1993 Toyota Corolla Reviews

1993 Toyota Corolla SE Limited 1.5 Fuel Injected from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.5 Fuel Injected Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired210000 kilometres
Most recent distance233000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Extremely reliable and well built

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

It's not the quickest car on the road, but the fuel efficiency and reliability is phenomenal. It still has get up and go when you need it, and is certainly not sluggish.

It rides very smoothly, and parts are extremely easy to find (should you ever need them).

This model has full electrics (electric windows and mirrors), and features a tachometer that some models do not have.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 2010

1993 Toyota Corolla LE 1.8 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.8 Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.7 / 10
Distance when acquired185000 miles
Most recent distance234000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Beretta

Summary:

It's the best car I ever owned.

Faults:

The exhaust manifold was replaced at about 200k.

Wheel bearings were replaced at 225k.

The A/C stopped working at about 210k.

Distributor shaft was replaced at about 200k.

General Comments:

The car is now being driven by my 17 year old. She has been in 2 accidents. The car just won't quit. It still gets about 25mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2009

1993 Toyota Corolla 2.0 diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 2.0 diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Faults:

Em, let me think, now, what has gone wrong, wait now, em, aha, the tyres needed replacing!

And, I think some bulbs blew, and bushings were replaced at 120,000.

The ashtray needed to be emptied...

General Comments:

I had one 13 years ago, and I was a chap and drove like a loon, full speed from cold, day after day after day. Slamming on the brakes, handbrake turns, burn outs, J turns, you name it, it tried it. It was a company car.

The car was quite simply built like a tank.

All those years on and I'm looking for a cheap runaround as a second car. Guess what I'm gonna buy... I'll probably hold off on the old J turns with junior strapped in until he's old enough to request them or do them himself!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th August, 2008

1993 Toyota Corolla GLI 1.6 from Portugal

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 kilometres
Most recent distance130000 kilometres

Summary:

Perfect

Faults:

Nothing as gone wrong with the car...

General Comments:

It´s a Toyota :), very power full engine (it´s the same as the Carina e) 116cv, and the fuel is the BP V-Power. The performance difference is HUGE, I can put this machine a 230km/h with no problem!! The model is the lift back, not very beautiful, it as air con.. Not very roomy : (... But I love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th November, 2007

1993 Toyota Corolla LE 1.8L from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.8L Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 miles
Most recent distance124000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Reliable

Faults:

Starter replaced at ~115K.

General Comments:

Bulletproof. This car was beaten the hell out of (but was maintained) and its still running strong. My fuel economy is OK (prolly b/c of my mis-aligned front end due to aftermarket springs)... get about 24mpg hardcore city miles (sitting in traffic for long times).

Not bad for $1500! (lasted me 5 years!)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 2007

1993 Toyota Corolla from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 miles
Most recent distance230000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Best car ever!

Faults:

Had to replace oil sensor at 215k.

Hit a rock in the road, and had to replace the struts and strut mounts.

General Comments:

Excellent commuter car, I always feel safe while driving it.

Could use a little more power, especially going uphill.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th November, 2006

14th Nov 2006, 22:17

If you go for a Corolla as your next car, try to find either the 1.8 liter engine with the 4 speed auto or go for a manual shift transmission.

1993 Toyota Corolla dx 1.8 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired210000 miles
Most recent distance241000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

Great car

Faults:

The pass side door handle broke.

General Comments:

I got the car for free because the previous owner would not get anything for a trade in because of the high mileage. I originally figured I would use the car in the winter to keep the miles off my 2005 Chevy Silverado 1500 truck. With over 200,000 miles on it I didn't think it would last long. I have been driving the car back and forth to work everyday (450 miles a week) without any problems. I currently have 241,000 miles on it and consider getting rid of my truck and buying a newer Toyota corolla. It get 35MPG and with gas prices of $3.00/gallon its cheap to drive compared to the 17MGP I get in the truck. The only money I have dumped into it was on brake pads, a battery, and a tune up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2006

24th Jul 2006, 10:18

Don't give up your 1993 Corolla.. This is the best year Toyota manufactured the Corolla... I had one up until last year (2005) and sold for $1500 with 175,000 miles.. Keep it, I heard someone saying it could last up to 400K miles.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 26 reviews