1982 Toyota Corolla Reviews - Page 2 of 5

1982 Toyota Corolla Wagon 1.8L from North America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
Engine and transmission 1.8L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance384000 miles
Previous carDodge Dart

Summary:

Can't kill this thing

Faults:

It has needed 2 water pumps, an alternator, radiator fan, front brake rotors. The last 3 were all over the 300,000 mile mark.

The drivers door handle needed repair as it wore out from use.

The seats are wearing out, but that is not unexpected with a car of this age.

There are a few rust spots that have surfaced recently.

General Comments:

We bought this car in 87 from the original owner, and about 10 years ago gave it to my grandmother who has been using it ever since.

Performance and handling is lacking, but it did in almost every car around that time. It will get up to highway speeds if you're patient... things don't come instantly in any '82. I believe this car in particular is 84 horsepower.

It gets about 30 MPG in mixed driving and the AC still blows ice cold on its original coolant charge.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2006

1982 Toyota Corolla DX 1.8L from North America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles

Summary:

Great for a 1st car

Faults:

Needed new exhaust (previous owner took it out) Body rust, needs new battery. had to replace spark plugs and head gasket. Has no stereo.

General Comments:

This car is older than I am and is surprisingly reliable!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2005

1982 Toyota Corolla CE 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1982
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance220000 miles

Summary:

Best car I ever owned..

Faults:

Great car!

Just general maintenance. No problems with transmission, engine, or body.

General Comments:

Best car I ever owned, but I had to trade it in. A big SUV t-boned the passenger side, and the catalytic converter needed to be replaced. The wife said it was time...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th October, 2005

1982 Toyota Corolla CS 1.3 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired194000 kilometres
Most recent distance207000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

The most reliable car I have owned, but it compromises on comfort and power

Faults:

The car is over 20 years old so you can expect a few things to be wrong with it. The previous owner hadn't maintained it very well so it required a bit of work when I first obtained it. The clutch went at 197000 which cost only $50 to repair. When I looked at the old clutch it was a genuine Toyota so it could have been the original. The radiator had rusted out so that needed replacing too. I drove the car down south at 110km/h for about 5 hours which caused some serious damage to the 4th piston. The car held together despite all the mechanics in the town telling me it won't make it home. Not only did it get home, but I drove to work and back for a month before I bought a 2nd hand engine. I knew the engine was tired before I took it for that drive so it was not an unexpected failure.

General Comments:

The car is not the most glamorous looking vehicle nor is it the sort of car you would do bog laps down your local coffee strip, however, its very cheap to run, repair, insure, register and because of all this they hold their value very well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th September, 2005

1982 Toyota Corolla 2 door Sedan 1.8 3TC from North America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1982
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 3TC Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired210000 kilometres
Most recent distance230000 kilometres

Summary:

Awesome little, classy car

Faults:

New alternator, new e-brake cable, new starter, new radiator, new left tie rod end.

General Comments:

Best car you could want. It's over 22 years old and shows no signs of quitting. And I drive it everyday for hours. Best car in the world. For a 1.8L engine it moves. I've had it doing 170km/h+ with minor mods.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2005

1982 Toyota Corolla 1.8 Liter from North America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 Liter Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired118000 miles
Most recent distance155000 miles
Previous carToyota Corona

Summary:

Awesome

Faults:

Nothing ever went wrong with the car due to manufacturing. The seats were worn through due to age, the trunk rusted out because the seal around it wore out and water pooled in the rear quarter panels. I drilled holes in the quarter panels to drain it. Headliner fell down and I ripped it out while doing 70 on the interstate. No big deal.

General Comments:

Awesome car. I wish I had never gotten rid of it and I would buy another in a heartbeat. The car was absolutely no frills.. but it never let me down and I never worried about driving it 1000 miles round trip. I purchased the car from my aunt while in college for 800 dollars.. best money I ever spent. I had no worries about transportation. The little engine was spunky with the 4 speed (wish I had had a 5sp) and the interior was rugged. The car was very responsive on the road and the most mechanically sound car I have ever owned. Maintain the oil and water and never think about it. It raced up mountains and around curves.. would make a great rally car. I sure miss that little car. I wish Toyota would make some of them and that the US government would allow importation of them without meeting the safety standards of today. If you get one, don't let her go. Take good care of her.. most reliable car ever made.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2005

28th Nov 2005, 16:20

Read your article, and fully agree. I once had an 91 Toyota Sr-5 liftback, and sold it, now I miss it. Was a great car. Had it for 22 years! I hauled stuff in that car, cruised in it. I went everywhere. Not a lot of torque, but a great little engine, very little maintenance.

15th Nov 2007, 15:33

I also fully agree with the poster as well. Up until about 10 years ago, I had an '81 Corolla SR-5, and its engine was virtually bulletproof. Transmission destroyed itself when the input shaft bearing grenaded one day, but no big deal, I went to the wreckers and got a nice 5-speed trany for $75 and bolted it in there. The car drove awesome until its body rusted itself into the grave. If it weren't for the rusting problems, this car would have been the absolute ultimate vehicle. I drove it all along the Trans-Canada highway, and never had a breakdown at all. Yes, I also agree, for myself as well, I really miss that car. Best car I've ever owned.

15th May 2009, 15:12

I pulled a 1980 Corolla lift-back out of a junkyard in 1984 (bent frame), rebuilt it, and drove it for a number of years. I still wish I had that car today. The 1.8 liter engine and auto trans were great and very responsive. I've had a number of other Toyota's since and I still wish that one was in my drive. It did everything I asked of it, and still gave more.

17th May 2009, 18:25

Please explain how you drove a '91 for 22 years. It is now 2009 unless I have fallen into a time warp.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 19 reviews