1993 Toyota Corolla Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1993 Toyota Corolla DX 1.8L 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8L 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance245000 miles

Summary:

An all-around reliable, fun, fast bargain

Faults:

Nothing major has ever really gone wrong with my car. It is very reliable.

General Comments:

Definitely get the larger of the two engines! The 1.8L gives this car a dramatic acceleration boost! I've eaten the Honda Civic for lunch with my Corolla!

However, the seats are not as comfortable as I would like. They aren't horrible, but they aren't the best. Definitely invest in seat covers if comfort is high up on your list.

Give the Corolla a chance. It's reliable, fun to drive, has great acceleration and handles well on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th October, 2002

23rd Nov 2002, 10:28

I got Many race with Honda Civic and I beaten them all the time with my corolla 93 1.6L Manual. Driving is not only pushing the Gaz pedal, you must know your engine to get the more power of the gear. Try it once, you won't be disapointed!

1993 Toyota Corolla LE 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired42 miles
Most recent distance214266 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Absolutely, the best car money can buy!

Faults:

I have had only a few problems to date with this wonderful little car.

The original Nippondenso alternator began to fail at 40000 miles, so I replaced it with a Geo Prism alternator (about 250 US dollars cheaper) which I recently replaced once again at 203000 miles. Time will wear anything out!

The front electric windows both driver side and passenger side collapsed into their doors at 50000 and 72000 miles in 1996. They were expensive to replace. The passenger window has once again recessed into the door recently at 210500 miles and I decided to prop it up with a wooden board.

The parking/interior lights failed at 93000 miles and a wiring harness was replaced for less than $300 US.

I recently replaced the starter myself at 198000 miles.

Struts need replacing every 100000 miles.

General Comments:

This car is unstoppable. Recently I noticed that it started to burn a little oil, but what do you expect at almost 215000 miles.

Very cost efficient (I finished paying for it in 1997), runs 360+ miles on a tank of fuel which is 10 US gallons.

This thing is very fast. 0-60 in under 8 seconds still.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th April, 2002

1993 Toyota Corolla Base 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Over-rated, poor performance, average economy

Faults:

Transmission failed at 30,000 miles.

The alternator left my wife stranded at 31,000 miles.

The thermostat was stuck twice.

Electrical problems with head and brake lights.

Tires and brakes wore very quickly.

General Comments:

I bought this car because it was rated highly reliable and economical.

The gas mileage is only average (average about

25 miles per gallon).

The reliability was a disappointment.

The car looks nice, but its performance is lame.

The car handles poorly, especially on rough roads or curves.

My Volkswagen Jetta was roomier, much more powerful and reliable and loved cornering.

I paid $12,000 dollars in May, 1993 for a car with no overdrive transmission, no rear window defroster, no anti-lock or rear disc brakes, no variable windshield wipers and no passenger-side mirror.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th July, 2001

20th Sep 2006, 12:58

I have a 1993 Toyota Corolla, 162,000 miles on it and runs great. I don't know why you'd get 25mpg, is that city? I average on a trip 42 and in the city if I'm really careful, 37. Maybe you need a tune or something. I'm still on the stock transmission. Only thing I don't like about the car is it looks horrific (Rust, Dings, Scratches). I guess that's kind of a strength cause nobody tailgates me when I'm in it. Sorry you don't like your car, maybe you just got the only bad one I've ever heard of.

27th Oct 2006, 11:26

Unfortunately it sounds like you simply purchased a lemon!!! That does happen from time to time regardless of the make or model. The Corolla has a reputation that speaks for itself. However there are two corollas in my household and they both have well over 170,000 miles! One has 260,345, and the only thing I've done to the car is occasional oil changes...

26th Nov 2006, 22:54

Corolla update:

The best I ever got was 31mpg in that car on a trip at 65 mph. The car handled poorly and had no power for the hills. Since then we had 2 Nissan's, 2 Chevy's, 2 Ford's, 1 VW, 1 Subaru, 1 Dodge Pickup, and 1 GMC. The only cars I would not buy again are the Toyota and Subaru. I think the Japanese cars and trucks were superior until the late 80's. However, now they seem to be overvalued.

3rd Aug 2009, 19:09

Anybody know how much horsepower, torque, and MPG is gained if I Installed a cold air intake in my 93 Corolla. It has the 1.6L. Thank you for any helpful information.

1993 Toyota Corolla DX 1.4 Inline 4cyl. from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 Inline 4cyl. Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles

Summary:

Outstanding in every respect, except acceleration

Faults:

Only the usual things have needed to be done to this car, i.e.; oil changes, tune-ups, tires, etc. But....

Struts needed to be replaced (4 of 'em).

General Comments:

If you ever want a car that gets great gas mileage, crappy acceleration, but will last you, under good care, in excess of 300,000 miles...

THIS IS YOUR CAR!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2000

1993 Toyota Corolla 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired98 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Great

Faults:

Starter at 110,000 miles.

General Comments:

Very good car, have not had any major problems. In fact my brakes lasted for 6 years, I just had them changed at 135,000 miles. The car is very reliable and I love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2000

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 26 reviews