carToyota Truck

Summary:

This is a great car for the price

Faults:

Right now I would like to know what is wrong with it. It has been running really weird and when I kick down the gas the RPMs go up really fast and then they even out. The RPMs are very jumpy. I plan on getting it fixed, but would like to know what is wrong with it. The check engine light also went on for a while, but shut off a few days ago.

General Comments:

Other than the problems I mentioned the car is great. Very fast and handles beautifully. I would recommend it to anyone. It gets a lot of looks too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th October, 2004

5th Nov 2004, 11:04

Try checking the idle. On the airbox there should be a little plug. That's your MAP sensor. It may or may not be connected right. that's a simple fix, if its not that, its something a mechanic would have to look at.

1st Feb 2005, 21:51

If your car has a manual tranny, you probably need a new clutch.

27th Mar 2005, 17:55

His description of the rev problem is in no way indicative of a bad clutch...

28th Apr 2005, 11:49

Actually it sounds very much so like a clutch problem. I had the same thing go wrong on my GT-S at 110,ooo miles. The RPMS went higher almost like it wasn't getting traction then it would slowly lower itself. Then I noticed a funny smell which was indeed a burnt out clutch.

18th Oct 2005, 21:18

Hi, I have a manual gts 2001, after I rev. RPM red-line days ago, now tachometer has been jumping abnormally. And, also the funny smell every time I finished my driving. I afraid it has been already damaged. What should I do? Ben.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 46 reviews